We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic get-away”
Review of The Hawthornes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hawthornes
Ranked #29 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fantastic get-away”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Have just returned from a weekend staying in one of the beautiful log cabins with my husband. What a treat! The lodges are beautiful... built and fitted out to a very high standard. The lodge was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The furniture is extremely comfortable and the lodge is made even more cosy and welcoming with a log burner. Paula and John are lovely and welcoming also. The lodges are in a great location within walking distance of Pickering and set opposite the owner's fields which hold chickens, pigs and horses. We had a fantastic time and will defiantly be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from 3 night stay at The Hawthornes. Paula, John, Peter and Megan are a lovely family and made us feel at home straightaway. B & B was perfect, food was fantastic (full English breakfast every day, diet starts today!!) All the usual tourist attractions a short drive away.
Had a great break and would recommend The Hawthornes to anyone thinking of staying in that area. Ann and Graham (Runcorn)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week long stay at the 'Hawthornes'.Paula was an excellent hostess, whistling cheerfully while she made breakfast (free range eggs from Paula's hens, sausages and bacon from her pigs, bread and jam homemade). This B&B has everything we look for - countryside, animals, wonderful accommodation, good breakfasts, very high standard of rooms for both cleanliness and facilities, and friendliness. A guest lounge for us to use (cards and wine in the evenings!) was lovely - Paula even provided wine glasses for us. She brought us tea and flapjacks (home-made of course!) which we consumed sitting in her lovely garden. Very reasonably priced, close to Pickering, this delightful holiday venue should be booked quickly, before someone else beats you to it! Ann & Tony

Room Tip: There are 3 bedrooms - the super king size was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We (Tom and Vonnie) had a perfect week of walking in and around the Pickering area made all the more special by Paula at the Hawthornes.Breakfasts were first class, proper sausages , free range eggs and bacon that was from her own pigs.Bedroom was plenty large enough with a nice shower room. Paula was a lovely host and nothing was to much trouble for her, even if she was very busy . Thanks Paula may see you again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner heard about these lovely lodges through meeting the owners through work. We booked and invited 3 couples. It was lovely experience, the lodges were to a very high standard. They were toasty on an evening and the log burners made it feel very cosy. Gorgeous setting close to Pickering center and also tourist attractions such as Whitby.

Very friendly and certainly be recommending these lodges to our close friends and family.

Thanks again xxx

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

By far the best B&B ever. Paula the landlady goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. he goes that extra mile to ensure your stay is a good one. While there my 84 year old mother became ill and Paula even drove us to the hospital! The choose for breakfast was good and the food well cooked and presented.

The little extras like a fridge in your room containing bottled water and the jug of milk just made the place special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Quite simply, the best b&b we’ve ever stayed in. Paula, the owner, epitomises a Yorkshire welcome – nothing was too much trouble, including waiting up for us on our late arrival.

Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed and good shower. We slept really well. Breakfast was superb – plentiful and with tasty homemade produce.

We got to see the puppies and the pigs and enjoyed our little tour of the farm. We had a peek inside one the eco lodges (log cabins) which were stunning and finished to a very very high spec.

All in all, we wouldn’t hesitate to return nor to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemtee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
1.5 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 46 in Pickering
55 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 28 in Pickering
273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laurel Bank Bed and Breakfast
Laurel Bank Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 46 in Pickering
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawthornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawthornes

Property: The Hawthornes
Address: The Hawthorns High Back side | Middleton, Pickering YO18 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hawthornes 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Hawthornes Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing