We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyment from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Ranked #4 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

This was our tenth stay at Rawcliffe House Farm, and Jan & Duncans' cottages and B&B have developed over the years into something rather special. There is an attention to detail not normally seen in businesses of this type. With every visit we have seen changes for the better, and each stay becomes more comfortable. They have set themelves a very high standard of, well, everything really! What's more is that they enjoy having guests around, and new visitors soon feel very much at home.
If you stay on a B&B basis, then breakfasts in Jan & Duncans' house are something special, using local produce from the immediate area. We have stayed in places where the quantity of food is meagre, and we have not had value for money. After a 'Duncan Special' nothing much is required before your evening meal! Definitely worth every penny!
The self catering cottages are finished to a high specification, and are very comfortable. Everything you may need for the duration of your stay is provided, and each cottage is quite private.
From a location point of view, Stape is a good place to be based, as all of North Yorkshire is easily accessible from this quite central point.
I could go on and on about the walks directly from the cottages, the animals within the farm, Jan & Duncans friendliness, the electric bikes for hire (a good idea!), but I'd only be repeating what others have already written! Go and see it for yourself, that's my advice!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBandBEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 244 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2009

This was our third stay at Rawcliffe House and most certainly will not be our last. Although this was our first stay in the disabled cottage of cloth fair. It is an excellent cottage ,well equipped. and well thought out for any person with a disability. The outlook over the fields was a joy. Some nice days allowed us to sit on the patio and listen to the lovely sound of the countryside. This place is well worth a visit and nothing is too much trouble for Jan and Duncan.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mother16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Our first time, Jan and Duncan are very welcoming and hospitable. The room was spotless and the bed comfortable, Duncan's breakfasts are great with all local or home grown foodstuffs.

Rawcliffe House Farm is ideally located for walkers, and you can let the (steam) train take the strain for legs of longer walks.

Definitely recommended, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilmslowastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

The truth is Rawcliffe House Farm is the perfect place for an anytime break.
This was our third visit in the last nine months - and hopefully not our last, as usual the hosts (Jan & Duncan) were brillliant - even down to the bike repairs on our sons bike.
The cottage (Pye Corner) was perfect in every way.
The courtyard in front of the cottages is a lovely place to sit of an evening to watch the sun go down over the fields - total peace and tranquillity.
The pub in the village was visited regularly for tea and was good value with a lovely welcoming atmosphere.
Dalby Forest was another well visited place, with kids especially making for Dixons Hollow (Dirt Jump Track) which in their opinion is brilliant.
Rawcliffe House Farm is a true *find* and will always be top of our list!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smeds61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We had a lovely stay in a most hospitable way." Cloth Fair"cottage is a lovely place,
far away from the human race. Autumn colours all around, eyes to see,without a sound.
Fluttering leaves in the Autumn breeze,the sound of silence among the trees.
The rickety old chair at "Surprise View" not to be missed but its up to you!
Enjoyed the scenery and the chat looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGBWoodhallSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterPeacocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
6.1 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
435 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
293 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
4.6 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
7 mi away
Beansheaf
Beansheaf
#25 of 46 in Pickering
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms

Address: Stape, Pickering YO18 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: $98 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country-style self-catering cottages and Studio Rooms have been tastefully converted from the farm barns, retaining many original features of rustic beams and stonework. The Four sunny cottages and two studio rooms nestling amongst 42 acres of beautiful open countryside are ideal for a relaxing break with only the sounds of the countryside to disturb your peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages And Studio Rooms Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing