We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent overall experience but better cleaner needed”
Review of Blueberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blueberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent overall experience but better cleaner needed”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here from the 2nd till the 6th of April. We arrived and the young girl on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Although the room i booked for £69 a night had been advertised as b&b on booking.com she informed me that breakfast was not included and it would be an extra £7 per person to include it. I wasnt too bothered as we didn't get up till after breakfast was over anyways also weatherspoons was just around the corner who does a full English for less than £3.
We were given room 9 on the top floor and directed to the lift which was broken for our entire stay so we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs about 3-4 times a day our entire stay. Good job i had started the gym again is all i can say! Probably came back from here having lost a dress size so no complaints! Haha
The room was very nice, white theme throughout. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath and shower. I thought the spotlights around the bath to be a lovely touch and enjoyed an hour long soak in that tub! Plenty of tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer that actually was powerful enough to dry your hair, plenty of plugs, light above the bedroom mirror so applying make up and doing hair was easy. Slopped rafter ceilings adding a lovely feel to the room and lovely sloping windows letting in plenty of light. All in all a very attractive room.
The down sides however was the cleanliness. Tea has been spilt down the wall next to the bed before we arrived and the stains were still present. The bottom of the window was black mouldy from the moisture around the window and the top of the handle was marked. The wall on my partners bed side had a large dent in it and the paint had peeled from it. Tea stained tea pot had been providws, quarter roll of toilet paper provided and wasnt presented well, looked like what you might have in your bathroom at hone with it teared up. Grouting around and in shower and tiles waa black filthy in some places, window right above bath also black with mould due to moisture and a huge cobweb stretching from the top of the sink mirror to the shower. The maid also didnt replenish towels for 3 days so we needed to request them from reception and didnt fully replenish the tea and coffee facilities so my partner had to make do with brown sugar for two days.
I think most of the above could be easily sorted with maybe a thorough clean once a week when guests change to keep on top of the moisture situation. I must stress this wasnt damp it was purely because of a build up of condensation due to welsh weather!
Over all we had a great stay with very friendly staff. We had a lovely holiday therefore we were not too bothered with the few problems we did find.
Thank you to the very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaLynne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
59
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stow Maries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in February for one night. The room was quite nice, lovely comfy beds and linen. The couple of things which let it down were the toilet paper and tea/coffee.
The toilet paper was of the type you would expect to find in a public toilet, I have never come across this in other hotels that we've stayed at. The complimentary tea/coffee was dreadful. I couldn't wait to find a Costa for a decent start to the day!
We are staying here again in June, I will be bringing my own toilet paper, coffee and milk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I can only give this place a recommended review because it is stunning, the staff are amazing and the food is great!!! The complaints people have made about loud music and noise in the street is to be expected! It states on their website and booking sites it is located in the centre of a busy town and close to nightclubs and even gives you the days it will be noisiest! Personally I didn't here street noise and we had roadworks right outside!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CraftyMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and i were guests at a private 50th birthday party, The party was held in the upstairs function room / night club ,Although we enjoyed the party due to the occasion and meeting old friends we were very disappointed with the venue and especially the DJ s who were totally out of touch with the musical era of most of the party goers,and were to involved with texting on their mobile phones to care, we put up with the constant banging and thumping of the music for a while but eventually found it unbearable and along with other guests we left. My advice to any future party planners is to book the function room but don't book the two useless DJs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

As the only place to stay in central Ponty for a business traveller I have now stayed here twice. Experienced a very noisy extractor fan when staying in Room 1 one time and was very cold overnight with no apparent heating at all this last time. The evening food was OK but breakfast was only average with everything "just cooked" - pale colour on bacon and hash brown and uncooked whites on egg.
For me, listening to piped/Christmas music at 7am is not a good idea as well as peering at my breakfast in a very gloomy and poorly lit environment.
However, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are of a good standard of decor, beds are comfy and it is pretty good value for money.

Room Tip: Don't have single room No.1 - kitchen extractor fan right outside window - didn't switch off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was booked into the Blueberry Hotel on a business trip - it looked reasonable from the early reviews but, having now stayed there, it does have some not-so-great features. The room I occupied was very modern and well-appointed (Don't bother using the lift - it's quicker on the stairs). To get to the hotel you effectively have to walk through the bar to the back end - all rather strange and quirky.

The food was OK but nothing special and nothing too great. Breakfasts were fine. I guess with little choice of a hotel in Pontypridd then this is about as good as you will get.

Room Tip: As far from the bar as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Cant believe i live so near and hadn't been there before. Decided to go for lunch one day and was not disappointed, Decor was really nice, food first class, prices very good as well, so will be using the Blueberry Inn on frequent occasions. Very nice.
S Phillips.

Room Tip: didn't stay there but the food was lovely, all very inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selina429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
3.0 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blueberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Inn

Property: Blueberry Inn
Address: 6-8 Market Street, Pontypridd CF37 2ST, Wales (Formerly Blueberry Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blueberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blueberry Inn is a unique hotel located in the centre of Pontypridd, South Wales. Owned by the Pontypridd Market Company and formerly known as the Market Tavern, this 5 storey building underwent a drastic overhaul, with refurishments taking up to two years for completion. The Blueberry Inn had a grand re-opening in December 2008 which did not disappoint, worth waiting two years for the Blueberry Inn shocked and amazed with its dramatic makeover, what was once the Market Tavern seemed completely unrecognisible with many finding it hard to believe it was the same building. The Blueberry will blow you away with it's attention to detail and design. All the rooms are fully equipped with all the mod cons and have all the comfort's you would expect from a top end hotel. The building itself is host to a superb bar and restaurant serving a variety of exquisite cuisine, with breakfast available from 7am, lunch specials from 12pm and a la carte from 6pm. Also host to two exceptional function rooms, on the first floor, the kalma lounge, a boudair themed function room that has played host to a variety of events from wedding receptions to charity nights. Down in the basement you will find the Glo bar, the smallest of the two, this ice themed room with built in wall water features is a real favourite for childrens parties. On the whole the Blueberry Inn is a real gem in the heart of the Valleys and worth a visit for whatever the occasion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blueberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blueberry Inn Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing