We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graham & Carolyn C”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cwmwennol Country House
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Graham & Carolyn C”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful and peaceful location with access to the beach via a woodland walk , friendly owners and staff, a comfortable room, a friendly bar and restaurant with excellent food, then this is for you. An appreciation of well behaved dogs is recommended- Mollie and Oscar had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked last minute ,as we had to travel suddenly to the area: with no knowledge of the locality at all and expected to take pot luck. WOW did we drop lucky here!. The Hotel was warm, welcoming and extremely comfortable, decor tasteful, room linens of the highest quality and evening meal in the bar was a culinary joy. All reasonably priced and the breakfast ,which was included in the rate was delicious, my eggs benedict was worthy of a michelin star at least. I have two regrets however: one that we didnt bring our dog on the trip. because we now know that he would have been welcome, and two, that we couldnt stay longer because we had to get home for the dog. Vicky and Roy, were great hosts and we (and the dog ) are looking forward to returning

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOMWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We found this treasure of a place 6years ago...and we continue to go back yearly...twice if we can....The whole expereince is wonderful from start to finish...I love the gentle pace of life there...it saddens me greatly that some folk who have been to this wonderful place cant wait to get home to write, what i quite frankly see mis guided medival rubbish...

For me this haven has it all wonderful food...great staff and the owners are the Jewels within the crown on Cvmwennol...Carry on the great work........

Room Tip: Ask to book room 6.....its lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our 2nd visit to Cwmwennol.We found the relaxing atmosphere just what we needed.The hotel is situated in the middle of the woods through which one can walk to the small beach.The food is very good and the evening meal is really excellent value prepared very well by Roger who also shares bar duties with Roy.It is great to watch the badgers and foxes in the rose gardens after dinner. No doubt we will return a 3rd time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stag1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here with our dog in April for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is situated right on the coast just outside Saundersfoot and is set in a beautiful location. We had 2 evening meals which were also excellent. We also saw badgers and foxes in the garden behind the bar on both nights! An amazing experience, I have never seen badgers up close before and I imagine it will be a long time until I do so again. A lovely hotel - I would recommend it to any animal lover.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevenw8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. Have stayed there several times before and knew it to be very good, so took some friends with us this time.

Vicky and Roy very good hosts, food excellent, rooms very clean and Laylah, our dog, enjoyed it too.

Will be back again (and again)!

Chris & Neil

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have just returned after spending 2 nights at this delightful hotel. Vicky & Roy are perfect hosts. There is nothing we could fault about our stay. Food was excellent. Our room was more than adequate with all the trimmings you expect from a well run establishment. We didn't bother venturing out once we had returned from a busy day. Home cooked food along with a friendly bar full of other guests won everytime! This has been an excellent find for us .... A dog friendly hotel in a beautiful location with excellent hosts. Thank you Vicky & Roy for such an enjoyable stay we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debs7443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.6 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.4 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,074 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwmwennol Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwmwennol Country House

Property: Cwmwennol Country House
Address: Swallowtree Woods, Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cwmwennol Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel surrounded by beautiful woodland. Vicki and Roy welcome you to the Cwmwennol Country House which sits in the Swallowtree woods, gradually extending towards the shoreline and westwards towards Monkstone Point. If you fancy a stroll to the beach then take the path through the woods and you will be there in minutes. The bright and well-appointed rooms all have en-suite shower or bath, a television and a hospitality tray. The restaurant is non-smoking and has a wide selection of delicious meals on offer and, for the smaller appetite bar snacks. Whilst staying at the Cwmwennol Country House you will not be short of things to do with plenty of beaches to explore, the furthest being a thirty-minutes drive away. The Georgian town of Tenby has a beautiful harbour and is a must for anybody visiting the area. With three castles in the surrounding area Manorbeir, Pembroke and Carew you won't be short of fun things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cwmwennol Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cwmwennol Country Hotel
Cwmwennol Country House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing