We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality and appeal for all”
Review of Beachside Barbecue

Beachside Barbecue
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Beachside Barbecue opened in May 2016 as a new concept for Saundersfoot. Located by Saundersfoot harbour, overlooking the beach. We're all about Brisket, Ribs, Chicken and Fish. Featuring melt in the mouth, "low and slow" authentic barbecue cooked in our Hard Wood Pit Smoker (all the way from the USA) and a Lump Wood Charcoal Oven. Taking reservations or walk ins we look forward to welcoming you to Beachside Barbecue.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and appeal for all”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just had lunch with family including parents. beautiful view on a lovely day Parents had the fish and chips which they said was the best they had in years. I had the seafood tagliatelle which was lovely. husband had the kedgeree which again was great. Yes it's not cheap but the quality was excellent, the service was good and the location - outstanding

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClairDexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    245
    105
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Been back many times over the years. Food always fresh. Recommend booking at weekends and during peak summer season.
Reasonably priced, good wines. Lots of specials and catches of the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahd757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not as good as it once was!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We are part time residential in Saundersfoot, and at first about 2 years ago we used the Mermaid quite often, especially enjoying the mussels served in the steamer kettles! The views from the window seats are magnificent, and unlike other posters I have never seen dirty loos there! However, one day my husband said these mussels aren't fresh, (he's a bit of a stickler for fresh seafood) so we didn't go again. This weekend we decided to try it again, asked if the mussels were fresh....no they're vacuum packed! In a seafood restaurant in a seaside town, you expect fresh seafood, but nevertheless husband ordered mackerel instead, the price was pretty hefty so he expected whole mackerel.....no, just one rather small fillet! They practically chuck mackerel off the fishing boats in Tenby, it's the cheapest you can buy....so why silly prices for a tiny fillet? I'd like to see some responses on here from Mermaid's management!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynjaneWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the views from the restaurant and we really appreciate you returning to us after a couple of years.

We do serve fresh fish and display the daily catches on our blackboards within the restaurant. We cannot guarantee a consistent supply of fresh local shellfish and so do not describe our mussels as ‘fresh’ on the menu.

Had you brought your concerns regarding the size of your husband’s mackerel dish to our attention during your visit we would have happily exchanged it. It is difficult to rectify disappointment in the public domain of Trip Advisor and would encourage our guests to feedback any concerns at the time to give us the opportunity to resolve them at the time.

Due to legal requirements, as a restaurant we can only purchase our fish from a licensed fisherman as the fish have to be sustainable and of a legal size. The tripping boats you mention cannot supply the restaurant trade without a commercial fishing license.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Mermaid again in the future.

Sarah Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delusions of granduer.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Never as a diner have I felt as if I were a replacable commodity. The food was average; prices were overly ambitious. Staff only attentive when they saw our glasses were empty or when we asked for the bill (in my opinion 'chatting us up' so that we would leave a tip). Toilets were grim, they did not tally with the high standards of the dining room. No loo roll; staff too busy to replace the loo roll - but not too busy to gossip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PandoraPistis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is in a great location overlooking the beach and the interior is nicely done - for this, it seems, you pay a premium.
The prices were very high and the standard of the food was pretty low. All 3 of us had seriously overlooked chips with our meals and waited quite a long time for our meal (despite there being only one other table occupied at the time we ordered). The only ingredient I could taste in the homemade burger was whole grain mustard and at nearly £7 for a child's sausage and chips we expected a proper butcher's sausage but got a bog standard chippy one that was hard. My partner enjoyed the beer battered haddock, but overall we felt it was poor quality and not good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pozzle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachside Barbecue also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Beachside Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing