We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The River House

The River House
Ranked #85 of 219 Restaurants in Stirling
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
558 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good place for a snack”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice spot for breakfast or lunch. Good coffee and good service just off the M9 Motorway at the Stirling exit. There are very few places to stop on this road so this pace is worth a visit. Other options on the road are pretty dire so The River House offers a good option.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    239
    151
    126
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“saturday night dinner”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good meal with emphasis on scottish ingredients. Some very good items - whole baked place, well cooked scallops and black pudding and generous portions. Puddings were not so great, though the ice cream was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding - Will return time & time again!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my better half and Mother last week on the recommendation of friends.

Glad we took their advice, the place is first rate. From the moment we stepped in the front door, the service we recieved was remarkable. Our table wasn't ready so was directed to a seat in the comfortable lounge area, this area or rather furniture is in need of a little tlc but the overall ambiance more than makes up for it.

We had a drinks order taken by a lovely young girl called Verity, she chatted easily with us and made us all feel very welcome.

After being shown to our table, we were delighted to find Verity to be our main waitress for the evening. The level of service was simply delightful, she was busy as we're all staff, but still made us feel as if we were the only ones in the restaurant in terms of personalising her service.
It must be said that all staff seemed to be operating on a level of customer service rarely seen nowadays.
Food was fabulous aswell, although it may be said a little lacklustre in presentation.

All in all, our first visit to the Riverhouse is one we won't be able to forget quickly.

We will most certainly be back, and bringing more friends and family members to celebrate the occasion with us!

Well done Riverhouse!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stirling_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
453 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Loved the food, service, and atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved it so much we went back twice! The service is outstanding, the prices fair, the views lovely, and the food absolutely delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Didn't get what I ordered, and no apology”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I ordered Ham, Egg and Chips and i received Haddock and Chips, clearly not what I ordered. No apology was made and I was billed the full price (overpriced) for the meal that I didn't want.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing