We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok !”
Review of Cliff Restaurant

Cliff Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 42 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our Cliff Restaurant and Gallery Bar have the most dramatic views across the bay and harbour that are constantly changing throughout the day. Whether you choose to join us for lunch or dinner, we can assure you that the finest Pembrokeshire produce and locally landed fish will feature on the menu.Our menu changes to ensure we serve the best produce each season has to offer. Head Chef Dan and his team are committed to using fresh ingredients, simply cooked, to make the best use of natural flavours.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

went for group meal ,the restaurant is nice ,tasteful with great views out over the town and bay. staff prompt polite and service was faultless. the meal was ok ,but had faults , the pear and cheese starter nice but lacking in flavour,why not use a local welsh blue cheese a less sweet pear [fresh]. my main dover sole perfectly cooked vegetables turned ,a nice touch,but the fish was in need of a sauce. the deserts all nicely presented and chocolate parfait was excellent but let down by unpleasant sauces. i personally didnt find the price s excessive and would pay more if the the food was just a little better . my only real gripe is, setting breakfast whilst clients are still eating ,maybe quietly away from diners? but setting up a big table fitting in leaves etc is a no no.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 289 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had our first top meal as husband and wife on the Saturday evening seated in front the windows that looks down on Saunderfoot Bay - The staff were attentive, Professional and very friendly. The Food was absolutely amazing - I used to be a chef and consider myself to be a bit of a conniseur of both food and wine ! and not necessarily in that order!! Price was reasonable given the quality of the produce they use. Breakfast was fantastic no chafon!! all cooked to order nice choice of continental bits museli, pain au chocalat etc. Would recommend to anyone who knows and respects good produce and food

Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stbrides-1, Manager at Cliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed our lunch event and hope to see you at the next one! Your kind words have been shared with the team.

Kind Regards
Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

view, food, wine, service, liked it so much we're going back next week for Two nights. very airy and well presented

Thank tentless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stbrides-1, Manager at Cliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Fantastic! Thank you for your great feedback. I am proud of my team and pleased to read that you were so impressed with our restaurant. We strive to maintain high standards and appreciate your kind words.

Kind Regards,
Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had booked two months in advance and requested a window table overlooking the bay. When we arrived we were shown to a table further in the room. I explained what we had requested but was told 'sorry, the window tables are all booked'. After some argument, we were reluctantly given a window table, but it did put a damper on the evening. The location is quite something with views over Saundersfoot harbour and Bay. My wife had butternut squash soup, (although it was a very small bowl!) followed by a beautifully cooked piece of salmon with sweet potato and fresh vegetables. For dessert she had Peach Melba. I started with cod on a bed of mash and spinach - which was lovely - and a main course of beautifuuly cooked fillet beef medallions with vegetables, but with just two small medallions I did feel a little short changed. With my dessert, coffees, a bottle of wine and a small port, the bill was £109.00. What we had was enjoyable, beautifully cooked and presented, but overall fell short of what we had hoped for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gilwernboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stbrides-1, Manager at Cliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of The Cliff Restaurant.

As I am sure you can appreciate, the majority of guests who book to dine with us request to be sat next to the window. As we have only a few tables directly next to the window, the only fair way of allocating these tables is on the evening. The earlier guests book to dine in the evening, the more chance they have of sitting next to the window. Otherwise, we may have the situation where a window table is 'reserved' for 8.30pm in the evening, preventing anyone sitting there early on. Our Reservations team do explain this system over the phone at the time of booking to prevent any disappointment. I am sorry if it was not made clear to you on this occasion.

I am pleased we were able to accommodate your request in the end however and it is great to hear you enjoyed your meals. As a 4 star hotel with an AA Rosette standard Restaurant, we feel our prices accurately reflect the quality of food we present and the high standard of service we provide.

We do hope to see you again soon at The Cliff.

Kind Regards,
Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

As part of our weekend package, we had a dinner provided on the Sunday evening. Our expectation were not overly high (although the hotel was fantastic - see review in hotel section) as hotel restaurants are usually little more than functional. This one was exceptional. The food was very good (especially the fillet steak and the wonderful desserts), we had a great Argentinian Malbec wine and local (Welsh) sparkling mineral water.

Thank JezzieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stbrides-1, Manager at Cliff Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on your dinner at the Cliff. We do indeed use local products as much as possible, and the welsh beef fillet is certainly a favourite of mine too!

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff Restaurant also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Cliff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing