We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central House Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Pontypridd B&B and Inns
Bagdad, Shabeellaha Hoose, Somalia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I have just arrived back after a lovely stay in this wonderful guest house.This is the third time I have stayed here and would not stay anywhere else in cardiff.John and Denise are lovely people and make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble.The rooms are clean and comfortable and feel homely.The standard of the breakfast was exceptional and you wont go hungry.I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone. A truly pleasureable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
5
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay was tidy and comfortable. Brilliant and friendly service that went above and beyond to help me out. I had a king single with en suite which was reasonable size for a single. Would happily recommend for a casual stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After a flight Berlin - Bristol and then a drive to Pontypridd in horrible conditions we were greeted with a warm smile from John and then shown to our ever warmer rooms. Clean and comfortable with a nice breakfast except for the Welsh seaweed. Thanks John and Denise and so glad you won the 6 Nations on the weekend.

Room Tip: My single room was great. First floor at the very end of the hall way over looking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John_B1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Central Guest House five times within the year while attending a university course. Each time I was greeted by John and Denise as if we were long lost friends. Nothing was too much trouble, lifts to/from university and the station were never a problem. The rooms were always clean and comfortable. As a group of 4/5 ladies on the same course, we liked the fact that we could use the communal room to watch television or eat a take-away, it was more like home! The breakfasts were made to order with plenty of choice for event the most fussy of eaters! If i was ever back in the Treforest area I would definitely stay here again, the hospitality was second to none. A car is essential as the hill is something to be believed, steep is an understatement....good views though!! This is the ideal base for anyone going to the university and only a short train ride away from Cardiff City centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay on business. Very friendly and helpful hosts, also much appreciated lift to and from railway station. Rooms very clean and nicely appointed though would prefer tv in room rather than communal lounge. Excellent breakfast. Lovely views from all windows. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I don't often travel alone so this was my first venture in to the world of the single room.
I received a warm welcome from the owner on my arrival at around 9.00pm. After signing in I was given a guided tour and shown to my room which was nice because you don't always get the tour.
My first impression was the temperature of the whole building was far too warm for me and I had to check the rads weren't on in my room! After unpacking for my 1 and only night and hanging my suite in a small "wardrobe" behind the mirror I decided to venture in to town for some refreshments. Getting in to town on foot is very easy as it's all down a very very....very steep hill! I could have used an Iron lung though after getting back. I would advise using a car if your going to do this more than once. I arrived back with my food and following the rules, decided to eat in the communal TV room. In there a couple sat in their dressing gowns watching tv whilst I tried to eat my dinner quietly. Not a comfortable situation.
I wasn't too keen on this tv/tea & coffee room and for a 4 star guest house I would expect a TV and tea/coffee in my room. The complimentary washing sachets made me smile and harked back to the 1970's. The shower cubicle was too small for me at 600mm x 600mm.
I had to sleep with the window wide open to stop me sweating in bed it was that hot in my room.
Nice breakfast with plenty of choice including Lava Bread (seaweed).
Would I use again? No

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyjoyceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst at university Glyntaff. Greeted with a lovely warm welcome from the hosts. Good facilities and excellent cooked breakfast. Very knowledgeable about the area.Communal room had good tea and coffee making facilities, tv, dvds,magazines and books. I had a double room en suite and it was very clean. The owners work really hard to cater for your needs. Would highly recommend it. Will be returning in June.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweep94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
2.8 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
278 reviews
3.3 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
404 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
148 reviews
6.3 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
2,253 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central House Guest House

Property: Central House Guest House
Address: Central House Stow Hill | Treforest, Pontypridd CF37 1RZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Pontypridd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Central House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central House Guest House Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing