We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely helpful staff, hotel frayed around the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a family wedding , over a friday and saturday night !
The hotel staff were overall friendly, helpful and always eager to please, nothing was too much trouble. However the fabric of the building itself was showing its age and was looking weatherworn in places. The pool/sauna/fitness area was the prime example of this, the changing rooms looked shoddy and dirty, with a hole in the ceiling. Bottles of chemicals were sitting around, the walls showed signs of mould, inside, and rot outside. In several places the carpets had holes, door handles were bent and broken. Our room itself was generally in good repair but was minimalistic ally furnished and tea coffee etc was not replenished on the second day!
The standard of the food in the restaurant was very high in the evening, the service was excellent as well, and good at breakfast which was a pretty standard buffet!
Noise was an issue on the saturday evening as there were 2 functions going on, neither of which I was informed of when booking only a short time before. Whilst I would still have stayed I would have asked for a room away from the hotel entrance where people congregated to smoke and wait for their taxis.
The 3 certificates behind reception sum up that the hotel is capable of, they are 3 awards but, sadly, all dating from 10 years ago !

Room Tip: check for functions taking place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 300 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

After reading some of the earlier reviews I was a little concerned I wanted to book just one night near the Brecon Beacons to have a break with my grown up family. We were able to explore the area and visit the Brecon railway we were then pleased to find that the hotel was only 30 minutes away from the area we had been exploring. Arrived mid afternoon during a quiet spell and took a little while to book in due to staff having other jobs to attend to but staff were friendly and helpful. Booked for an evening meal and what a delight, there were five adults so we had plenty of chance to sample a wide range from the menu and everything we had was well prepared reasonable priced and plentiful. Well done to the kitchen an excellent meal much enjoyed by all of us.

Room Tip: We did not use the spa so can not in fairness comment but it did look very inviting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stopped here for coffee and ended up having some lunch. Salmon with new potatoes and greens with lemon butter was really delicious and good value for money - I think it was £6.95. The tuna and cucumber sandwiches were enough for two of us as they were double decker served with crisps and dressed salad garnish. A latte was only £1.95 and piping hot. The entire bill for the meal, sandwiches and 3 lattes was a little over £18. We ate informally in the bar lounge in big easy chairs. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

WE STAY HERE A FEW TIMES A YEAR AS ITS CONVEINIANT WHEN VISITING relatives, It needs a good make over but for a 3* its OK for what you get, don't there apart from breakfast, which is OK, I always feel as does my wife it needs a good manager who is allowed to manage.
We would like to find an alternative but...................

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgbclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed for one night. The room was quite big, but the chairs in the room were uncomfortable. The window was in the skylight and there was a rod to use to open and close the window and also to open and close the blind covering the window. The rail by the window looked rusty. The hotel could do with being redecorated. There is no lift in this hotel. Staff were friendly but drinks and food grossly overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This used to be much better but has been neglected now for several years.. It is a pity really because it should be top rate.. Needs new decor and furnishings in bar and toilets.. Reception is like fawlty towers to look at.. Bar area dead but still should be open till eleven.. Got back half ten and had to get a drink booked to room as till had been cashed up!! Only terrestrial TV in rooms..
All in all a reasonable stay but should be twenty pounds cheaper due to all the above points!

Room Tip: Ring premier Inn at Llantrisant.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoty358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We came here for a wedding, staying overnight at the venue. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The venue itself was really good and it was all round a very pleasant stay. Breakfast was really good!

Our room was on the ground floor and, although near the road was not as noisy as I might have expected. Only downside - it was a very hot weekend, the room was a bit stuffy and it would have been helpful to have had some form of air conditioning in the rooms - or even fans available!

Otherwise a very nice hotel and I would come back again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrizia51016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
4.1 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
434 reviews
3.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
161 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
11.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
11.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Park Hotel

Address: Coedcae Road | Trehafod, Pontypridd CF37 2NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range: $66 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the beginning of the famous and beautiful Rhondda Fawr and Fach Valleys and only a few miles from the town centre of Pontypridd, our Hotel is an ideal base, whether it be Business or Pleasure we are centrally located. The local Train Station Trehafod will provide links to Cardiff and Swansea whilst by car we are only 20 minutes from The Brecon Beacons National Park. We offer all of our guests Free WIFI, Free Car parking and Free use of our Pulse Fitness Centre, with a Pool, Steam-room and Gym, Lounge Bar offering Beers, Wines & Spirits. The Loft Restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner or for a more casual meal try our "Home from Home" dishes in our Lounge Bar. Our Management team who, together with the staff, constantly strive to ensure that guests are made to feel comfortable during their visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Park Pontypridd
Heritage Park Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing