We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every minute..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pickering
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved every minute..”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked a while a go to come stay at keldy, there was 5 of us (group of girls) on a get away.
After a battle with the snow and the roads to get there, we were greeted by lovely staff, our cabin was available early, as we arrived early, so we were thankful for that.
Got to the cabin, had fun moving stuff from the car to the cabin in a foot of snow, with a few snow angels on the way!
Cabin was gorgeous (21) lovely kitchen, tv was perfect (people complaining of 'only 4 channels' really? Did u see where u are? And why do u need more?)
DVD player good, watched 5 films under the duvets with popcorn. Perfectly girly.
Hot tub was advised that it may not be ready the first night but when the member of staff came round for the welcome talk (Leanne) she tested it and it was fine to use :)
No mobile phone signal, but who cares, went away to get away!!
Pay phones there if needed.
Shop well priced.
Went on a walk in the snow! Was gorgeous!
When it came to leaving, we had a massive fall of snow, the staff were so helpful, we nearly stayed an extra night to be safe but decided to go for it, one of the staff (leanne) followed our two cars in her van, almost all the way to Pickering!! We all got out to push another car up a hill, all part of the adventure!
Cannot thank the staff there enough, always more than happy to help.
We can't wait to return, thanku keldy :) x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sashafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay at Keldy. It sounds like you had a fantastic girly adventure in the snow and enjoyed the fact that you were away from the real world.

I am pleased to hear that you found the site staff friendly and helpful and I will ensure this is fed back to the team.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to Keldy or one of our other sites again soon. Please visit our website for the latest offers and availability.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    267
    112
    58
    33
See reviews for
387
367
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a girls break to Keldy Forest Lodges. Lovely cabins but the one we had was in dire need of a refurb. The upstairs shower leaked into the downstairs one, the oven was poor, and cooking equipment very limited. Despite all this we had a great time but unfortunately just missed the snow.
Great atmosphere, lovely surroundings and very tranquil. Would recommend but request a refurbished lodge

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for your stay at Keldy. I am extremely disappointed to hear about your cabin; however pleased that despite this you managed to have a great time. As you are aware we are currently refurbishing all Golden Oak and Silver Birch cabins at Keldy (due to be completed within the next two months) and I do apologise that you did not stay in one that had been refurbished.

I do hope you decide to return either to Keldy or one of our other sites. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Please visit our website for the latest offers and availability.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Keldy. Obviously having organised snow to fall for my husband's birthday took a bit of doing and the scenery was absolutely wonderful and we enjoyed 4 days of wonderful walks and blissful quiet and yes, it is really quiet! We did the 3 mile walk around the forest about 2 hours before sunset and got the most amazing views and listened to absolute silence. There are plenty of walks to do and as we have a Landrover we drove over the moors which are a real treat in winter and well worth doing but you will need a 4 wheel drive and even some of the trickier roads were shut because of the snow.

Yes the cabins, as remarked on by other guests, do need a refurb and ours was no exception as it was looking a bit tired but everything was clean and the cabin was wonderfully warm. I think they are undertaking a refurb of the whole site. There were certainly cabins being refurbished on our stay. We had a log fire which we weren't expecting in the Silver Birch accommodation which was a nice surprise and the hot tub was a definite favourite. It is really surreal to be sitting in 40C of water while it is snowing and -5 outside - especially with a glass of champagne! The views from our cabin were wonderful and the light that came in through the large picture windows was amazing. We faced South West so got to see wonderful sunsets.

I was expecting the shop to sell a few more basics but as we had bought most of what we needed and went shopping at the Coop in Pickering it didn't really matter but I do think they are missing a trick not selling a wider variety of things as there is nowhere else in the vicinity.
All in all,though, a really lovely stay and with no mobile signal - absolute bliss! We shall book again but phone in advance to ask for a refurbished cabin.

Room Tip: Phone in advance and ask the very helpful staff which ones they would book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Keldy. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the peace and quiet in the snow!

As you mentioned, we are refurbishing all Golden Oak and Silver Birch cabins across the site which will be completed within the next couple of months. Therefore next time you return to Keldy you will be able to stay in a refurbished cabin.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the Forest Retreat which i will pass onto the General Manager of the site.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to Keldy or one of our other sites again soon. Please visit our website for the latest offers and availability.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Cabins are well equipped, modern and clean. The hot tubs are large and very clean and they will provide you with steps to get in, you have to ask for the steps as H&S means they cannot be left on the tubs. The staff have always been very polite and friendly.

There is no mobile signal or internet which was bliss, even my iPhone addicted teenage daughter quickly got used to that.

Its extremely quiet and dark in winter and very relaxing. Take your own food and drink as the shop is very small and take lots of books and DVD's and remember what life was about before technology took over !!!.

I have been three times now, all in autumn/winter and have booked again for Dec 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay at Keldy. I am delighted to hear that you managed to have complete relaxation and enjoyed the fact that you did not have a mobile phone signal!

We are pleased to hear that you have been on a Forest Holiday three times now and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in December 2013.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited Keldy cabins for 5 nights from 7th Jan as a treat for my wifes 30th Birthday.

On arrival, admittedly half hour early, we were told that the cabin wasn't ready yet but judging by the 12 or so other people in the cafe area we weren't alone in that, the waiting area was pleasant enough though and also doubles as ashop for the "essentials" that may have been forgotten. Once checked in we headed to the cabin in around 4.30pm and it is very dark at that time and as the website states there is no artificial light on the site, so a torch or a flashlight app on your phone is a must. First impression was that the cabins weren't quite as secluded as we had hoped with there being only around 20m between cabins, more on this later.

Inside the cabin we were lucky enough to have a recently refurbished cabin which is nicely decorated and has a basically fitted kitchen that has all the utensils you would likely use in a few days. The furnishings were all comfortable with a nice big double bed (although this is achieved by 2 singles being put together), and everything was of a high standard. The downside to the cabin is the showers, there would have been a stronger shower if we'd stood under a watering can!!! The ensuite one only got used once due to the trickle of water that came out of it, the one downstairs was slightly better but that's not saying much.

We had paid an extra £10 for a cot for our son which on arrival was not there but when we had the ranger come round to explain hot tub and other things in the cabin - which to be honest other than him getting the cot sorted was a waste of time.

The hot tub was a nice way to end the day however and it was nice to be outside in nature even though we were looking at the back of 1 cabin and across at another.

Now for the unfortunate event that spoiled the trip, throughout the week the 2 cabins adjacent to ours had been in the process of being renovated and while this was not a major issue for us as we spent our days away from the site so the noise and disruption of builders were not a problem. However on our last night, the Thursday, work on these cabins was still going on at 10pm and it wasn't quiet work either, power tools, loud builders and a quad bike clearing rubbish and seemingly going round in circles every 10 minutes! I'm not sure what time they were planning on working til but at 9.30 I decided enough was enough and complained to the duty manager, half hour later tools were downed, so many thanks to him!! Unfortunately by that time there was no amount of time in the hot tub that would have unwound me, and it didn't help the following morning when they restarted at 7.30am.

I did get an apology of sorts from the manager when I brought it up when we checked out, although he did not seem to know why they were working til that time. My suspicion being that they were needed for people coming that day was not responded to.

Had it not been for that incident this review would have been very complimentory about Keldy and when the renovations are done there will be no issue.

Keldy is a great base for visiting local attractions, Whitby, York and Scarborough etc. And the cabins are well fitted for purpose and the quiet location is bliss, although like previous reviews have said the road to the cabins is a little too off road in some places.

Ultimately if there had been mention of the fact that work was being done on the site then we would at least have been prepared for it although working til 10pm is unreasonable even with that knowledge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tifosidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Keldy with Forest Holidays.

I am pleased to hear that you liked the newly refurbished cabin; however thank you very much for the feedback about the shower, which I have passed onto the development team.

I am disappointed to hear that you disturbed by the builders who are refurbishing the cabins. I have fed this back to the development team to ensure this does not happen again.

I would like to invite you to email our Customer Services team on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk to enable us to provide with you a more personal response.

We would very much like to welcome you back to Keldy or one of our other Forest Holiday sites.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Friday 4-Monday 7 January 2013

Let me start by saying what an excellent location and gorgeous scenery this site sits in. Just returned from a four day break and stayed in Cabin 51 which i would highly recommend for the location (top end of the site, three/four mins walk away from the reception and most northerly of the cabins and straight into the walks).

The drive up was lovely, myself partner and her two children and their partners. The six of us arrived a little earlier than the 4pm check in (and yes the potholes are a nightmare on the road up but less than 5 to seriously avoid and I'm sure it's more the councils issue than Keldy Forest Cabins). We were greeted most pleasantly, explained we were slightly early - I'd rather arrive 30 mins early than 30 seconds late - but the cabin was quickly checked over and we were in within i would say 10-15 minutes at the most.

TIP: Book in on line before you arrive, as we did, the forms are all completed and a couple of signatures, job done.

We were informed that the hot tub heating had been turned on earlier that day but may still require a few hours to warm up. This was the case, and it was checked for us on Saturday. The hot tub was an absolute highlight of the weekend and well needed after 12 miles (long for us, more later) on Saturday.

Cabin 51, whilst in a lovely location, could just do with a little TLC.

We arrived mid afternoon to find the main bedroom en-suite light on, thought nothing of it, but it appears this may have been left on since the last visitor as we found out at bedtime that there was no way to turn the lights off as the switch was faulty, and hence had been left on. The unfortunate thing was that the en-suite, whilst it has a door it also has a window to the bedroom. This meant we had no other choice but to flick the upstairs light switch off in the main fuse box, as the second bedroom was also upstairs this did cause one couple a bit of hassle.

I reported the problem at the first opportunity i.e. Saturday 9 am and we heard nothing again. I reminded them on Monday on checking out where it was explained that someone had been to have a look and it was beyond their expertise to fix and that the electricians were due just after we were leaving. Fine and i accept this, however, maybe next time please consider just attaching a note to the cabin door, or sliding a note underneath the door, saying been, sorry can't fix until Monday. Communication and perception.

TIP: I would personally upon returning bring my own towels. Whilst supplied, both main and hand, they were of a thinner quality than what was preferred by our party and sometimes failed to dry.

You are supplied with a small bag of firewood for the log burner and are able to purchase other bags for a very reason value - £10 for a large bag - which lasted us through Saturday and Sunday. We brought along some firelighters and matches, but all were available.

Agree with a comment from another visitor that the NEW INN @ Cropton is well worth a visit. I believe all beers are brewed on site, we tried many of them.

TIP - The welcome pack includes five or six different suggested walking routes. We picked up the BLACK route (9 miles) mid Saturday pm which is not the best signposted. We met another couple who were equally not in the right location (notice i did not admit to being lost) and again they were on the black route - again not sure if this is specifically a Keldy issue as the routes spread a lot wider than the site of course (Forestry Commission??).

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, Cabin 51 i would recommend, maybe just a little TLC on the decor, the cooker could do with labelling - hobs and oven - and more focus on the cleaning - the main room lampshade i dont believe has seen a duster for a long while with the cobwebs and the toilets could do with a good scrub.

Superb location, overall a very good trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Keldy. I am very pleased to hear that overall you had a good trip and enjoyed our superb location. The hot tubs are perfect following long walks in the forest and many of our guests also feel this is the highlight of their weekend too.

Glad you enjoyed the Cropton Inn. It is a popular place with many of our guests! Thank you also for your comments regarding the walking routes. I will pass your comments onto the Forestry Commission.

I have spoken to the general manager at Keldy, who agreed that you should have received a note to say that the electrician would be along on Monday after you had checked out. We do apologise for this and in future if something similar happens to others then we will ensure they are updated with a note.

All Silver Birch and Golden Oak cabins are in the process of being refurbished at Keldy which will be completed within the next couple of months; so any issues such as TLC on the decor and the cooker will be picked up.

I do hope you decide to return either to Keldy or one of our other sites. We will look forward to welcoming you. Please visit our website for the latest offers and availability.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited Keldy cabins between Christmas and New Year and were extremely disappointed with the standard of accommodation to be found. We stayed a few times at various cabins around the UK and the issue here seems to be that some of the cabins have been refurbished whilst others appear to be being let go until its their turn for refurbishment. Reading reviews this appears to be the lower numbers of cabins in particular the copper beech that appear to be the issue although not only the ones. I agree with the previous reviewer who stated that 4 PM is simply too late to be checking into this these cabins. The area is very dark ( as you'd expect bracket) but due to the poor condition its very difficult to navigate when you haven't seen the area daylight, there is also an excessive amount of mud around each of the cabin making getting from the car to the cabin very especially when carrying bags. However nothing could prepare me for the state in which we found the cabin when we checked in it look like it hadn't been cleaned and the equipment was in extremely poor condition. We had visitors arriving the next day and I felt I had no choice but to go out and purchase my own cleaning equipment in order to make the cabin at least somewhat presentable. The main issues is the floors which are beyond the state of keeping clean now because the varnish is totally gone and the dirt is ingrained. However there was also mud, I'm not sure whether this was from a dog or from the dirty mops used, splattered all over the bottom of the walls. When booking you have to pay quite substantial amount of money to bring your dog and for breakage insurance however it appeared they hadn't done any extra cleaning after previous dogs (large clumps of other dogs fur!) visiting and a number of items were broken astonishingly including toilet roll holder, soap dishes and the shower tray. Things that should be fixed easily and long ago. I read a review a few months ago about cabin 31 , I had paid extra to specifically book this cabin and I contacted forest holidays to be reassured that the cabin wasn't as poor as what this review said however on arrival I found all the kitchen equipment was still broken including broken dishwasher which leaked on the floor, broken kitchen cupboard shelves, broken fridge door and broken freezer compartment. My advice if you want to stay at any of the older cabin sites that forest holidays operate is to go for a higher level of accommodation and ensure that it has been refurbished recently. I would especially avoid dog friendly copper beech at all costs they are in one word 'filthy'. However the most upsetting it thing is to have contacted forest holidays and to have been reassured and then found the situation is still as described. It's a real shame as the concept of forest holidays and when there was first built was amazing but they have simply gone further and further down hill - I won't be staying again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Keldy. We’re naturally disappointed that there were aspects of your holiday that did not match up to your expectations. As you mentioned we are currently refurbishing all Golden Oak and Silver Birch cabins at Keldy which will be completed within the next couple of months.

We are always seeking ways to improve our holidays and you have raised several issues which we will be addressing for the benefit of future guests. However, we realise that does not make up for your disappointment. We would love to have the opportunity to respond to you directly and so would invite you to contact our Customer Services team on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Amanda Clarke
Holiday Advisors Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickering
3.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
9.3 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
17.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocklands Lodges
Rocklands Lodges
#1 of 27 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire

Property: Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire
Address: Cropton, Pickering YO18 8HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickering
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Pickering
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cabin breaks in the forest with idyllic natural surroundings. Our cabins at Keldy are enveloped in the deep calm of the forest, some hidden beneath the trees and others opening out onto grassy, sunlit glades. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldy Forest Cabins Hotel Pickering
Forest Holidays Keldy, North Yorkshire Pickering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing