We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashfield House Luxury B&B
Ranked #24 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed with 2 friends at Ashfield House. The first impression was that we had landed in heaven when compared to some B&Bs that we recently stayed in.
Everything from the bedrooms, bathroom, guest lounges ( both of them) and breakfast were excellent.
The rooms are of a generous size, were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished.
The reception tea /coffee and lemon cake were welcome after a day walking on the Yorkshire Moors.
We can highly recommend Ashfield House and anyone booking this place will not be disappointed. It is ideally situated for walking into Pickering and sightseeing the Yorkshire Moors.
We will certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you Eileen for your kind words, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities we offer. We look forward to seeing you all in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of September and were made to feel totally at home by Debbie and the family. Our room was fantastic - spotlessly clean, huge fluffy white towels, the best shower we have had away from home and every facility you could think of. It is obvious that a huge amount of time and thought has gone into making guests as comfortable as possible. Breakfasts were delicious with eggs from Debbie's own chickens and a vast array of cereals, fresh fruit salad etc.

The location in Pickering is ideal, with plenty of eating places within easy walking distance and some lovely gastro pubs within a short drive. It is ideally placed for a trip on the North Yorks Moors Railway.

I would highly recommend this B and B - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FouroaksHoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to have good feed back. Hope to see both of you again the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Debbie and Tommy are great, helpful, friendly hosts without intruding in any way. Their home is beautiful with the best modern facilities, really light and spacious. Ruffa Lane is a pleasant 10 minute stroll to the centre of Pickering (Debbie will give you short-cut directions) but just far enough from the centre to be perfectly peaceful.

Breakfasts were delicious: wide choice, attractively presented and sensible portions, not trucker-sized but more than enough to keep you going all morning.

We liked the eco-friendly aspects, eg wildflower garden, ground-source heat pump. Guests have a lounge and conservatory as well as the well equipped bedrooms. A flask of fresh milk and hand-made chocolates are perfect additions to the generous in-room tea tray.

My only mild quibble is the layers of curtains and blinds - very attractive but I'd rather have one layer less and more natural light and countryside views. This wouldn't stop me staying here again; it's a great place and Pickering a good destination for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thanks Jan for your kind words. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your time here. The wildflower meadow is now cut right back and the wild pheasants have started to arrive, so nice to watch while having breakfast in the conservatory. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This B&B is well worth a visit. I can honestly say that it is the best B&B we have ever stayed in! Debbie greeted us with a really welcome cup of tea and lovely piece of lemon drizzle cake that had just come out of the oven, which was just what we needed after our journey. Beautiful house with excellent bedroom and ensuite. A variety of teas, coffees, crisps and home made chocolates in our room. Breakfast was in a lovely conservatory and there was lots of choice – lots of cereals, fruit juices fresh fruit, greek yogurt, home made fruit compote and of course the excellent cooked breakfast with fresh eggs from Debbie’s “spoilt” free range hens; followed by toast and many preserves. Thank you Debbie and Tommy for a lovely weekend with you. If we could give you more than 5 stars we definitely would. We will certainly come and stay with you again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monksy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, It was lovely to meet you, we are glad you enjoyed the facilities we offer, the Yorkshire crisps and local chocolates are always a big hit with our guests, We are always thinking of new ways to make our guests more comfortable and it is nice to get great feed back that shows we are on the right track. We look forward to welcoming you at Ashfield House again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I thought we had found the best at our last stay which was in Wales - but this was even better.
Warm welcome by friendly hostess for whom nothing was too much trouble. Lovely modern house near town centre (10 minute amble) with virtually all requirements met by quality provision in all respects (home laid eggs, local produce, fresh fruit etc.etc.) Just a suggestion - perhaps a mini-'fridge in the guest lounge? (Some 'grey travellers' may like a glass of chilled wine in the evening) - this is in no way a complaint just a suggestion to improve on what is a near perfect experience in North Yorkshire.
Ashfield House will be the only option for us when we return to Pickering.

Room Tip: Both of the two rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words we are pleased you all enjoyed your time with us and made good use of the lounge and conservatory during your stay. Many of our guests like to enjoy a glass of wine during their stay and we are more than happy to provide glasses and put any wine in our fridge to chill, we will make sure this is on clear display in our guest information book. We look forward to seeing all of you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in! The attention to detail in all aspects of the stay was exceptional, from welcome cake to homemade chocs, making for a truly luxurious break. It is unlikely that the range of choice at breakfast could have been bettered (where else offers 'specials' such as scrambled egg with smoked salmon on a toasted muffin!). The room was beautifully furnished, the large bed comfy, and the ensuite modern and spacious. Add to this the guest lounge and large conservatory and the accommodation is impressive. Pickering town centre is a short walk away and offers good shopping and eating places. Debbie was the perfect host and her house and facilities justifiably deserve the very top rating. Pam and Alan

Room Tip: Any room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you Pam and Alan for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us. The chocolates we provide in your room are handmade on the premises at Birdgate Chocolatiers in Pickering, they are always popular with our guests. The freshly laid eggs by our own chickens are the secret to the lovely scrambled eggs we serve! Hope to see both of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We really enjoyed a nice two day stay here . Nice room , great food tea / coffee and snacks available . Debbie was very friendly , very helpful - gave us some good tips for food . Nice place to stay , and we really loved the breakfast room in the conservatory - with a great view of the brilliant garden - almost an eco-system of it's own .

Room Tip: Our room , the " coastal room " was excellent , with a very spacious bathroom - very cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWoodward, Owner at Ashfield House Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you Darren and Louise for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities we provide and enjoyed watching the wildlife in the wildflower meadow. We have been inundated with lots of different varieties of bees and butterflies this year, which is always fascinating to watch from the conservatory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.7 mi away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Lowther House
Lowther House
#8 of 46 in Pickering
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield House Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield House Luxury B&B

Address: 36A Ruffa Lane, Pickering YO18 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: $47 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern detached stone built B&B. 8 minute walk into Pickering, private off street parking, two spacious double bedrooms, kingsize beds, large luxury en-suite shower rooms. Local handmade chocolates. Generous hospitality trays refilled daily including mineral water, fresh coffee and Yorkshire crisps. We have two stunning guest lounges one with a log burning stove, perfect to come back to after a day exploring the coast or countryside in the colder months and the other, tranquil conservatory to enjoy in the warmer days and evenings. Breakfast is served in the conservatory overlooking our wildflower meadow, this is a perfect place for seeing the many varieties of birds that flock to our garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashfield House Luxury B&B Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing