We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star retreat.”
Review of Sevenford House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sevenford House
Ranked #1 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night as a pre Spring break in March 2013. We received a warm welcome from Linda and Ian and enjoyed tea and an informative chat with the hosts in the library in front of the log fire. Our room was spacious and very relaxing.Breakfast was plentiful and well presented. The accommodation is central to the North Yorkshire Moors and the many activities that it offers. We thoroughly recommend Sevenford House and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 528793Chadderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 487 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We travel a lot, and stayed in many B & Bs in the UK, but I have to say that Sevenford House is the best place we stayed. Many thanks to very friendly hosts for helping to make our visit so enjoyable. We`ll be back...we hope)))
Anthony Cain & Svitlana Cain(Kharchenko)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zvetla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Sevenford for one night in February whilst visiting friends in the area. Everything was first class, from the courteous and helpful reply to my initial e-mail enquiry, through to saying goodbye when we left. We arrived very slightly later than anticipated, but Linda greeted us warmly then provided tea in the sitting room, beside a real fire, this in spite of her needing to go out.
Our bedroom, No.2, was spacious, with a very comfortable bed and pillows, and afforded grand views over the garden and Rosedale beyond. The en-suite shower/WC room was a touch small, but quite acceptable, and amply provided with the things one needs.
Linda had offered to book a table at the White Horse Inn in the village for dinner on the Saturday evening, a very thoughtful gesture as we would probaly have been declined had we just turned up as the resteraunt was pretty full.
Breakfast was good too and Linda and Ian proved to be splendid hosts throughout. The house and gardens are interesting and the whole experience was restful, completely stress free,and in stunningly beautiful and peaceful surroundings. If only we had had more time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barritine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at Sevenford in late November when the moors were frosted and everything was rather deserted except of course for the sheep. Unfortunately the proprietors were on holiday and we were greeted with a note and a cold house. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in their big, empty house - a spacious and comfortable spot deep in the Yorkshire moors. The B&B, housed in a large farm house is truly a step back in time. With grand manor sized rooms, high ceilings and an eclectic collection of furniture well in keeping with this period property one can truly sense an other worldliness that is hard to describe.

Breakfast is served in one of the main rooms with a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and loads of bunnies playing in the garden. A spacious and delightful sitting room is also generously provided to guests complete with fire, books and lots of comfortable seating – perfect when the weather cut our off season explorations short.

If you have an imagination and like magical places then Sevenford is for you - at once remote and mystical whilst at the same time full of the inviting charm that makes Yorkshire so special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenford H, Owner at Sevenford House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Yorkshire and must apologise for nobody being here to welcome you when you arrived on that chilly November day , we do hope you will return when the sun is shining and we can give you a proper warm Sevenford welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have just returned from spending Christmas at the Coach House at Sevenford, and have probably had our “Best Christmas Ever” at this wonderful location. Greeted on arrival with chocolates, a bottle of bubbly, a roaring log fire and a wonderful Christmas tree the scene was set for a superb week. As hosts you simply can not fault Ian and Linda who greet you more like family than guests, and the location is perfect for all your outdoor activities, or for simply relaxing in the well equipped and beautifully styled Coach House. We had a fantastic time as did the 18 guests we hosted in our 7 day stay, many of whom I know are planning to return themselves. If you have never visited Rosedale then you should plan to do so in 2013, and trust me – this is the place to stay - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenford H, Manager at Sevenford House, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

We are always pleased when visitors return to Sevenford and we are so happy that you enjoyed your Christmas with us. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were pleased that we had located Sevenford House on our sat nav before leaving home, because we arrived one dark winter's evening when the weather was terrible, with torrential rain coming down horizontally. Not the sort of night to get lost on unfamiliar narrow lanes. But there was a real welcome awaiting, and a good coal fire in the lounge.
Our room was comfortable and warm despite the low temperatures outside. The bed was good and our breakfasts were excellent. Lovely views from the windows. The house was spotlessly clean.
We stayed 3 nights, and had dinners in 3 different pubs, which were all excellent and friendly (a refreshing change from some parts of the UK where the locals don't mix).
We will book Sevenford again because it was such a pleasant stay, and is located in such a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamptonYZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for the weekend at Sevenford House and had a lovely time. The pub at the end of the track had a good menu and food to match. We did a circular walk on the Saturday from Rosedale with great views. The B&B was everything we wanted for our weekend away with a lovely room and great hospitality along with a view across the valley and the rabbits in the garden. We will definitely return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
8.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#2 of 3 in Pickering
699 reviews
8.9 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
8.5 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
436 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bramwood Guest House
Bramwood Guest House
#3 of 46 in Pickering
331 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pear Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sevenford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevenford House

Address: Rosedale Abbey, Pickering YO18 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: $49 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sevenford House sits in large gardens on the slopes of Rosedale Abbey in the North York Moors national park, about 10 miles from Pickering, and enjoys beautiful views of the village below.Linda Sugars has been welcoming visitors to the North Yorkshire Moors for 25 years and with her partner Ian they offer a warm family welcome. Rosedale Abbey lies at the centre of the Moors National Park, making Sevenford House a great base to explore the region’s many famous attractions and historic sites.Bed and breakfast accommodation includes three beautifully decorated and large guest rooms, a guest lounge with library and open coal fire, a dining room with grand piano that visitors are welcome to use and an information point with tips on things to see and do in the region. The nearly four acre landscaped gardens are open to visitors and include a private summer house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sevenford House Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing