We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place for some real R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cwmwennol Country House
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“This is the place for some real R&R”
Reviewed November 18, 2006

Having stayed there last year we had little choice but to revisit Cwmwennol as we had enjoyed ourselves so much. It's in a lovely setting with fantastic walks and is clean and confortable. The hotel is excellent value for money and Vicky and Roy are excellent hosts. With regard to the food, it is tasty and plentiful, just what you need after a day out walking with your four legged friends before relaxing in front of the log fire with a nice drink.

Having read the website we found that the hotel lived up to all our expectations.

If you want some real rest and relaxation in a friendly environment with beautiful surroundings and good hosts, this is the place to go.
We'll certainly be back again.

  • Liked — Comfortable & Friendly
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
107 Thank Mrs-Carney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
22
84
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Telling your friends you are having four days away in Wales in early November raises a few eyebrows. But we had been before and knew we were due for a great short break. Even though we arrived on a Sunday, Cwmwennol Country House hotel was full. Despite being so busy, Vicky and Roy had time to chat with us as we checked in and make us feel welcome. Our friends arrived about an hour after us and we headed out for a walk in the woods surrounding the hotel. Then back for a drink in front of the fire in the bar before dinner. That set the scene for an excellent few days with great food and hospitality in wonderful surroundings.

  • Liked — Hopsitality & location
  • Tips/Secrets — Get down to the bar early for the best chance to see the Badgers and Foxes in the garden.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
105 Thank Tourist_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accrington
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

Came back at the end of July fully relaxed after a week at this hotel and have aready booked to go back in november. We had a great time and Roy and Vicki are the perfect hosts nothing is to much trouble (we went as strangers and came away with some new friends). The food was great but if it was not to your taste you only needed to ask and you could eat from the bar menu.Overall the hotel was clean and tidy but i,m sure no matter where you stay you can find a cobweb or a corner that has not been dusted i mean at the end of the day what really matters is you have got a reasonable standard of accomodation and some good company.If you do happen to book this hotel i,m sure you will not be dissapointed and a look in the visitors book will tell you people return again and again (met one couple who were on their eigth visit so the owners must be doing something right)

  • Liked — The peace and quiet
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
108 Thank stanleyconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Stayed a night back in February. Arrived at deserted front desk. Jovial host wanders round & shows us to the master suite. Small deck & 4 poster bed. Best of all - a jacuzzi in the bathtub. Wonderful.

Not really on the beach at all - there's a very muddy path down through the woods to the beach. About a 15 minute walk along the beach or a road without pavements to get into Saundersfoot town.

Didn't eat at the hotel - the menu didn't inspire. Got back to hotel for a drink before retiring & it felt rather like having a drink in someone's front room. A little strange. 2 dalmations wandered around the room too!

Breakfast was good though. OK, but doesn't live up to the reviews I've read here.

  • Liked — Big room & jacuzzi
  • Disliked — Slightly wierd place
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJVeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2005

We have just returned from a wonderful Christmas break at Cwmwennol House Hotel.Saundersfoot.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the public areas very relaxing. The Christmas Fayre was beyond par.The hotel is surrounded by woodland and beautiful walks to the beaches.
The atmosphere was friendly and almost homely.The host and hostess did everything to make our stay a memorable one and we would certainly reccommend it to anyone. Dont go if you are looking for chrome, glass and brass as you wont find it there!

Richard and Bev Hammond

Helpful?
107 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.6 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
170 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwmwennol Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwmwennol Country House

Property: Cwmwennol Country House
Address: Swallowtree Woods, Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cwmwennol Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel surrounded by beautiful woodland. Vicki and Roy welcome you to the Cwmwennol Country House which sits in the Swallowtree woods, gradually extending towards the shoreline and westwards towards Monkstone Point. If you fancy a stroll to the beach then take the path through the woods and you will be there in minutes. The bright and well-appointed rooms all have en-suite shower or bath, a television and a hospitality tray. The restaurant is non-smoking and has a wide selection of delicious meals on offer and, for the smaller appetite bar snacks. Whilst staying at the Cwmwennol Country House you will not be short of things to do with plenty of beaches to explore, the furthest being a thirty-minutes drive away. The Georgian town of Tenby has a beautiful harbour and is a must for anybody visiting the area. With three castles in the surrounding area Manorbeir, Pembroke and Carew you won't be short of fun things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cwmwennol Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cwmwennol Country Hotel
Cwmwennol Country House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing