We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Ranked #4 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and beautiful location”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed bed and breakfast at Rawcliffe House Farm several times and never been disappointed. This time we visited with family, 7 of us in Giltspur cottage and 2 of us bed and breakfast in Walcott. As expected the standard of both was excellent and Giltspur was described by one of our party as " the cleanest holiday cottage I have ever stayed in". Hosts Jan and Duncan always make you welcome - we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
149
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed for 3nights bed and breakfast. Room and service excellent and made to feel welcome by our hosts Jan and Duncan. Breakfast was taken in the farmhouse dinning room......cereal and fruits followed by a full english,tea and toast just a meal to start the day off to visit the beautiful countryside. Will visit again but next time for longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gowland B&B....kingsized bed ensuite.....luxury accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise189149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We visited as two families with five small children between us, renting out Pye and Giltspur. The cottages are fitted out to a very high standard with all the necessary amenities. The area is perfect for both those with and without children offering walks, historic sites, adventure activities and play areas. For those with children I recommend:

- Dalby Forest
- Monk's Farm
- Chocolate Factory in Hutton-le-hole

Thanks to both Duncan and Jan for being great host's.

Room Tip: Pye Corner is easier to keep clean for those with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockholmdanderyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We booked to go to Rawcliffe House Farm last minute and so didn't look into that much before hand. The location is simply amazing as the Farm is surround on all sides by fields and there is a great view out to the surrounding woodland that has developed on a nearby hillside. This makes the Farm feel hidden away and there is even a short walk that has been marked out through the fields upto a small viewing platform to chck out the views on the area. A number of walking routes are available and i managed to do two great runs around the trails, old roads and fields of the area as there are so may to choose from. The room was great too and is part of the old farm barn out buildings that have been carefully reconstructed and have a solid rustic feel yet contain modern touches such as LCD tv and new bathroom. The outside of the room door was a courtyard overlooking the fields and forrestry and so is a great place to relax in the evening too with other gardens available also. Breakfast was top notch and you can also see a full list of where each product is sourced from locally. We had a meal at the White Swan nearby and that was also excellent and the village of Newton on Rawcliffe is a nice touch.. with its duck pond, villiage hall and grass verges...lovely. All in all was a very good trip and we will be looking to come back with friends later in the year!!! Thanks Jan and Duncan

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our weekend at Rawcliffe Farm House B&B and I really have nothing but praised for them! The room was cosy and clean - the bed was really comfy and the towels where fluffy. The B&B rooms are also in a separate building to the main house and each room has its own entrance which we liked. There was also fresh milk provided with the tea & coffee making facilities which makes such a difference when you're having a brew! Breakfast was served in the main house and had a really nice family feel. All the food was locally sourced including Duncan's Mum's homemade jams! Breakfast was delicious and made to order. Our hosts - Jan and Duncan - where really welcoming and friendly. Their local knowledge was amazing and they gave us plenty of ideas and suggestions to keep us busy over the weekend. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Well another trip to our "second home". Last time we stayed we were knee deep in snow (November 2010) & this time we had glorious sunshine. We usually do B & B with Jan & Duncan but decided to try a cottage this time - again, as with the B & B rooms it was great. We stayed in Hindburn, it was beautiful & had everything we needed & more. It was lovely to sit on the patio overlooking the fields & just watch the world go by. The only thing we did miss though were the great breakfasts, somehow cornflakes don't have the same appeal as a Jan & Duncan breakfast!! Never fear Jan & Duncan we'll be back because we just can't keep away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolk928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Have just returned from our 11th holiday in six years at Rawcliffe, With the welcome of Jan & Duncan how could we possibly go anywhere else in Yorkshire. We will return. Jenny & Brian. Northampton

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armstrongfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
5.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
713 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
77 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
215 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms

Property: Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms
Address: Stape, Pickering YO18 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country-style self-catering cottages and Studio Rooms have been tastefully converted from the farm barns, retaining many original features of rustic beams and stonework. The Four sunny cottages and two studio rooms nestling amongst 42 acres of beautiful open countryside are ideal for a relaxing break with only the sounds of the countryside to disturb your peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages and Studio Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawcliffe House Farm Holiday Cottages And Studio Rooms Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing