We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Guests, 2 happy.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Saundersfoot

Coast Saundersfoot
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $56
Cuisines: Contemporary, Seafood, European, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We want all our guests to be happy with their whole experience at Coast. Achieving such a simple aim isn't easy of course. But we are working hard to make it happen. Our beautiful new purpose built restaurant is right on the shoreline - just metres away from the lovely golden sands of Coppet Hall. You'll have unrivalled views of sea and sky. Using, wherever possible, locally sourced Pembrokeshire ingredients, Will Holland and his team prepare dishes with skill, experience, creativity and a good dollop of style. At Coast we pride ourselves on offering a unique combination of informal and professional service. We want you to feel welcomed and relaxed.
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“3 Guests, 2 happy.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Went to Coast for a business lunch. Service patchy, had to ask for drinks and also had to call for menu's. not good for an establishment that trumpets a Michelin star credential. My two colleagues declared the rib-eye and chips to be wonderful, and to be fair I have heard similar from a number of diners. I, however couldn't resist ordering the fish fingers, curious how such a dish could cost 14 pounds. Perhaps the kitchen had an off day but peas lacking seasoning, overlooked fish, and approximately 7 average chips really doesn't cut it, and the stone cold plate is a huge no-no.
I also find the managements comments about the staff getting "ongoing training" totally unacceptable. It is not our problem, a training programme should have been done well before opening given the high profile publicity hype pushed on the public. After all, public grants were given to create this place so surely it should be accessable to the general public? Sadly, due to the so called exclusiveness and the money expected for the fare offered it has absolutely no relevance to the average visitor to Saundersfoot. If you charge the prices, deliver the expectation that those prices engender, nobody minds the price if it's what they expect, just deliver what you promise!


Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank indianwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review and for expressing your honest opinion of your visit. Whilst we have many very experienced front of house staff, the team as a whole continue to work hard towards the service levels we are aiming for. We are delighted to hear that your colleagues enjoyed their Welsh Rib Eye steaks but concerned to read your comments about the line caught cod fish fingers which have been passed to our Head Chef Will Holland.

We very much hope that the restaurant does not feel exclusive and further believe that the average guest really do want something a wee bit special which we hope makes it accessible to a wide range of holiday makers to the area.

Kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    145
    60
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
S.Wales
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

It would be worth visiting Coast just for the breathtaking view - it truly is outstanding. Happily the food was good too. All four of us ate seafood (what else?) and everything, from the bread and nibbles through to the dessert, was first class. The service was friendly and efficient, the drinks and wine list were comprehensive but not over the top and the decor is contemporary without being poncey. We all really enjoyed it and I will make every effort to go back as soon as I can. It was a joy to find genuinely good seafood in this part of the world. I also thought it was reasonable value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddiefatpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Eddie,

Thank you for taking the time to put your encouraging comments about our new restaurant on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to Coast and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food. Great service. Relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I have already been here twice as the food is such good quality and tastes great. The staff are very attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Hayley, Thank you for taking the time to put your encouraging comments about our new restaurant on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to Coast and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernspite, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well cooked food in contemporary setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Coast is certainly not the cheapest place to eat in the local area but, for a special occasion, it's definitely worth the money. The food we ordered (on a Saturday evening) was all cooked to perfection. I especially enjoyed the halibut which was crisp on the outside and beautifully succulent inside. This dish had a slightly eastern twist as it was served on a bed of lentils and came with a subtle garam masala mousse, both of which served to enhance rather than overpower the flavour of the fish.

I notice that some other reviewers have been unhappy with the service. This is very different from our experience: we found the staff to be attentive but unobtrusive. I actually prefer this rather less formal style of service to that offered at the Grove, which can be rather overwhelming and slightly intimidating. We felt, at Coast, that we were being attended to, but were also left in peace to enjoy our meal in an unhurried manner. My only - very minor - negative comment concerns the water used to make tea, which tasted quite heavily chlorinated. I did mention this to the waitress to pass on to management as it is an issue that can easily be resolved with a water filter.

All in all, we had a very enjoyable meal and are looking forward to eating out on the terrace overlooking the sea when the weather gets a bit warmer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Cathie,

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments about our new restaurant on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the food so much. We feel very lucky to have such a talented Head Chef like Will Holland cooking in South Pembrokeshire and the menu will continue to evolve over the coming months. I hope that gives you reason to come and see us again very soon.

We are aware of the small issue with the water and we aim to add a filter to the supply shortly.

Kind regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Potential, but that's all at the moment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited for lunch on Sunday, May 4th - myself, my wife and our three-year old daughter.

The location is quite simply superb, but there has been a lack of attention to detail with regard layout of the restaurant (somewhat of a theme, in our experience) - reception desk at the front door, which, on a cold, windy day is problematic, and the door from the downstairs entrance opens out onto the reception desk (watch your back!).

Atmosphere is very cold - get in, order, eat, pay and get out. We had 4 different staff during our lunch and there was no conversation, no recommendations or descriptions of the dishes, and an overall lack of attention to the diner's experience.

Food is adequate, which, given the price, lack of service and reputation, brought about by an advertising campaign focused on the employment of a Michelin Star chef, was disappointing. The food is apparently locally sourced, but our experience of the Bass (both of us ordered the same dish) was underwhelming - small portion, heavy/oily texture and far too much grey in the fillet (both dishes - consistently underwhelming). We had a side of 'mash', but it was served in a cold dish and arrived lukewarm. Both tables on either side of us complained of "blandness" when it came to the soup starter (something also noted by another reviewer); we found that the hummus was overpowered by oil and lemon, which left it with a sludge-like texture.

Pricing is to be expected for a high-end restaurant lunch in most cities (though this is a small coastal village in Pembrokeshire) - £11 for a child's sausage and mash with a scoop of ice-cream for dessert. Whole experience was circa £90 for two course lunch (no dessert for the adults), meal for our daughter (with an apple juice), Mojito, non-alcoholic Mojito and water for the table.

The restaurant certainly has potential. This said, attention to detail is everything and the front-of-house has seemingly been ignored. The venue is obviously suffering from teething problems and I sincerely hope that it addresses the challenges currently facing it.

On a good summer's day this venue could potentially, and I emphasise, "potentially" compete with the best in the world - the location really is that good. However, in the depths of winter, with its current layout and level of service, I cannot see its appeal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolQED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Coast Saundersfoot, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review and for expressing your honest opinion of your visit to our new restaurant. We would prefer to hear feedback like this whilst the guest is with us to help us try and rectify the problem if that is at all possible. If you also did that then thank you.

The team are working very hard to make sure service levels continue to improve. Your comments about the food have been shared with our Head Chef Will Holland.

Like you we also see massive potential for the restaurant in this beautiful location.

We very much hope you do try us again.

Kind regards

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Saundersfoot also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Coast Saundersfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing