We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To be avoided at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritage Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“To be avoided at all costs”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This has to be one .of the worst hotels I have stayed in and most certainly does not come up to 3star standards.
The big positive was the pleasant staff BUT they clearly lacked training and at times the reception was left empty as well as the bar - extremely frustrating when you are waiting to get served.
The beds were too small and the general decor was extremely tired looking.
A lot of TLC required in this establishment to bring it anywhere near close to 3 star.
The mystery for all to solve was the presence of a generator for the electricity needs and the fact that we had to experience several power cuts during our stay which did reinforce our view of the lack of attention given to customer service.
In my opinion the owners should be investing in this hotel as potentially it has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: You take your chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redarmy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    75
    77
    47
    41
See reviews for
77
90
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

this was a friendly hotel. Hotel room was a decent size and very good value for budget. The meals were well cooked and an interesting menu, good variety. Everyone was helpful. the pool was small but adequate. breakfast was excellent and all you could eat help yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive before our stay having read some very negative reviews on Trip Advisor for this hotel so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. There were 8 in our party and we had all been given rooms next to each other which was a bonus and often doesn't happen despite our requests. One of the rooms was noisy as it was near the generator and the receptionist was most helpful and moved our friends to another room. The rooms were really spacious with plenty of tea and coffe and biscuits which were all replaced the next day. Also a bottle of water which was a nice touch. The decoration and furnishings were pleasant with everything matching and the bathroom was lovely with a bath and a really good shower. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was delicious and a very varied menu. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is no grand hotel but the service was amazing and nothing was trouble for the staff. The staff remembered us each day. The food was absolutely out of this world. I will always stay here if I come to this area again which is likely, both my husband and I feel the same. It is really amazing here with an amazing team. Everyone of them. Thank you so much. The beds are super comfy and I never feel that as I have back troubles. Thank you all xx

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmurphy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a deal with kgb to take friends for a birthday gift on arriving the hotel looked warm and welcoming bar area looked particularly nice ,receptionist was friendly and gave us our room keys and also 4 tickets as we had booked a table to dine we would recieve free wine with 3 course meal the 4 tickets stated a bottle of wine per person .we went to bedrooms to unpack rooms were average clean nothing special ,we have travelled the world staying in 5 star establishments so for what we paid ok a good deal .we certainly would not have been happy to pay hotel price of 113.00 also same price on web or single 99.00!!!!!!!!!!! 39.00 i think was ok for our deal .the hotel is in need of refurb .carpets in corridors badly stained cracks in bedroom walls sign of movement ?possibly due to mining area.hotel stands on ??we entered pool area it had seen better days steps down to pool grubby badly marked and edge of pool same tired plastic furniture hot tub wasnt !!! it was as cold as pool .so on entering shower areas changing rooms also grubby in appearance as shower cubicles had no soap /s gel dispensers meaning we would need to go to wash basin to get some back and forth decided to not bother and go to bedroom for shower .in majority of establishments always shampoo dispensers within showers .we came down for evening meal .buying beer at bar area and using a voucher for a bottle wine .we then enter loft restaurant we sat down waiter came to us he straight away questioned if we had wine at bar .we porused menu and chose starters as there wasnt a great choice our friends chose theirs averaging about 4.00 each we then chose tapas /breads etc nearly 8.00 assuming it would be for 2 persons .not so according to waiter he said youve only ordered 3 starters in order to get wine free is where i think he was coming from !!.we said we thought reflecting price it was for two people he replied chef says it for 1 person ok well.we will order to normal size ones then i replied .as i think 8.00 is expensive for 1 person .he then walked away so at that point i was unsure if it was ok to keep to this starter ?or give new choices ,a waitress appeared and we had nearly finished our white wine we had at bar for pre dinner drink so requested another providing a voucher for it .the turkish male waiter questioned it as he had served a bottle of red on a voucher so this was 3rd bottle of 4 vouchers saying we could not have them and he then went and got manager .she was very challenging and couldnt seem to comprehend that in all of this it was their error and theirs alone we were made to feel as if we had done something wrong we were guests at the hotel and it was ruined by their attitude .i felt so annoyed as we were bringing them business to a very quiet restaurant apart from a few tables filled and had all this fuss ,i threatened the woman manager with a trip advisor report .she walked away .waiters final conversation was i have to charge you for wine !! i said we could have drank wine in bar area and he would not have known if we were devious .he replied we would have i said actually no as room 106 was on 2 coupons wrong room nos !!! i requested paying bill on leaving restaurant as was not wanting it on check out in case of discrepencies !!! he started asking what myself and husband had ate he then charged us for 2 meals i paid walked away to join friends realising bill was not for 4 so i returned and paid rest of bill how utterley rediculous i said to him .why would we ask for bill and only pay half bill should have been presented to us wholly at table unless we stated different .manager had no empathy skills i stated to waiter customer care skills were not used this evening and have ruined our evening the 3 bottle at 12.95 was charged to me i paid 92.00 for a very dissapointing evening .they had no regard for us whatsoever .breakfast was nice good choice pity about picture above table full of dust !!!!!!!!!! will never return waiter and manager language barrier prevented them understanding totally missed the point .was going to consider wedding there no thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Got a deal with KGB deals, so quite cheap. This is mainly a wedding reception hotel, so could be noisy if the reception is noisy - there was one on the Saturday night but no problems & well behaved. Food was surprisingly good both evening meals and breakfasts. Service friendly and got things right. There was a nice spa with a good size pool, steam rooms & a little gym. Rooms ok - a little tired and with noisy fans in the bathrooms. Good strong free wifi. There is just about nothing to do in Trehafod and nearby Porth - nice climb up nearby hills & the mining museum, but it is a short drive to Cardiff or the Brecon Beacons National Park. We got a train from the nearby station into Pontypridd on Saturday night - just 5 minutes - & found a great steak restaurant called Alfreds - pick your own meat & they barbeque it for you - was much better than it sounds! We enjoyed this place a lot more than we thought we would!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baglan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for one night Saturday night on a KGB deal. We had a nice weekend - but would have been disapointed had I paid full price. The staff were brilliant, polite and happy to help - never saw a glum face. The spa and pool area was lovely and we spent a relaxing 2 hours there. The rooms were - OK... Lovely and warm, lots of hot water and a huge TV - Sufficient to our needs and for the rate we paid. BUT a little TLC would easily solve this. Dinner in the restaurant was awful and we wish we had ate out. Overall though I would rate my stay as very good because we did have a lovely stay at a very agreeable rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryllhanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
4.2 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
393 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
3.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
8.7 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
540 reviews
14.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Park Hotel

Property: Heritage Park Hotel
Address: Coedcae Road | Trehafod, Pontypridd CF37 2NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the beginning of the famous and beautiful Rhondda Fawr and Fach Valleys and only a few miles from the town centre of Pontypridd, our Hotel is an ideal base, whether it be Business or Pleasure we are centrally located. The local Train Station Trehafod will provide links to Cardiff and Swansea whilst by car we are only 20 minutes from The Brecon Beacons National Park. We offer all of our guests Free WIFI, Free Car parking and Free use of our Pulse Fitness Centre, with a Pool, Steam-room and Gym, Lounge Bar offering Beers, Wines & Spirits. The Loft Restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner or for a more casual meal try our "Home from Home" dishes in our Lounge Bar. Our Management team who, together with the staff, constantly strive to ensure that guests are made to feel comfortable during their visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Heritage Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Park Pontypridd
Heritage Park Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing