We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog, Child AND Grown up Friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our second autumnal long weekend visit and we weren't dissappointed. The cabin we stayed in was a silver birch and it was lovely - very clean with up to date furnishings and enough stuff in the kitchen to make a meal (To be honest apart from the lack of a log burner I couldn't see much difference between that and the higher spec Golden Oak cabin) I like the fact that we were given the option of a welcome talk and when we didn't take it up we were left to our own devices. There have also been a few improvements since we visited last year which made our experience even better - for example a fish and chip van which arrives on site on a Saturday evening and the introduction of outside steps to the balcony so staff don't have to trudge through the cabin to check it. The hot tub was a massive hit with everyone - it was lovely and warm even in the drizzle. The daily check on it was a bit of a pain but this was mainly because we literally couldn't get our 4 year old out of it! One thing that stuck with me was the fact that staff seemed to be genuinely enthusiastic about Keldy and pleased to be there.

Room Tip: My dog barked every time anyone walked past so it was good that we weren't on a busy pathway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent break at Keldy. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break and that you noticed the improvements that we have made. We value the feedback we receive from our guests and where we can implement suggestions that will benefit everyone, we very much try to. I will bring your review to the attention of the team at Keldy who will be delighted to hear that they helped to make your holiday special.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

An amazing two weeks of our lives.
Our two children still think it was a better holiday than EuroDisney ( and I agree)
Walks, bike rides, bat walks, badger hides,hot tubs, pet squirrels, pet deer, reading, drawing, singing, log fires, breakfast of beans and toast with hotchoc in the forest cooked over our own built fire next to our own built den, discovery information, late night walks in the forrest, rain soaked walking days under cagoules, rain soaked days in the warmth of the cabin and in the steaming hot tub, seclusion, own bikes fixed by on site bike genius, hot chocolate, muddy boots, trying our first pine tip, sunny days in the woods, sunny days in the cabin drawing what visited us!
We didn't leave the camp, we didn't need too, it was perfect, the cabins were cosy and spotlessly clean, the staff were enthusiastic helpful and kind, the place was idyllic.
We will be back .....soon

Room Tip: The highest spec you can afford, there isn't much difference in price but there is in experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclectic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Wow! What a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your two weeks staying with us at Keldy; and we feel honoured to be considered better than Euro Disney by the children. You paint a picture of a lovely family holiday in the forest getting back to nature and enjoying the comforts of your cabin. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our second visit after many years when this was an awesome site but now in potholed decline. We had to be moved from one smelly cabin with a broken fridge to another with a catalogue of irritants like intermittent water supply, leaking plumbing, curtains falling off, jammed DVD player and allow staff through every day to do the hot tub. The very generous rating is for the helpful staff and the build quality of the cabins.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have invested significantly in refurbishing our cabins recently and I am very concerned to hear of your experience. Please accept my apologies and, if you have not already done so, do contact us directly on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk so that we can investigate the matter fully. I appreciate your fairness in recognising the helpfulness of the staff and the quality build of the cabins.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our first holiday with Forest Holidays and we have to say our stay was perfect.

We stayed in cabin 28 which is a silver birch (mid spec) package. The cabin was warm, spotless, clean and fresh. The bed was comfortable and it was very nicely decorated in a contemporary style. We ordered the romantic night in package which was all ready and waiting for us on arrival. There was a lovely hot tub which was checked every day by a member of staff. The cabins are well spaced and there is allocated parking for each cabin.

We hired 2 bikes and followed a number of the trails they have around the site. We both thought the bike hire for the 4 days was reasonably priced and the trails were fantastic even though it rained.

There is no mobile phone signal at all but there is free wi fi in the shop / reception area.

The site is eco friendly with recycling bags.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent romantic break at Keldy. I am pleased you liked your cabin and the romance package and that you enjoyed the forest by bike too. I hope the experience has made you want to return in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is our 3rd holiday with Forest Holidays and our 1st at Keldy. Keldy is one of the legacy sites that was built quite some time ago so I expected the cabins to look a little tired, however; I was wrong. We had cabin 15 and it was spotless and the decor was like new. The site is peaceful and the location means that travelling to the coast is really easy. There is so much to do in North Yorkshire, I just wish we had had more time!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fazza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent break at Keldy. You have coined a new word with ‘hottubtastic’ and we like it! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your break; do come again and maybe stay for a week so that you can enjoy more of the glorious North Yorkshire area.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Arriving late we'd arranged details of our cabin to be left; they were taken by someone else who had a comfortable nights sleep at my wife and 7 year old sons expense.
After over an hour stumbling around in the dark trying to find a cabin - the emergency call out bell didn't work we eventually had to break into a cabin or spend the night in the car.
Staff reaction the following day was 'oh well you can stay in that cabin'. No apology. Nasty gash in my back from a cabin's railing (fortunately not requiring stitches) and no refund for any nights. Don't even get me started on Forest Holiday's complaints procedures - still waiting for a response 6 weeks late (28 days they say to allow - rubbish).
Avoid like the plague; if anything goes wrong during your staff then you're on your own.
Hot tub was good but tons of flies and serious lack of leadership, management, compassion and common sense.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellin_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for writing the review. As you are aware we are dealing with your complaint in the Customer Services team.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors' Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a lovely 5 day break here in mid August 2013 as middle aged couple with youngest 14 year old.

The first thing that hits you is how did we all manage without mobile phones? Well nows your chance to find out, forget your latest 4G Smart phone, there are no networks in the forest, in fact you need to get to past Cropton to get on O2 2G , a 3 mile or more drive before you get any signal so pre warn everyone where you are in case of dire emergencies so the local Police can visit and give you a message
However most wont be bothered by the lack of mobile as they come to get away from work!

There is free 24 hr token internet Wi-Fi around the central shop (which closes at 20-00) and Lodge but can be a bit low on bandwidth at peak times and is really only good enough for Twitter ad facebook text updates, although if you have BT account or Ipass etc., you can jump on the Forestry offices BT router

The lodges are all nicely spaced out around the forest with own parking space a minute or so walk depending where you are. Lodges are well furnished and spacious, we had the top spec Golden oak which had full equipped kitchen including dishwasher and en suite on the master bedroom
The icing though is that most have a hot tub on the outside decking which was a surreal experience sitting out at night watching the stars every night.

The site is placed well for access to attractions such as Eden camp (WW2 museum well worth visit) Flamingo land and the North Yorks Moors and its spectacular steam railway
Look for 3 for 2 vouchers for attractions such as Flamingo land.
Pickering is the nearest town however the traffic is horrendous in the summer on the Scarborough rd through Pickering taking 20 minutes to get to the Malton rd from the Cropton direction . However there is a route in across the edge of the railway station from the back of Keldy if you turn left instead of right at the end of the narrow lane from the campsite. Get a good OS map of the area and work it out.

In terms of things to do on site there are loads of walking and cycling trails in the woods and all lodges have 6 space bike racks outside. There are also plenty of organised events for you and old such as night wildlife tracking and guided walks. It isn't Centre parks though. You are there to get away from it all including other guests!!

Room Tip: All lodges are well sited and there are very few vehicle movements so shouldn't be disturbed whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaplefordRailway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for a great review. I am delighted you enjoyed the opportunity to get away from civilisation and enjoy the natural environment while staying with us at Keldy. It is in a fantastic part of the country with lots of places to visit and some stunning scenery. I’m pleased you enjoyed your cabin too with the added pleasure of the hot tub into the night. Come back soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pickering hotels
2.9 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
298 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
5.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Barker Stakes Farm
Barker Stakes Farm
#2 of 46 in Pickering
436 reviews
5.2 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
High Farm Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 46 in Pickering
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Address: Cawthorne, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our cabins at Keldy are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing