We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic guest house - most probably the best in Saundersfoot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saundersfoot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic guest house - most probably the best in Saundersfoot!”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I have been visiting Saundersfoot since I was young & my parents have now semi-retired here so I've stayed in a number of guest houses in the village. However, none were quite like this!
From the moment you arrive you feel at home, starting with a warm welcome from Michael & Anne who not only showed us to our room (Monkstone), but also let us have a peek at all the other newly refurbished rooms! The views from all the rooms are amazing and the room facilities are very good. The rooms are all a good size.
The communal areas are comfortable and have great views over the bay. The breakfast menu offers lots of choices and there are also cereals & fruit juices available. The portions are very generous - you never leave hungry!
The house is in a great location and is a perfect base for popping into Saundersfoot or exploring further afield. There are plenty of places to eat or have a drink in the village and Michael and Anne have a good idea about the prices and those which offer good value for money!
The website for Cliff House is the best of all the guest houses in Saundersfoot and provides detailed information about the house and Saundersfoot itself - a fantastic first impression! The tarrif is very reasonable, offers good value for money and proces don't rocket up in school holidays!!
A huge thankyou to Michael and Anne who are the perfect hosts - we will definitely be back to visit you soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000Jules000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
136
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

From the moment we rang the doorbell on arrival until the parting wave from hosts Mike and Anne three days later, everything about our stay was perfect. Their attention to detail is superb; the excellent accommodation, the great views, the wide choice of tasty food at breakfast (including hand-made jams and Welsh lavercake bread if desired), even the pleasant choice and volume of music at breakfast-time (well done Mike!). But most of all its Mike and Anne's obvious love of making their guests' visits as enjoyable and memorable as possible which shines through. They will give tips on places to eat, places to visit and anything else needed, but without being in any way obtrusive - the perfect hosts!
Looking forward to our next visit already!
P.S We stayed in the newly refurbished and extended 'Gower Room', now with its own en-suite just like the others and a colour scheme we now want to emulate at home!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinFromDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Great location and we were delighted to be upgraded to a room with a sea view at no extra charge. the room was spacious and everything we needed for a short stay. We were able to buy locally made preserves from a selection on the dresser in the dining room and for breakfast there's a variety of fresh fruit, cereals, juice and traditional Welsh breakfast which set us up for the day. A perfect place really.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowergirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were given a warm welcome and a pot of tea on arrival. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We liked the fact you could sit and look out the bedroom window and soak up the sea views. The visitors lounge and balcony was an added bonus. The owners were very hospitable and flexible, if we wanted to bring back a takeaway and eat in the dining room, it was no trouble. In the morning it was lovely to eat in the dining room and admire the views. Breakfast was unhurried and the food was lovely, set you upp for the day. All in all I couldn't find any fault and will be going back again next year. Saundersfoot itself has a lovely harbour and beach when the tide goes out, and is blessed with a variety of eating establishments. An excellent base to explore Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulbhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

on arriving we were met with a cup of tea and barabrith cake the hosts are very pleasent and i would certainly stay there again,the rooms were spotless and had a brilliant view..perfect guest house

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kevva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The B&B is situated a street away from the beach and because of its elevated location there are great views of the sea, beach and harbour. The proprietors are very welcoming hosts, know the area well and are more than happy to advise you on local places to go and see.
We had a double room with an en-suite toilet and shower. The room was comfotable, clean and tidy with a sea front view.
The breakfast menu was of locally sourced Welsh produce and was cooked to perfection and plentiful.
We had a lovely time here and nothing was too much for our hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbmcorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We saw Cliff House as we drove down into Saundersfoot Harbour and walked back to see if there were any vacancies. We were invited in to view the last room available, a delightful room, clean and fresh as a daisy! We booked in and straight away offered tea and Barabrith (fruit loaf). The bed was comfy and the breakfast delicious. The proprietors Anne & Richard were so freindly and welcoming. If we ever go back there we will certainly book with them again. I have already made a verbal reccommendation to friends but sadly Cliff House was fully booked. Early booking is a must!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.1 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.0 mi away
Harbourlight Guesthouse
Harbourlight Guesthouse
#4 of 17 in Saundersfoot
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Guest House

Property: Cliff House Guest House
Address: Wogan Terrace, Saundersfoot SA69 9HA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff House is a welcoming and very comfortable 4 star Guest House that was built in the 1840’s. The house has panoramic views of Saundersfoot Beach and Harbour, Monkstone Point and across Carmarthen Bay towards the Gower Peninsula. Cliff House is open all year and provides a perfect venue for a holiday or short break - an ideal base from which to explore Pembrokeshire. The Pembrokeshire Coast has recently been voted the best coastal region in Europe (second only to New Zealand in the world!). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff House Guest House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing