We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and cosy place to eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Barbecue

Beachside Barbecue
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Beachside Barbecue opened in May 2016 as a new concept for Saundersfoot. Located by Saundersfoot harbour, overlooking the beach. We're all about Brisket, Ribs, Chicken and Fish. Featuring melt in the mouth, "low and slow" authentic barbecue cooked in our Hard Wood Pit Smoker (all the way from the USA) and a Lump Wood Charcoal Oven. Taking reservations or walk ins we look forward to welcoming you to Beachside Barbecue.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and cosy place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

we only stopped by and had dinner during our short stay locally

The food was way above what we would have expected!
I ordered baby-rib and gosh... I never had a better rib than that (and mind you, I do eat out and try out different places). Excellent!

I love the small boxes seats. Love the sea view windows.
Service was lovely, attentive enough but never rush us between ordering food or courses.
If it wasnt so far out, I would love to come back and try other dishes on their menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anniedang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    224
    91
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Above average for Families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Reading previous reviews after we visited this restaurant was surprising as we had a totally different experience. With four adult and two tiered an overactive children, we were delighted with the way that the staff coped with our competing demands and their handling of the wandering kids was excellent and undertaken in good humour.

At all times the staff were efficient and displayed a good sense of humour.

The food was also well above average, the sardines, sea bass and salmon were all fresh and well prepared.

Our overall impression was positive and we would be happy to recommend this place. We were at a loss to understand some of the more negative reviews, but I suppose there could well be a seasonal fluctuation in service levels.

Helpful?
Thank alundj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you and your family had a great time and your comments have been passed onto all the team.

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards,
Sarah Hughes
Manager of The Marina and The Mermaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glorified fish and chip shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Location was great, but food disappointing considering it is a sister restaurant to the St Brides Spa Hotel up the road. chose Seafood platter and although tasty and good portions some of the selections were dry.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our location.

It is disappointing to read that you were so unhappy with your dining experience at The Mermaid. Had you of mentioned your displeasure at the time, we would have done our utmost to rectify this immediately. We are indeed owned by the same people as St Brides Spa Hotel and maintaining a high standard is as important to us as our colleagues in the hotel. However, we do offer more of a family orientated dining experience.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Hughes
Manager of The Marina and The Mermaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishermans Platter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fishermans Platter is excellent. Can recommend to any seafood lover. Children enjoyed and will visit again soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EdensDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your meal with us. I will pass your comments onto the team and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many thanks,
Sarah Hughes
Manager of The Marina and The Mermaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great views but that's it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had breakfast here. Very unfriendly staff, slow service. Very average food. But the lovely morning sunny sea view was worth it

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LandDEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StBrides, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt our team were unfriendly towards you at breakfast. We have a great team who are trained to deliver a high level of service at all times and so as a result of your comments, extra training has been implemented where necessary to ensure no visitors are ever made to feel unwelcome again.

We are a small, independently owned and family run business which is why providing a warm welcome to all our guests is paramount. We would love the opportunity to demonstrate our usual high levels of service and so hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Hughes
Manager of The Marina and The Mermaid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachside Barbecue also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Beachside Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing