We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at this hotel was an enjoyable experience”
Review of Crossways Hotel

Crossways Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crossways Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Pickering B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel and I thought it was a lovely place. I find some of the previous comments very different to what we experienced. The rooms were typically old fashioned english but I love the little touches left around the room, such as sweets, tissues, soap etc. The room was very clean. I can honestly say the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and the host was constantly offering more toast or drinks. The road noise was quite high during the day but overnight it was quiet, but you would expect noise if it was next to the middle of a bustling town. I would go back if we stayed in the area again and would happily recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Julie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Crossways Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel used to be owned by a relative of mine many years ago and so we booked it out of curiosity for a bit family occasion in the town. It was basic at very best. That I could have lived with but the surliness of the staff was what has put me off for ever. Everything appeared to be a favour or a chore. Asking for some water at breakfast was met by a jug being slammed on the table. Asking for another piece of toast (over the one allotted piece each) was severely frowned upon. In fact, the only good thing I have to say is that the wife of the couple running it did dish up a very good meal for the Sunday lunch. That's it. The rooms are very noisy as they all overlook the main road and at 2am on each night of the three we we there, the drunks gathered outside. You have to chase the water stream from the hand held shower as the water pressure in the bathrooms is pathetic. The family occasion was held at the hotel (10 people) and EVERYONE commented on how rude/surly/unfriendly the hosts were. Not for me, mine or any of the extended family again. Also, no consideration whatsoever for any mobility issues. We were on the top floor, no lift.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel or B&B. there are MANY in Pickering.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DimskiDimsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent night's sleep. Perfectly professional hosts. These people know what they are doing. Beautiful Victorian building. Excellent welcome - they immediately anticipated that we were not inclined towards the chatty. So they showed us to our room and left us alone. We came down later asking for recommendations for dinner, and they immediately provided us with several alternatives, and they were right. As the weather was unusually good we sat in the beautiful enclosed garden and enjoyed the surroundings. However, the best thing, and it is always the best thing (because it is the last thing, and you remember it) was the breakfast. Whatever you like is there. All of that muesli and fresh fruit stuff that some people seem to like was available, but actual proper full cooked English. Go no further. I do not know if it is a Yorkshire thing or a Crossways thing but the next meal you will have will be dinner. And it will be a disappointment, by comparison. I do, I no way, suggest that you come here, because you may get in my way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Braddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very pleasant 1 night stay. Rooms old fashioned yes, but very comfortable bed, crisp sheets, very warm and surprising little touches like sweets, tissues, sewing kit and bath robes provided in the room. Bathroom dated, but spacious and clean, over the bath shower perfectly adequate and plenty of good quality towels and toiletries. An iron and ironing board was available on the landing and also up to date magazines. We much preferred it to the bland uniform rooms of travel lodges etc. Breakfast very good. Excellent safe parking in a walled area to the rear of the hotel. Owners welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is lovely hotel in the centre of Pickering so really handy for town and amenities.

We had room 11 on the topmost floor,a family room,for myself,my husband and our almost 3 year old daughter. I was initially impressed with the childrens single bed in its own little area with childrens themed pictures on the wall,and it was even made up with childrens bedding (awwww!) and there were lovely little touches like a childs flannel in the bathroom. Our little girl loved it!
The room was nice and spacious,and little things like a hot water bottle and little ornaments and books scattered about. Made me feel as though we were being welcomed into a real home,very nice. The bed was comfortable,my husband and I enjoyed a good and quiet nights sleep. The bathroom was very nice and the water ran nice and hot,there isn't a wall mounted shower in that room but the bath has a combined tap and shower unit so a shower is possible. It was nice to be able to give our little girl a bath though.

The owners were friendly and attentive and asked us if we needed anything whenever we encountered them as we were coming and going.

The breakfast was lovely with a nice array of cereals,fruit juices,dried fruits and yogurt for starters followed by a tasty well sized home cooked and piping hot full english breakfast and plenty of toast. They made a little plate of bacon,sausage and toast for our daughter on request. The coffee was delicious as well.

A really lovely quirky little hotel. Felt right at home :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here with friends at short notice and were pleased to have booked three rooms at the same place. We found the bathrooms very clean and bathrobes were provided. The mattresses were comfy and the bedding was clean and fresh.The owner had very kindly knocked some money off the price as it was a multi-booking. However, our booking was for three double rooms but on arrival ours was a twin with an extra single in it! Obviously meant for children as their parents can sleep in a double close by. One twin was directly under a beam and dangerous if you sat up suddenly in the night. Decor and furniture was old and shabby and squeezed in. One chair was positioned directly in front of the TV and we had to move it! There was no double glazing and as the hotel is positioned very near the roundabout into Pickering it was very noisy. The TV was old and although had a digi-box a note left nearby, instructed us to unplug the box to get BBC 1 and 2 if we wanted them! The welcome tray was left nowhere near a socket and we had to move it on the floor to reach one. Coffee and drinking chocolate were presented in old spice jars. The biscuits - homemade? - were unwrapped and in a tiny old fruit drop tin. Cereal was presented in old catering mayonnaise jars. The breakfast was ok but the proprietors seemed unwilling to provide extra toast, tea or fruit juice if asked for and we felt uncomfortable asking. When we mentioned the problems with the TV we were told that they were always checked and working but guests fiddle with them! They also couldn't do us an early breakfast one day as most hotels and B & B's do. Compared to many other places available in Pickering town centre (and we are regular visitors and know many) this hotel gave poor value for money. This seems very sad as it such a lovely building in a prime position and with a lovely garden and good car parking space.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

arrived around 5 pm friday, got parked outside hotel, welcome very good, helped with luggage to room, room very comfortable , large bathroom, gave us a complimentary cup of tea / coffee and slices of fruit loaf, very nice, breakfast superb lots to eat very nice and well presented, minimal noise in room , placed to rear of hotel, handy for pubs tho nearest ones rough and ready royal oak almost next door, reasonable priced drinks but clientele hanging round bar and unable to get served, shabby interior, horseshoe inn over road very shabby and full of younger generation, lettered board pub up the road better interior but again full of younger people with banging music, black swan shabby inside, white swan next pub along very nice inside but over £8 for 2 drinks!!!! nice curry house spice4u within 5 min walk quite acceptable and reasonably priced, pickering nice place for a weekend access to north yorks moors railway / whitby and moors very good

Room Tip: may be better off in rear of hotel as road to front may be busy in summer with traffic
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage Pickering
The Old Vicarage Pickering
#4 of 46 in Pickering
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
Ingledene Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 46 in Pickering
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#13 of 46 in Pickering
88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cottage Lea's Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Hotel

Address: 134 Eastgate, Pickering YO18 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Pickering
Price Range: $104 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crossways Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crossways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways Hotel Pickering, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing