We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Rockland,s”
Review of Rocklands Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocklands Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is our second visit to Rockland,s and we just love it here,The lodge,s ,scenery,animal,s everything perfect.Ideally located for visiting Whitby,Goathland,Pickering and Scarborough.Did Steam train,s and Eden Camp also Captain Cooke Experience from Whitby on the Bark Endeavour(replica).Weather wasn,t too bad.Just really lot,s to do.Will be going back in the near future(finger,s crossed)Also have Cottage,s in Wrelton Village next to Buck Inn That look super too?Pet friendly and the on site Owner,s are lovely friendly people and nothing is a problem to them.Booking the lodge,s and customer care are priority. Thankyou Rockland,s

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tourerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Rocklands Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

We booked this at short notice as our original hotel booking had made an error with our booking and could not accommodate us. Their loss was most certainly our gain.

We had read the positive reviews prior to arriving and were not disappointed! It's set in a lovely quiet area which is very child friendly and perfect for dogs.

Our lodge was lovely, spotless clean and equipped with everything you would need for your stay.

We were greeted by the Gentleman owner who was very welcoming and informed us that we could buy fresh eggs and homemade preserves among other things. He also pointed out the DVDs that we could rent for a very reasonable £0.50 a time.
We were so impressed with Rocklands lodges that I'm already trying to find a reason or weekend free to return with our dog and other family members.
We stayed in number 10 and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tbl163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We found Rocklands Lodges by chance on the internet as we were looking for a short break with the children in a child friendly location; they had some special offers during midweek which we found suited our budget perfectly so we decided to book a family size 2 bedroom lodge.
On arrival we were greeted by the owners who were very friendly and accommodating, we were given information on restaurants and walks in the nearby area.
We found the Lodge beautiful clean and comfortable with everything we could have needed and the views of the open fields and countryside beyond were stunning, we found it was private and peaceful, the children loved the kids play area with its many toys and play equipment, we felt little need to travel very far during our stay here, there is a mobile fish and chip van that comes twice a week on the site, and I have to say, they were extremely good! As is the local pub.
On the whole we were more than happy with our stay at this wonderful place and will most certainly be returning soon

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morphspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

recently returned from a long weekend in a studio lodge. We all had a brilliant break at Rocklands ,any concerns regarding the play area are ridiculous it is a fantastic place for children to play safely. The lodge was clean modern and exactly what we wanted, the surrounding area is beutiful. Te lodges provide a perfect location for exploring the local attractions!! We will definately be going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2bodzandadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I booked last minute for a weekend getaway and was looking forward to a relaxing time away from it all. The lodges were clean and comfortable and on the outskirts of a small village. The lodges were a little "on top" of one another but generally ok. The heating had been turned on so the lodge was nice and cosy for our late arrival. The people who run the lodges were very accomodating with our arrival time.

However, the fridge was very noisy in our studio apartment and i had to turn it off to be able to sleep, ok at this time of year but not so good in a hot summer. The pillows were like rock, so much so that we had to go and buy our own the next day and the TV had very poor reception and only the 5 standrad channels.

I would potentially stay here again but only if i could get a cheap deal on late rooms. We paid £50 a night which was reasonable for the accommodation. I would have been very disappointed if i had had to pay rack rate of £90 per night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tash2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pickeringholiday, Manager at Rocklands Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Hello,

We are sorry that your stay here was not wonderful. We do our very best to ensure all of our holiday makers have a great experience. I just wanted to address a couple of items as they could have been fixed immediately for you.

The Pillows- there was no need to buy your own pillows, we have huge store room full of pillows in all different types - so I am sure we could have given you extra or changed yours for softer. Different guests have different preferences.

The TV - All of our lodges have a free view box. By the sounds of your review you hadn't turned this on. Again if you had told us you were experiencing bad reception it would have been seconds for us to resolve. The reception is far better when free view is turned on.

The fridge - on inspection the thermostat had been knocked to a high position and this seemed to be making the fridge vibrate. We have adjusted it and there is no noise now.

We are on hand to help with any query a customer has, we pride ourselves on having good customer relations so if you do come and stay with us again, which I hope you will, just remember we are here to ensure you have the very best and relaxing stay and whatever the query or complaint we will do our best to resovle it as quickly as possible.

Warm regards
Esmond Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

i was lucky enough to come across Rockland Lodges more than 2 years ago and have returned many, many times with my husband but also with my disabled elderley parents and absolutely love the place!
I regurlarly visit and stay alone as its the best place to unwind the stresses of life!

My most recent visit was with my daughter and twin grandaughters who are now also besotted!

I have stayed in many of the lodges and have always found them spotlessly clean and of the highest standard.

By far the best assett of the lodges is the owners themselves. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them and they will endevour to make every aspect of your stay with them as magical as possible.

I cannot praise Rockland Lodges highly enough.....simply Heaven on Earth

Heather K

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We drove into Rocklands and were greeted with the place lit up with fairy lights and christmas decorations which made the place seem somewhat magical! We collected our lodge key, bought some fresh eggs and settled in for the night. The lodge was lovely - clean, warm and had everything we needed - even a little walking guide. During the day, Rocklands lodges did not disappoint - it would have been lovely to have gone in the summer when we could have had BBQs! No complaints at all and we would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky_c_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
2.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
2.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
679 reviews
16.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 46 in Pickering
60 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Little Hide - Grown Up Glamping
3.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocklands Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocklands Lodges

Address: Rocklands Cawthorne Lane | Wrelton, Pickering YO18 8HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Price Range: $123 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocklands Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocklands Lodges is a unique complex of just 16 self catering lodges set within a beautiful woodland glen. Perfect for a Log Cabin holiday in North Yorkshire. Nestled between two farms & set within 3 acres of gardens and pine trees makes Rocklands Lodges an idyllic location to unwind from a busy life We have a variety of different types of lodge ranging from a studio lodge which ideal for a couple, to a detached supreme lodge for larger groups & families and with a small selection now with hot-tubs, our lodges are perfect for walkers, cyclists, romantic couples and families alike. Weekend and Midweek breaks available. 15 Lodges are Pet friendly with a small supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rocklands Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocklands Hotel Pickering
Rocklands Lodges Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing