We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience The Old Town Jail
from $9.52
More Info
from $12.70
More Info
from $57.14
More Info
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
353
87
23
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
353
87
23
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews observation tower tour guide was great fun experience excellent attraction surrounding area great fun excellent visit really enjoyed our visit ghost walk great place to visit wallace monument dolls acting characters prisoners roles performance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good tour is quite fast tho. Has a bit to look out from at the top with stunning views of surrounding area

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Matthew199390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was not just a visit to an old building. The staff acted out the history of the facility in an entertaining and knowledgeable format. The director of the project also gave a great deal of information about the surrounding landscape as the view from the roof is really good. This gentleman also takes visitors in the evening on a splendid Ghost Walk.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ventured here late on a rainy afternoon not expecting too much but we had an amazing time. The staff were friendly, informative, genuine and very entertaining. The building is incredible and the part it plays in social history is really thought provoking. We had 5 young children with us and we were all thoroughly entertained. Would definitely recommend a visit. We will be returning for a ghost tour soon.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank WallaceFamilyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had read about this tour in a visitors guide and wasn't disappointed. Very reasonable price. The guide was absolutely excellent and a wonderful actor. He changed characters to suit the period being covered and parts of the jail being seen whether a governor, prisoner, etc and was so knowledgeable. Well worth a visit and I would definitely return.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank bobbinalong495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpenPassScotland, Manager at The Old Town Jail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a fantastic review! We’re so glad that you enjoyed your tour and that it met your high expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that you’ll enjoy it even more the second time round!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited The Old Town Jail with my husband and two grandsons. The visit was enjoyed by all, the tour guides were well informed and amusing.They were happy to answer any questions.

Date of experience: August 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank T2010FIjeanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpenPassScotland, Manager at The Old Town Jail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Here at The Old Town Jail we take pride in our excellent customer service, and our guides certainly appreciate when visitors enjoy their experience. We hope to see you and your grandsons back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great fun and informative visit to the jail a real family educational visit. Recommended for everyone could be a little scary for younger children.

Date of experience: August 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank karenwidmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpenPassScotland, Manager at The Old Town Jail, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for such a great review! As an educational attraction, we try to make our tours enjoyable for the whole family. We’ve had many families that have thoroughly enjoyed the attraction and so we’re very glad that you and your family also loved the experience! We hope to see you sometime again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews