We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great meal”
Review of Coast Saundersfoot

Coast Saundersfoot
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $60
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We want all our guests to be happy with their whole experience at Coast. Achieving such a simple aim isn't easy of course. But we are working hard to make it happen. Our beautiful new purpose built restaurant is right on the shoreline - just metres away from the lovely golden sands of Coppet Hall. You'll have unrivalled views of sea and sky. Using, wherever possible, locally sourced Pembrokeshire ingredients, Will Holland and his team prepare dishes with skill, experience, creativity and a good dollop of style. At Coast we pride ourselves on offering a unique combination of informal and professional service. We want you to feel welcomed and relaxed.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stumbled across this by accident, so hadn't booked a table, hostess very helpful and rang to tell us there was a cancellation, terrible weather so we didn't get the view, but the food was great, we really couldn't fault the food at all and the wine was very nice. Good value for money. Outside seating needs to be improved, i.e a proper all weather canopy, with outside heaters so the terrace can be used all year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 5star199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your experience, albeit it was shame the sun wasn’t shining for you.

Your remarks regarding the outside seating have been noted.

Kind Regards
Pamela
Reception & Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 782 of 901 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having been hugely disappointed by The Grove which is owned by the same people, I was a little cautious about trying Coast. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised! I ate lunch here on my own and was made to feel so welcome both by front of house and the waiting staff. I chose scallops to start with soy, guacamole and sesame - it sounded an unlikely combination but it really worked and was delicious! I had the half lobster for a main course and it was lightly cooked, fresh and really tasty. Portion sizes were perfect, and although I chose the more expensive items from the menu, the prices were not outrageously high (although they may raise some eyebrows in Pembrokeshire), you would certainly expect to pay more in Cardiff. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to friends and can't wait to go again myself. I hope this restaurant continues to be a success as the local seafood of Pembrokeshire deserves recognition!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrankieP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Frankie,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to read you had such an enjoyable experience at Coast. Our Head Chef Will Holland is delighted to read you enjoyed the seafood whilst taking in the stunning views across Carmarthen bay.

We know the owners will be disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy The Grove on your last visit and they very much hope you do try it again.

Kind Regards
Pamela
Reception & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

For a birthday lunch we decided on Coast and we are so glad we did. Situated on the beautiful West Wales coast we had one of the best meals we have had in a long while. Admittedly it is not the cheapest but it was worth every penny. The crab and mango starter oozed summer flavours, the scallops were sublime, the main courses of turbot and john dory first class. The chefs even went to the trouble of sending out a plate with Happy Birthday on it whilst Sam our waitress was so friendly and efficient. You don't however have to have a full meal as they also serve tea/coffee etc. As you can see we loved Coast & we will return asap. When you visit we hope you enjoy your meal as much as we did. Well done Will Holland and keep up the good work!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at Coast. The coastal views from the front of the restaurant makes Coast the perfect place to have that special dining experience. Our Head Chef Will Holland will be pleased to read that you liked his Turbot dish so much.

We very much hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Pamela
Reception & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A wet evening for our visit and sadly not the warmest of welcomes either. Not totally ignored but no-one seemed to rush to greet us and they had moved us from the table we had chosen earlier. However,this was overcome and we met Suzie our waitress...and what a charmer she was. For me she saved the evening with her knowledge and pleasant chat. She picked up that this was a birthday treat for one of our party and off her own bat managed a little surprise at the end of the evening. The food was very good but the nibbles,starters and desserts are a little overpriced.The menu is dominated by fish and I did not see any consideration in the menu for children.The service was very good and the staff were attentive but discreet. The "taster menu"..without wine is overpriced. Jamie does it better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Over priced. Small portions. Overcooked tiny fillet of trout. No chilli in the crab with chilli. Cheese was good but expensive. Wine was good. For the price I expected more but got ok. Great view. Could be great but was disappointing

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pembroke_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted to read that you liked the location and views from the restaurant but concerned to read your other comments.

Coast in not a fine dining restaurant or trying to be one because that would be a real shame in such a beach side setting. Our restaurant aims to deliver the highest quality food in a relaxed, informal but professional atmosphere focusing on the best locally sourced Pembrokeshire ingredients.

In relation to portion sizes, whilst we appreciate appetites do differ, Will Holland our Head Chef has designed his dishes to provide what he feels is a sensible balance for all through what is 2 or 3 courses of food with complimentary bread for the vast majority of our diners.

Chef is particularly concerned that there was no chilli on your crab dish, and can only apologise for their mistake.

We very much hope you do try us again.

Kind Regards
Pamela
Reception & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Saundersfoot also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Coast Saundersfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing