We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice for a big feast”
Review of Kookaba Restaurant

Kookaba Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent choice for a big feast”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

my friends and i booked a large table recently, the service was very efficient and also relaxed. good selection on the menu, especially if you like large portions, and combining items from the menu, eg 'steak & ribs', or 'cajun chicken & kangaroo.' i tried the kangaroo along with various other meats that our table had chosen, and i can say it was the tastiest thing on my plate. only one slight criticism that the prawns on the surf and turf weren't the best as they were the battered ones instead of doing them freshly prepp'd. the chips were really good too. there are massive steaks on offer if you like lovely big chunks of meat
we will definitely be back to try other things on the menu

  • Visited September 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    163
    62
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Andy,s favourite place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we always try to visit at least once on our time away if my fiance had his way we would eat there every night. The service is second to none , the food is out of this world , they don,t need steak knifes as the meat just melts in your mouth. we will go back many times i,m sure. And we recomend it to everyone . we ring our friend back home just to tease him on how good it was.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unmissable experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Having made many trips to Saundersfoot in the last 30 odd years I was surprised not to have found this delicious Australian themed restaurant sooner! Wanting to try something new i opted for 'steak & skippy' and found myself thoroughly enjoying kangaroo without too long of a wait. Portion size was more than I am used to so didn't leave room for dessert but definitely left feeling very full and wanting to return before the end of holiday. However it was fully booked due to popularity. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank 132Lisa-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The wizards of Oz in Saundersfoot”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Kookaba and never hesitate to recommend to visitors to the area.

The 2 Chris's run the eatery to perfection and although not the most salubrious of surroundings, this place is all about excellent food with superb service. A varied menu for a small restaurant is complimented by a more than adequate selection of drinks. However, the Kookaba enjoys its reputation as a result of fine meat (supplied by the owner's father who is a butcher, locally) and a great ambience.

I have never had a less than perfect meal here, from the home made burgers to the minted lamb steak and an array of damn good beef steaks too.

Do yourself a favour and give the Kookaba a try, you'll not be disappointed at the food nor value for money. Book early though, this place is extremely popular!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daydster1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should be on the map!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food promptly served hot and fresh. Large amount of dishes on the menu. Fantastic desserts. Very hospitable, friendly staff. Must book; always busy on weekends. Large portions with chips. Great atmosphere; would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHappy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kookaba Restaurant also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Kookaba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing