We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bed and. Breakfast with stunning scenery”
Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bed and. Breakfast with stunning scenery”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here last year for our wedding anniversary and it was beautiful great local pub too just up the road. The room was very nicely decorated very homely and traditional would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairesodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
275
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the B&B for a couple of nights in September while on a driving holiday in Britain. Parking was free and off street which was great. Finding the venue proved quite a challenge as the address we had was not sufficient for the GPS so make sure you get clear directions before you arrive!

It was worth it though! The house is beautiful historic one set in a lovely green area. Our room was on the first floor and had a view towards the moors. The room was large enough and had extra seating. The bathroom was a little small (shower only) but typical of the older properties that have had ensuites retrofitted. The bed was large and comfortable.

Our host Ian was very welcoming and offered us lots of information of all that was to see and do based on our interests. He went out of his way to make us comfortable and would take the time to sit and chat if that was what we wanted. It was my husband's birthday while there so our hosts recommended and booked the hotel (a pleasant walk down the road) for the occasion. We ate there each night which was quite good - especially as we didn't have to drive (after being in the car all day).

The B&B was in a good location to see the Yorkshire moors. Upon Ian's recommendation we filled each of our days well and were very pleased with what he had suggested. We drove to Whitby,visited the town of "Heartbeat" (Goathland aka Adensfield), visited an interesting historic steam railway (with workshop) at Grosmont and drove through much of the moors area.

Ian was also able to recommend (and provide maps) for those who were wanting to walk some of the many walking trails in the area.

Breakfast was included in our tariff and this was plentiful and pleasant - it kept us going all day!

We would have no hesitation recommending this residence to anyone wanting to stay in the Yorkshire moors' area both for its location, the standard of the accommodation and the welcome from its hosts.

Room Tip: A number of rooms on first floor - if you wish for a view of the hills request same - otherwise thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wezembeek-Oppem, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Splendid house, warm welcome, delicious breakfast in the middle of North York moors.
I hope to come back some day.
Print itinerary as it might be difficult to find at night ...

<trip advisor won't accept my review if I write less than 200 characters but I pretty much said what I wanted>

Room Tip: I don't really have a rating for kids activities : I was there one night with teenagers, the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Linda and Ian are consummate B&B hosts. Their welcome was warm, the accommodations were elegant and comfortable and the breakfast among the best we had while in England. Each day, Ian helped us plan our adventures, providing great advice and excellent directions. A beautiful place to stay in the heart of the North York Moors National Park. We returned, each evening, to find a coal fire burning in the grate. With nightcaps in-hand we leafed through the many books, maps and leaflets to plan our next day's adventures.

Room Tip: All rooms have glorious views of the gardens and countryside. We stayed in room #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a b&b on the moors, this is the place to be. Central with lovely rides over the moors to return to the shelter of the valley. An immediately welcoming atmosphere and the best attention from the hosts. Beautiful house and stunning views. Breakfast was generous and excellent.

Another bonus was the award winning pub down the road. Close enough to walk to for excellent food.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights and wished we had booked for longer. Linda and Ian are a lovely couple who make you feel so welcome as soon as they meet you. You are welcomed into their home and immediately you feel relaxed. We were served tea and biscuits on arrival in the library, which in itself is wonderful, an array of books, chess, etc, I'm sorry that I didn't spend more time in there. In the dining room there is a piano that guests can tinker on if they wish. We were in Room 1 which is a beautiful room, with everything you need, hairdryer, lovely soft towels, shower gels, etc. Hospitality tray with a tin of biscuits! Gazing out of the window before breakfast there were pheasants strolling about the garden, it was just so peaceful. Breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, fruit juice and full English. I just fell in love with this gorgeous house and surroundings. I can't wait to go back next year. But what really made this such a wonderful stay was the hospitality of Linda and Ian, really beautiful and genuine people.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for a couple of days recently after using Trip Advisor to work it's usual magic.

We were greeted warmly, shown to our room and invited to take tea in the library on our arrival once we had settled in. A coal fire was alight on our arrival downstairs and the whole ambience at Sevenford House was fantastic. Our host provided advice on a range of local dining options and kindly offered to ring ahead to reserve a table at the restaurant we chose.

Our room was fantastically appointed, spotlessly clean and warm. Quality simply oozes out of this establishment. An added bonus was that free guest Wi-Fi was available both downstairs and in the bedroom.

In the mornings, breakfast was an absolute pleasure with a huge generous choice of fresh fruit, cereals and fruit juices and a seemingly unlimited supply of toast of all varieties. In addition we also had a" Full English " cooked breakfast which was quite superb and very generous in its proportions.

If you are looking for a top end, high quality traditional Yorkshire bed and breakfast then this is the place for you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dunali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
8.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
668 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,017 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
9.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Property: Sevenford House
Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing