We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14,000 miles from here, overland”
Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A beautiful house and loving family to welcome you after travelling so far, with a garden full of trees in the middle of Eden. Ian and Linda were full of helpful information and showed me the way to a great walk into the moors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paradon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 487 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for one night in October and were very impressed with the location, room and hospitality we received from our hosts.
Our booking was made just a day or two before arrival so it was explained that we would have the smallest bedroom; that being said the room was clean, comfortable and more than adequate for a short stay.
Breakfast was beautiful, well cooked and wholesome.
Ian, our host, is a fountain of knowledge about the whole area. We would certainly return.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank fatcatz435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed several times over the last 9 years, I believe this is the best B & B in the area the accommodation is more boutique hotel standard and has always been consistent which is why I keep going back! Also stayed in the Coach House which is snug, has an open fire and has views over the fields. A friendly country pub is just 5 minutes walk away down a single track country lane, very pleasant walk after a decent meal. Rosedale is central to the N.Y. Moors so ideal location. Breakfast also includes a healthy option which is cooked to order by the proprietors

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Everything about this one night stay was superb. We were doing the Coast to Coast and were collected from the Lion Inn and returned there the next morning. The four of us were in the Coach House which was excellent. We breakfasted in the main house and this was delicious. The house looks superb I would love to see the bedrooms. A short walk down the road is an excellent pub with delicious food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here last year for our wedding anniversary and it was beautiful great local pub too just up the road. The room was very nicely decorated very homely and traditional would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairesodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the B&B for a couple of nights in September while on a driving holiday in Britain. Parking was free and off street which was great. Finding the venue proved quite a challenge as the address we had was not sufficient for the GPS so make sure you get clear directions before you arrive!

It was worth it though! The house is beautiful historic one set in a lovely green area. Our room was on the first floor and had a view towards the moors. The room was large enough and had extra seating. The bathroom was a little small (shower only) but typical of the older properties that have had ensuites retrofitted. The bed was large and comfortable.

Our host Ian was very welcoming and offered us lots of information of all that was to see and do based on our interests. He went out of his way to make us comfortable and would take the time to sit and chat if that was what we wanted. It was my husband's birthday while there so our hosts recommended and booked the hotel (a pleasant walk down the road) for the occasion. We ate there each night which was quite good - especially as we didn't have to drive (after being in the car all day).

The B&B was in a good location to see the Yorkshire moors. Upon Ian's recommendation we filled each of our days well and were very pleased with what he had suggested. We drove to Whitby,visited the town of "Heartbeat" (Goathland aka Adensfield), visited an interesting historic steam railway (with workshop) at Grosmont and drove through much of the moors area.

Ian was also able to recommend (and provide maps) for those who were wanting to walk some of the many walking trails in the area.

Breakfast was included in our tariff and this was plentiful and pleasant - it kept us going all day!

We would have no hesitation recommending this residence to anyone wanting to stay in the Yorkshire moors' area both for its location, the standard of the accommodation and the welcome from its hosts.

Room Tip: A number of rooms on first floor - if you wish for a view of the hills request same - otherwise thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Splendid house, warm welcome, delicious breakfast in the middle of North York moors.
I hope to come back some day.
Print itinerary as it might be difficult to find at night ...

<trip advisor won't accept my review if I write less than 200 characters but I pretty much said what I wanted>

Room Tip: I don't really have a rating for kids activities : I was there one night with teenagers, the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
691 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,129 reviews
9.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
435 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: $47 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing