We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful customer service, hot tub broken, shower broken.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

A group of six of us stayed here for the may bank holiday weekend, after paying almost £600 we expected a very relaxing weekend enjoying the tranquil surroundings, a luxurious cabin and most of all a hot tub! The surroundings were beautiful although we were located on the main road into the site which meant we had limited privacy, our cabin was suitable for six but noticed immediately that the hot tub was not, it was only big enough for 4, 4 seats, 4 cup holders (not mentioned on the website) the cabin was grubby, dirty foot prints on the floor, limescale in all 3 toilets and the decking area wasn't freshly cleaned, we got on with it and just cleaned it up ourselves (no one wants to complain as soon as they arrive on holiday!) after having a wonderful, first day/night, we were looking forward to having a bbq in the sunshine and using our hot tub the second day but it did not heat up for 10 hours (as opposed to 4) and our downstairs shower didn't work meaning we all had to use the ensuite all weekend. We complained to the person 'in charge' (this is how she described herself) we had to ask for her name, Nicky [--], I can only describe this women as having the lowest form of customer service skills I have ever had the misfortune of encountering. her attitude was completely passive aggressive towards our Group. She addressed us as 'girls' (3 women in their 30's, not that it should matter!) and continued to speak to us like 'naughty teenagers', she made us wait around for her whilst she cooked pizzas, blamed us for the maintenance problems (which was ludicrous!) and point blank refused to give us the names of anyone at the customer support centre, her superior, and even refused to call another cabin site to ask if they had a spare cabin, even though we asked her to do this because we were so unhappy with our situation. She told us she would send an email to customer support who would pick it up on Tuesday (after we had left!) we asked if we could be sent a copy of this. I have never dealt with such a rude, patronising and offensive customer service representative, ever. The hot tub worked the next day, the shower did not. No one came to fix the shower. No email was sent to inform customer services. VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very concerned to hear that your break was marred by the problems and customer service issues that you describe. If you haven’t already done so, may I invite you to email us on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk so that we can deal with your complaints personally.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the second time we visited keldy and stayed in the same cabin as it is perfectly located, secluded from other cabins yet close to retreat. We chose to go keldy again because there are no reception on phones and no Internet in the cabins which makes it that bit special as it feels you are on a break. However they do have pay phone and wifi at the retreat so it's not all isolated. The cabins were great when we first visited last year but this year it had a refurb and wow, it is even better. The quality of the refurb can be seen in the no expenses spared kitchen units/ appliances and the beautiful floor. As usual the hot tub was a hit with children and the walks through the forest was refreshing. Although we had no problems with staff on our first visit, we felt staff and management were a lot friendlier this time round. Keep up the good work guys and thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with Forest Holidays at Keldy. It is a pleasure to welcome returning guests and I am delighted that you found things even better than your first stay. We have been carrying out a major refurbishment programme across our locations and it is great to know that our guests approve! I hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I have returned from a 3 night stay at Keldy cabins and are extremely disappointed and angered by our experience. We excitedly booked a weekend stay with four other friends and looked forward to relaxing in the hot tub and enjoying ourselves. However, this was not the case. From the moment we walked into the cabin it was clear that it was dirty and hadn't been cleaned properly in months!! The downstairs toilet smelled awful which further added to the uncleanliness.

The two showers had extremely low pressure and the shared shower downstairs was constantly cold. This meant that we had to take it in turns to use the only available shower in the en-suite room- unacceptable!!

The biggest disappointment of all was due to the falsely advertised 'hot tub'. It couldn't be described as 'hot', more like 'warm tub'. Although we booked a stay for 6 people, the cabin was only equipped with a hot tub with seating spaces for 4-5 people maximum!! Due to the lack of space we had no option but to take it in turns to sit on the sides!!! Not acceptable when we had paid for 6 people!!!

On our first morning a member of staff came to check the tub. Without informing us he started the process of flushing the hot tub to clean it through, something which should have been done before we arrived. This meant that we had no hot tub at all that day and although we asked throughout the day for staff to check it, it wasn't ready for use until 9:30pm that evening!!!!!

We raised each of these concerns with the female manager but she refused to address our issues even though they were fully validated by her staff. Customer service skills were simply awful and not at any point did she say 'sorry'. Instead we were made to feel like it was somehow our fault and were continually questioned and even asked, 'why did you get in the hot tub then?' When we asked to speak to a senior member of staff we were told that this wouldn't be possible until the end of our stay.

We are not fussy customers and have NEVER written a bad report on Trip Advisor before but we simply can not ignore the awful service we were given, even though they were fully justified. We won't be staying again and will make sure that we share our experience with other potential guests!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very concerned to hear about your experience and I would urge you to get in touch with us so that we can deal with your complaint properly. Please email us on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here before (about 10 years ago) and enjoyed it then, so was very surprised at how the cabins have been refurbished and upgraded. We booked a Friday to Monday stay in a Golden Oak dog friendly cabin, complete with log burning fire and hot tub.
Check in was from 4pm onwards, we did arrive a bit early and our cabin wasn't quite ready so we had a beer from the nice bar/ coffee shop where reception was and sat in
the courtyard. Our keys were ready about 3.45 cabin number 13.
The ranger came round within half an hour of us arriving and explained the hot tub instructions and answered any other questions we had and left us to unpack.
We had a lovely relaxing break over the weekend had some lovely walks everything is sign posted and you can get a map from reception, the hot tub was amazing even in the evenings and of course we had to light the fire just because it was there !!! Although it did make the upstairs bedroom very warm ( take your own slow burning logs )
The evenings were very peaceful even though we had a stagg party at one side and 6 girls on the other we were all there to enjoy ourselves it wasn't over noisy at all.
We took all our own food and drinks with us as there is no where that you can walk to also no phone signal although you can get a code at reception to get Wi fi but only works in the immediate area.
Monday came all too quick and I am glad we paid the extra £20 for a late checkout 12pm instead of 10am we took that much stuff it took us ages to load the car back up, they did come round before 12 and ask us if we were going to use the hot tub again that morning and when we said no they did start to empty it but it made no difference to us we were having breakfast.
We will be back and won't leave it too long this time, oh and the dog loved it too !!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent weekend away at Keldy. It sounds as if you all had a great time, including the dog! We hope the hot tub and log burner in your Golden Oak cabin added a touch of luxury to your forest experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Took my wife away for her birthday to keldy for a weekend. We received a warm welcome and given the key to our cabin for the weekend. The cabin is very well laid out with a hot tub and a log burner. It's a great base to use for visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. What a lovely birthday treat! I am pleased you both enjoyed your weekend at Keldy and I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in cabin 59. It was modern, very well kitted out and lovely and clean. Even though it was dog friendly it didn't smell of dogs at all. Staff at Keldy were very friendly and helpful, making sure that we had everything we needed. Lovely walks around the forest made it the perfect, relaxing weekend away from it all.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Keldy. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break and that you found the team at Keldy friendly. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all, the place, accommodation and staff are all amazing!

However, as we went over a bank holiday weekend, we paid nearly £600 for 3 nights. For that, I would want the very best.

We bought our dog along with us and as such, got the "dog spec" Gold cabin, The table had been chewed, the TV and remote were knackered the sofa was broken.

However, the hot-tub was fantastic, and there was a good degree of privacy. No phone signal at all, and you could walk for miles in any direction and just see wonderful countryside!

All the staff were great and always helpful, regardless of the time of day.

We will definitely go again, however our advise would be to people thinking about going with a dog, is don't waste you money on the Gold cabin (the promised Wii had no controllers either), go for the silver!

Room Tip: We got Cabin 13 (unlucky for some!) and it was great! Close to the centre, but still private too. Lo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your recent Bank Holiday break at Keldy. I am pleased that you enjoyed the peace and privacy of the forest and that you felt the Keldy team looked after you well. I am disappointed to hear that the cabin was not quite up to standard and this is now being addressed. With regard to the wii controllers, it’s too late now I appreciate, but they have to be collected from reception (otherwise we keep losing them). I do hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
12.7 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
14.1 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
2,074 reviews
17.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
679 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,908 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 29 in Pickering
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Address: Cawthorne, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our cabins at Keldy are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing