We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay.”
Review of Malin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malin House
Ranked #7 of 17 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good place to stay.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 1 day here last weekend.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Jan and Chris. As my mother is stick disabled we were offered a room on the ground floor which over looked the beautiful gardens out the back. We were given complementary tea on arrival which we drank outside on the patio area over looking the grounds.
The room was clean and spacious and had a fridge (great for cooling the wine). The bathroom was adequate. Guests are free to use the lounges, conservatories, indoor pool and garden (which caters for children and adults).
We paid an additional £8 each for breakfast which was lovely (and they know how to cook a soft fried egg to perfection!!).
If you want the starched, photo copy hotel this is not for you, but if you want a warm homely feel where children are welcome this is the place to stay and there's plenty free parking too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ohappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    50
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
92
55
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at Malin House Hotel for three nights as a solo traveller (room only option). The hotel sits at the top of the hill overlooking Saundersfoot harbour, and I had Room 10 on the second floor - a cosy attic room with a great view out over the harbour. You can catch some beautiful sunsets from the window of this room.

The hotel seems to be very popular with families, so if you're a light sleeper, don't expect any lie-ins. The walls are not very soundproof, and I could hear my neighbours talking or watching TV. It wasn't really a problem for me, but if you're sensitive to sound it might be a good idea to bring ear plugs.

The room was comfortable and tidy, with a fridge, kettle and TV. The bathroom is OK - a bit of mould around the shower cubicle and not much water pressure, but for the price it was perfectly fine.

It is a short walk from the hotel down to the village, with lovely views along the way. Staff can advice on good places to eat, and the tourist information in the village is very helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anglabarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I review based on expectations, and based on what I expected of Malin House and in this price range I am quite happy to give 5 Stars. If your going expecting a 5 Star Ritz hotel you won't get it, but if you want a reasonably priced, well run BB in a good location with spacious rooms, extremely family friendly and with some great 'extras' thrown in this is it.
We had a 4 night stay in a family suite which was very roomy - the kids had a room with twin beds, a dining area and a kitchenette (sink, fridge, microwave, kettle, implements, etc), we had an adjoining room with double bed and the bathroom. both had TV's and the beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean and light and not hot or stuffy. Just up the hill from town but its just as easy to jump in the car and there are countless great attractions within a few miles. Nice garden for the very young ones.
We used the pool a lot which isn't so small when you're in it, very warm, bath like! (could do with more ventilation in there, the Chlorine fumes were a bit strong for me, taking goggles next time). The hottub was also popular.
The hotel has plenty of lounge areas and car parking was never a problem as it goes around the building and then some, those with bigger vehicles may need to manoeuvre a bit. Breakfast was great, although seemed to curiously vary slightly in content daily, no matter all done to order and as requested. The girls serving were lovely and bright. Wifi is available but in a small area, the code is on the wall at reception.
If your the sort of family that likes to fill up on a good breakfast, make a quick cool bag picnic lunch to take (in your well equipped kitchenette!, buy stuff from Spa in town) and head off for a day of activity or beach, then come back and head out for a meal and a drink in the evening on foot this is the perfect base, yes it is a bit dated in few places and odd few things have maybe seen better days but nothing that detracts from the hotels fulfilling this function perfectly. Would stay again, absolutely.

My tip is go around to Amroth Beach (10-15 minutes), its not overcrowded, free car park in village, plenty of amenities, toilets by beach. Has boulder/pebble dunes with good stretch of sand to the sea, easy access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Ann_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Myself and my husband really enjoyed our honeymoon last year at malin so we decided to go there again this year for our 1st wedding anniversary and wasn't disappointed. we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome from Jan and Chris, and was offered coffee as soon as we arrived.
myself and my husband would and have recommended the malin to friends as it is a great place with lovely people.....every evening we would sit in the conservatory and have drinks with both jan an chris and there daughter Lucy.......Lucy was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble such a lovely girl she melted my heart once again!!! we both cant wait to go back there as we wouldn't stay anywhere else, its like home from home. we enjoyed using the pool, the hot tub and relaxing in the lounges.
malin house is a lovely place, very quirky and very family orientated. it is a well run establishment and you can tell everyone works as a team.....at breakfast time the waitresses kayleigh and (cant remember the other girls name sorry) were both very attentive and nothing was to much. so overall a fantastic holiday, we will both be going back again very very soon .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVYN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Only stayed for one night but had a lovely time. The owners and son were very welcoming, pot of tea on arrival is a lovely touch. It is very quirky with lots of family photos and knickknacks in the lounges. It has great facilities with indoor pool, outdoor hot tub and lots of outdoor equipment for little ones. As they do not have a licence you are free to take your own drinks in the communal areas which makes for a friendly meeting place. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we have stayed many times just having bed and not breakfast but service is always good with offer of tea or coffee on arrival, the only thing is the walk up the hill after an evening out ha ha. its clean and value for money and pool is perfect if its too wet to go out. just beware the steps are slippery . Liz and Andy Preece

Room Tip: over looking garden on either 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

10 of us have just had a great little break here and will definitely be returning. From the welcome on arrival to the relaxed atmosphere it couldn't have been better. Staff were accommodating to our needs and very tolerating of all of our children - this is the perfect place to take them. The rooms were of a good size and well set up with everything we needed - the fridge and microwave was a definite added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lichfieldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.0 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin House

Property: Malin House
Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Malin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Saundersfoot
Malin House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing