We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holidays!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonville's Court Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saundersfoot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bonville's Court Holiday Park
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Holidays!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed both in the cottage and in a static caravan several times now, and have had a wonderful time. Very relaxing, quiet and an ideal spot for exploring pembrokeshire. We always take our two dogs with us and we love the informalitiy, tiled floors and garden. (brill for the dogs)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive feedback on Courtlands. Hopefully we will see you again next year, also thanks for Liking our new Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

me and my family have been to this park three times and find it to be a quiet park with easy access to saundersfoot by car or walking ,i took my 2 dogs with alot of walking areas so its ideal for us the caravan we stayed in wash top of the range with plenty of room for six adults and two german shepard dogs . this park is ideal for those people who want a quiet peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback on our Park, we are known to be a quiet get away where you can relax and enjoy the country feel of the Park, yet only ten minutes walk from the lovely sandy beach of Saundersfoot, we hope to see you again next year when you want to 'chill!'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The two of us plus two Springer spaniels spent a superb week at Courtlands Cottage at the beginning of October 2012. We were met on arrival at reception by Caroline who walked us through the park to the cottage. The cottage was clean, warm and very comfortable and access to the garden and large field at the back was greatly appreciated by the two spaniels. The new? bathroom on the ground floor was really nice and the one bedroom that we used upstairs was beautifully furnished and decorated. The large kitchen/diner is well kitted out - the only thing we missed was a toaster - but the grill worked fine. The cottage is very well situated for the Pembrokeshire coastline and we had splendid days in Saundersfoot, Wisemans Bridge, Tenby, Amroth, Pendine, and St Davids. We also had plenty of long walks with the dogs and pub lunches along the way. Sure there are some outbuildings and a store-caravan adjacent to the cottage and also a few chickens but we are in the country after all and this only adds to the attraction for us. We would certainly return to this delightful cottage again. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HaroldEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback of our cottage Courtlands. It was good to see you also visited us on Facebook, Hopefully we will see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Courtlands Cottage which is tucked away at the back of Bonvilles Caravan Park. On arrival we were met by the owner who was very chatty and welcoming and who walked me up to the cottage. As we got there a man (Dave, I believe) was just leaving the cottage and explained one of the light bulbs in kitchen needed replacing & would come back to do (this never happenend but not the end of the world). On first inspection it soon became apparent that the cottage is suffering from damp issues. The downstairs bedroom had rising damp (that had been nicely painted over) and smelt very musty indeed. Also both upstairs bedrooms had the same problem but again had been nicely decorated over. This is not due to a couple of months of exceptionally high rainfall as we have been told by the cottage rental company!! The cottage was also positioned next to a dirty rundown caravan that you dont see in the photo, again didnt cause a problem but was just abit of an eyesore. The cottage has an 'unfinished' feel to it which would explain exposed hanging wires in the porch area hanging from the ceiling, not live we now know, but a horrifying sight when you have small children and nobody bothers to explain. A few niggles were bathroom fan not working, we did mention to owners who came to repair in the evening which wasnt ideal when children were in bed and also one chest of drawers in downstairs bedroom was damp/smelly & bottom fell out (this was on arrival day as we were unpacking) so we carried one from the upstairs bedroom to use and put the damp one in the shed on the request of the owners but it would have been nice to have received a replacement as we were now short on drawers.
These are all the negatives of the cottage, the positives are it has a nice roomy kitchen with a range and the living room was very comfortable. It is in a great location for Saundersfoot and on the whole the Caravan Site is ok with some lovely Static Caravans. As we were in the cottage we only used the Laundry facilities which were ok but again the laundrette was unfinished. Only one more gripe..apart from the day we arrived we never saw the reception open again for the 2 weeks we were there. If you needed anything you had to phone a mobile number that was stuck on the reception door.
Unfortunately we would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Firstly I would like to say that Courtlands does not have a 'damp issue' especially rising damp in all three bedrooms, two of which are upstairs and at different sides of the cottage, they are nicely decorated and we are frequently complimented on our decor. The cottage was last painted November 2011 and I am sure if there was damp then this would have shown through by now. The cottage was inspected by the rental company after your visit and they agreed there was no smells in any of the bedrroms, and were very pleased with the cottage.
The caravan you refer to, is fenced off in the garden next door, and does not encrouch onto Courtlands. However, we have now washed and polished the caravan even though it is just used for storage.
We do not agree that the cottage has an unfinished feel about it, just because there was a socket waiting for a new thermostat for the bathroom underfloor heating, this has been replaced and working well, we had also mentioned to them about leaving the naked wires untaped despite being isolated at the main fuse box.
I have updated our webb site on the 'Testamonials' page with comments that have benn left in our comments book, before and after your stay.
You mentioned that you were visited in the evening to mend the bathroom fan, this was at your request, as you were given the option of leaving it until the next day but yo said it was fine.
The bottom of the drawers hadn't fallen out, it had been over packed, which pushed it off the runners. We took the drawers to re-inforce them, we asked would you like us to replace the chest of drawers, which would have been no problem, but again you said don't worry about it as you had taken the chest drawers from upstairs and that was enough. We didn't tell you to put the chest of drawers in the garage next door, and in doing so, you broke the bottom of the unit and therefore had to replace it.
I am confused by your comments that the laundry room was unfinished, we have had a new commercial washing machine fitted this year, the commercial tumble dryer works well, there is washing-up facilities and an iron and ironing board, the room also has double glazed door and windows.
As for not seeing me in the office, I was there when you arrived, again when you came to tell me about the unit, also your parents popped in to see me a couple of days later. Just because the door is closed, it doesn't mean I am not in the office, I saw you pass several times in your car. I explained to you on arrival that there is a member of staff on the park from 8.00am to 10.00pm during our busiest part of the season. We are always around and it doesn't take a lot to pick up the phone if you can't find anyone, we will always be with you within 2 minutes. Furthermore, if it wasn't for the fact that the cottage is at the edge of a Holiday Park, you wouldn't have any contact with anybody other than the rental company, who would be at the end of a phone call
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I note a prior review which was rather scathing of the site. I'd like to counter this, My family of 5 (in a tent) and friends family of 3 in a caravan stayed on the exact same pitch earlier this year...

Whilst the weather was not with us and we encountered a really rather nasty couple of days of rain and storms we had a fabulous time.

The owners were wonderful, and being close to the house was not a problem at all, indeed our respective children got on fabulously and were roaming freely and safely throughout the site, the couples young lad bestowing the history of this lovely family run historic site to my own children, who were fascinated.

My children and all adults staying were sad to leave and considered even staying on. The site is so convenient for the local beaches for the day time and the owners are fabulously welcoming, and always stopped for a chat and a joke in the evening.

The pitch was wet when it was time to leave but that was't a problem either, we were towed off the pitch in high spirits by the owner with a 4X4 and purpose made tracks, meant we were off the pitch in no time and not leaving any damage.

Its always a shame when it rains, but our break was made all the more comfortable by the welcoming owners and their family,

This site has so much to offer, its location is wonderful, the facilities really clean and modern its safe, and exceptionally welcoming. It's the best stay of the year for my family and our friends and we'll certainly be heading back at the earliest time possible.

i can't recommend this site enough

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibbs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our Park. It is much appreciated, and makes us want to carry on working hard at trying to please our holiday makers, unfortunately no matter how hard we try, unfortunately we cannot please everyone.
I do hope we see you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

save your money and book a camp site catering for touring vans and tents.
toilet block not finished with just one toilet with the option to fit another(needs to be done?)
waste disposal is a toilet in the old toilet block ,not ideal for pouring your waste away!
drainage is non existant leading to very muddy conditions ,there was also a bad smell of seweridge.
pitches at the lower field were poor,and the owners need to put some more money and effort into the touring side of their caravan site.
ideal for static vans,this site could be great for tourers but more input is needed specially when you are paying towards the top end of the scale

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkgrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I am surprised at your comment that we are not set up for tourers and tents. We have many families, tourers and tents, that come back to us year after year. This year, up until the last two weeks in August ,when the heavens opened and did not stop!, we had the best year, with the amount of compliments about the Park and toilet block. We have seasonal tourers that stay with us from between two and fourteen years, and some of these love the Park so much that they buy static caravans with us.
As for the provision of the second toilet in the mens, I did explain to you when we had a chat that we wanted to refurbish the womens for the 2012 season which we managed to get up and running just in time, due to the cubicle system company letting us down There are a few minor jobs to complete, which will be done for the 2013 season, also another toilet in the mens and womens, like I explained to you, we only need one toilet in the mens according to our site licence, but a second will be in for 2013 season. You said you have been to a Park with music in the toilet block, we are looking into this.
Normally the Park dries very quickly within 48hrs of dry weather, unfortunately the end of August it was persistent and torrential, no grass land through the UK was coping with this. This was the worst that we had experienced in the last 15 years.
As for a smell of sewerage, this is a rare occurrence and only when the cesspits need emptying,
this was done when you were at the Park. We have checked the price of touring in our area and we are very competitive, and occasionally cheaper. We did give you discount by not charging you for your awning which you weren't originaly going to put up, which you appeared to appreciate at the time.
I think it is obvious looking at the refurbished toilet block that we have invested a lot of money into it, and we have lots of plans for our Park, unfortunately it all takes time and money, but we are getting there.
We bought a new large commercial washing machine for the laundry room this year to be more eco friendly. This winter we are putting an area in the laundry room to hang wetsuits etc. Also we are putting a new work surface in so that we can put two wash up sinks and drainage instead of one. perhaps if you visit us again you will be impressed with the work done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our stay at Bonvilles was disapointing. There were 15 of us all toghether, in 3 tents, all family. When we arrived we had to phone the owners to meet us as the reception was not manned.
We were shown to our camping pitch after a little confusion about where we were ment to be as when we booked this family holiday we stated our 3 tents should be together and they were intending to seperate our family onto electric and none electric pitches, so we aggreed to all go together on the one pitch at the bottom of the camp site which was already on the muddy side.
The camp site seems to be set up for static caravans rather than campers and tourers and during our stay we saw and spoke to various people that decided to go home early as the site was too muddy and water logged.
Although the owners cannot control the weather we feel that they should invest in a decent drainage system if they are to continue to take bookings for campers.
The walkway to the shower block was very boggy and children and adults alike fell quite a few times and causing some minor bumps and briuses.
The shower block and the laudry area is oviously not finished and there are exposed wires in the mens, although not going to live electric as far as we could make out. There was only one toilet in the mens which was not secured to the floor, the other was completly missing.
As the holiday continued the weather continued to get worse and as a result of this we were continually bailing water out of our tents. The floor got so wet under foot that as we walked on our ground sheets our feet were sinking in the mud. We mentined this to the owners and they offered to move two of the tents but we didnt want to be seperated so stayed where we were. The owners did put down some boards leading to each of our tents so that we were not walking on all the mud. We awoke on many mornings to flooded tents.
We spent the whole holiday tring to stay dry and mud free which we were not succesful at.
The owners themselves were lovely they smiled and chatted in passing and did help a little but unfortatnately the money needs to be spent on improvements for campers.
The owners used a shortcut through a hedge at the back of our tents to get to and from their house, which we feel was unprofesional. Their childrens bikes were constantly being left by the same hedge which was not safe and were nearly triped over several times. The owners and there children used this shortcut on one accasion at 12:30am. They were quite loud and didnt make any attempt to be quieter. This was annoying as our children and most of the adults were asleep.
We have visited various camp sites and have been camping for many years but this camp site is one of the most basic camp sites we have visited.
The sourounding area is nice. The beaches are great, the attractions are good, the towns of Saundersfoot and Tenby are lovely. We would come back to the area but not this site.
Unfortunately, having read some previous reviews from other tenters, this one seems to echo many of the issues that have been raised before and are 'being rectified'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
When your mother phoned on several occasions to enquire about booking I distinctly remember explaining to her that the large tent requiring electric will be on a large pitch of its own and the two tents without electric will be on a separate area, she said you all wanted to be together as it was a family holiday, I told her that we are only a small Park and that you wouldn't be far apart. I remember telling yourself that if there was no one in the office when you arrive just give us a ring and we will be with you in two minutes which we were. You did arrive when we were having lunch. After you insisted that you were all put together. I asked you to look at the pitch to see if it would be ok, It wasn't muddy at this stage, and you were really happy with the pitch. Also, if there was one tent as it should've been, rather than the three tents, then there would not have been a problem at all, BUT then those two tents who didn't pay for electric wouldn't have been able to benefit by using an electrical connection. To which we knew what you were doing, but didn't say anything because of the absolutely appalling weather that you were having to tolerate. We did everything we could to try to help you. As you said, we don't have any control over the weather and no tent is able to withstand the weather that we had. We could not believe that you stuck it out. We had torrential rain on and off for the fortnight, the same as the rest of the country at this time and no drainage would've stood up to it. It is the first time in 15 years that we have had to cancel tourers. The two tourers that you refer to as going early were phoned and told that the ground was becoming soggy due to the horrendous amount of rain, and asked could they view the pitch anyway, and then decided to go home, they were given a full refund. The pitch you were on and the one above are our most favourite pitches with our campers and tourers requesting electricity, we have several families that book in advance every year and request these. The walk-way that you say everyone slipped on is usually dry because it is under trees, but the end of August was unusually wet, so we have now dug a pathway and edged it with wood and mulched it, it looks really smart and hopefully gets rid of any muddy issue. You say everything looks unfinished but then only mention the small wires where a shaver socket is planned we had to sink the wire to get such a smart finish with the new tiles. The toilet is definitely secured to the floor in the mens and if you thought there was a problem, then why didn't you mention it to us we certainly talked everyday. We have made provisions for a second toilet in the mens and a third in the womens, even though we only need to have one in the mens and two in the womens according to our Site Licence (which is on display for all to see). I think our Park is far from basic, we have had many people say it is the best Park they have been to, we have had several tourers come to us for years and then buy static caravans because they love the Park so much. So we can't be doing to much wrong, we are only small, we do all the work ourselves and are constantly working to improve and always have a project on the go. I would like to say how sorry and shocked we are at the loss of your three dogs, which you said had been sent back home, there were rumours around the Park but we didn't believe it until we read it in our local paper. Between the weather and your dogs I am just speechless that you managed to continue your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Holiday Park
Sunnyvale Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Saundersfoot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.9 mi away
Celtic Haven Cottages
Celtic Haven Cottages
#1 of 2 in Lydstep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbourlight Guesthouse
Harbourlight Guesthouse
#4 of 18 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonville's Court Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonville's Court Holiday Park

Property: Bonville's Court Holiday Park
Address: The Ridgeway Valley Road, Saundersfoot SA69 9NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saundersfoot
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bonville's Court Holiday Park Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing