We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Saundersfoot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Took my 9 year old away for a quick break with friends. February on the beach! Just a one night stay in The Gower Hotel. Booked a family room with two singles and a double. A large, clean room with a great corner bath in the en-suite really impressed the kids. The hotel was friendly and relaxed, they even lets us book in when we arrived early at 2.00pm, which was great as we didn't have to drag the car and luggage around Saundersfoot. We went out for a meal in the evening, but given the excellent breakfast, I think we will try a meal in the hotel next time we stay. Car park at the rear was a bit tight on a Saturday night during half term, but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Due to snow we phoned to let them know we would definitely be arriving and gave approximate time. We were earlier than anticipated due to new forecast for continued bad weather and a desire to arrive before it came. Nobody was on reception when we arrived so we had find someone; they had an after Christmas, Christmas function – people were wearing Christmas cracker hats. Were reminded by the member of staff that we eventually found that they weren’t expecting us until later…. stressed?
Our twin room was exceedingly hot but we were able to turn the radiator down and open a window – better that, we thought, than to be cold on such a night. The tea/coffee facilities were good, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The shower head over the bath flopped and refused to adjust and the hair dryer had an intermittent streak. Apart from that the room was fine and agreeable though the view was not of the sea but of the place next door – pity as Saundersfoot is a lovely location.
Breakfast was good. The hotel was booked for one night via an online hotel deal site but wasn’t cheap considering the time of year and the fact that apart from us there was only one other couple staying. Had it been cheaper we may well have booked for a few nights.

Room Tip: If you want a front of hotel room ask for it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshire-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

A central hotel with a good position. The Orangery restaurant is light and airy and the imaginative, particularly the orange creme brulee.. We have stayed there three times and enjoyed our break on each occasion. However, the rooms are disappointing in that they are very small although spotlessly clean and the stairs particularly steep. The bar, just off the restaurant is a relaxing area and apart from the cramped rooms, we couldnt fault the hotel. Good value.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is large enough otherwise you will be tripping over each other like we did!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylviaTonbridge_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

we spent xmas at the gower hotel this year, after spending xmas abroad for many years we decided to stay at the gower. they had on offer a 4 night break of b b and evening meals with a choice of a gala xmas day lunch.. all the food on offer was superb, well presented and with so much choice you couldnt fault it. xmas eve they had a solo singer which everyone enjoyed and xmas night there was a small quiz run by andy and we all had a great laugh... the bed was huge, the room light, warm and comfortable. great huge corner bath with large fluffy towels.. yes we have travelled around and stayed many places in saundersfoot and tenby-would we return to the gower OH YES we hope to be back soon... thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherriewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel staff are very friendly and with the temperature at -3 outside the rooms very warm and fitted out to a very acceptable standard. I've stayed there twice recently on business and i've had no complaints. were very warm and hThe car park is a little difficult to find when it is dark and could do with a little better signage but thats a small thing. The breakfast was good enough and saw me through the day. Next time i'm going to make sure i get there for happy hour.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had Sunday lunch here while staying in Manorbier last weekend. The food was excellent with a good choice of mains, starters and puddings. Service was not particularly quick, but to be fair they were fully booked and we didn't have to wait an inordinate amount of time between courses.
Pretty good value for money with a two course lunch coming in at less than £15.00 each. Would eat here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandMCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just spent four nights at The Gower Hotel Saundersfoot, we wanted to stay in Tenby but as it was a last minute booking we couldn't find anywhere to stay so decided to book something close by, we are so glad we did. From the moment we arrived the reception was so welcoming, it was like coming home. All the staff were very friendly from front of house to kitchen, nothing was to much trouble. A big thank you to Andy who entertained the children on Halloween night Carving Pumkins and dressing as Dracula, I Know my son in particular really enjoyed it. The Hotel is lovely,very clean and homely. The Gower also serves great food, there was a good selection on offer for breakfast including a HUGE full english, not forgetting to mention the evening meals which were also very good (hence the half a stone in weight I,ve gained) thanks to the Chef's. There is adequate parking at the back of hotel. All in all there is nothing bad to report. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
2.6 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant

Address: Milford Terrace, Saundersfoot SA69 9EL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: $108 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gower Hotel sits just back from Saundersfoot vibrant centre - the ideal spot to escape for a touch of peace and quiet, yet close enough to step right into the life of the resort.Comfort and Quality are the key notes of the decor, a theme which extends to each of our 20 en-suite rooms, some of which have balconies and some of which enjoy views across the bay. We have a choice of twin, double and family rooms, all equipped with tea and coffee facilities, colour TV, telephone. A secure, off-street car park is behind the hotel. We're a hands-on business, so the staff at the Gower share the enthusiasm for understanding the value of a first class standard of service, and we're always ready to be flexible in our arrangements for group visits, small conferences or business meetings. All are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel Saundersfoot
The Gower Hotel And Orangery Restaurant Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing