We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many cushions!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auchyle Guest House
Ranked #27 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel's location is a bit off putting, it being on a busy road, out of town. Our ground floor room faced the road, and looked south. There were vertical blinds and thin cotton curtains which failed to keep out the summer sun. ( it rarely gets dark in Scotland in the summer) so we had great difficulty in sleeping, though the beds were very comfortable. The room was small so there was no room to throw all the many cushions that hoteliers seem to find it neccesary to adorn their beds with. (A passing fashion, that will hopefully, soon pass).
There was every facility in the room, biscuits, tea, coffee etc, chocolates on the pillow, comfortable settee, TV, and good reading lights. All well thought out. The toilet was VERY small, just the width of the WC, the shower was very low pressure and the shower door channel needed a good clean. Very good quality towels.
Breakfast was an excellent choice of fresh fruit, and the cooked meal was good too, if you ignored the dubious sausage. Very pleasant and welcoming staff. Off street parking was appreciated, as was the presence of a branch of Sainsbury's opposite where we had a good fish and chip supper in their restaurant. Stirling Castle is just over a mile away, but a hard climb on foot and a SatNav helps if driving.

Room Tip: Front rooms get the sun and the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Auchyle Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 164 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

myself and my son have just returned from a couple of nights staying at the Auchyle Guest House. I am very pleased i chose this guest House as the welcome and friendlyness of mandi and Tony are second to none. Just what we needed not too posh and stuffy but clean and warm throughout the house.
The breakfast was excellent with a large variety of foods to choose from including haggis and blackpudding ......
Only a 5-10 min stroll into town and easy acces to the castle....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyC330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at Auchyle, great hospitality, excellent dinner recommendation and indulgent breakfast! Definitely somewhere we would highly recommend.

P.s. Hello to Haggis and Harry!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iuliana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Not the poshest or the best location but wow - this lady runs the best B&B I have ever stayed in. It is the little extra touches and the genuine friendliness and kindness that makes the difference. Cannot recommend highly enough - just try it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B!!! Off street car parking which is great. Lovely warm welcome from Mandi. Nicely decorated and very comfortable bed. Lots of water in rooms which is nice! We were attending a wedding and Mandi kindly left us cava and beer on ice whilst we were getting ready. Very thoughtfully took us to retrieve car the next morning. Wonderful tasty breakfast ... Lots of choice! Great value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijoubreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After two weeks in a hostel in Edinburgh, Auchyle was a very welcome change! Mandi and Tom were both very friendly, helpful, and welcoming, as were their two lovely dogs! My room (#6 on the ground floor) was huge, and the bed was one of the best I'd ever slept in. There were plenty of choices for breakfast...I felt bad for only wanting cereal and fruit! :) The whole place was very clean and in good condition.

On top of everything else, Auchyle is in a great location. It's within walking distance of everything if you're good on your feet, and if you're not, buses stop close by. There's a big Sainsbury's right across the street, and Tesco's is 5 minutes away. In spite of the fact that Auchyle is located so close to a main road, there was no nighttime noise at all. I had a great time here, and I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

It is excellent Place to Stay if you are in Brave heart city - the Stirling.
This was my first abroad stay and they cared me a lot. So I didn't feel I'm away from my home. It was like my second home. Great service provided by the host. The food was delicious and healthy. They are so friendly. And many of my friends have already stayed there and are still staying there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. But I was staying in a room which was located upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netaji K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.1 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#16 of 20 in Stirling
380 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Tram House
The Old Tram House
#9 of 59 in Stirling
550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highland Gate by Marston's Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchyle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchyle Guest House

Address: 16 Drip Road, Stirling FK8 1RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: $81 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Auchyle Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing