We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money.”

The Captain`s Table
Ranked #26 of 31 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Captain's Table is currently undergoing a refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming back old and new customers for Easter 2016.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in Saundersfoot for a week and went here twice. On both occasions our meal was lovely and the service excellent. I would recommend booking especially at weekends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had such positive experiences on both of your visits to us.
We strive to provide top quality homemade food at sensible prices and to compliment this with great, friendly service.
We aim to give all our customers exactly the type of memories that you will have.
We have had an excellent season - partly due to the weather but helped no doubt by people like you sharing your views with the TripAdvisor community.
We hope to see you again soon.
Ian, Dave, Gareth and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    37
    36
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Level Contributor
277 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Hearty breakfast.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Enjoyed a substantial breakfast here when arriving in Saundersfoot, before checking in to our hotel. There are plenty of tables outside to enjoy the sunshine whilst you eat. Breakfast was lovely & included a warm slice of baguette & tea or coffee. We returned later in the day to enjoy a beer & listen to the singer, which was very enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenyazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi
Thanks for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed your breakfast, drink, music and the atmosphere.
Ian, Dave, Gareth and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a short break in Saundersfoot. Ate here twice. Very nice food, good service and fairly reasonable, bearing in mind it's location. Food was well cooked. Kids meals were excellent and service was attentive. The manager jeff was very nice. The only small issue is that the restaurant is either side of the path to the toilets which on busy days can result on 'colorful' characters passing by, but that does not detract from the food etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank testinggorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hi
Thanks for your review.
We are a family pub and people eating with us more than once during their holiday is exactly our target market.
I'm really pleased that you had excellent food and received great service - that is what we strive to provide.
We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.
Ian, Dave, Gareth and the crew - especially Jeff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Expensive”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Not much food. Very small lunch portions. I had ham, egg and chips. one tiny slice of ham, cold egg and half cooked chips. The drink is the most expensive in Saundersfoot. Staff just want your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ititeasytocook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi
Whilst we welcome TripAdvisor reviews I'm afraid that I do not believe that this one is genuine.
My reasons are factual based, in that we do not send ham, egg and chips down in that portion size and I know that we are not the most expensive pub in the village at all.
I am also very wary of first time reviewers. Everybody has to start somewhere I agree but no address and scant details are normally a sign of a malicious review.
I would encourage reviewers to read our other reviews which are at odds with this one.
Ian, Dave, Gareth and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I must admit that I wasn't expecting too much from this visit - we just walked past and decided to give it a go.

The decor isn't great but it seemed clean and reasonably priced (may be a little on the expensive side).

The service was a bit slow but it was it was all done with a smile.

Food was good and we'd be happy to return. Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaundersfootInns, Owner at The Captain`s Table, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review. It is pleasing that we exceeded your expectations.
This is an old fashioned family pub and deliberately is freshly decorated each season to provide exactly the atmosphere you experienced.
Having tried us once we now look forward to you returning.
As the review of 14 August says - "we are the best pub in the village".
Ian, Dave, Gareth and the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain`s Table also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Captain`s Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing