We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for lunch”
Review of The River House

The River House
Ranked #92 of 221 Restaurants in Stirling
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good restaurant on outskirts of Stirling. Have used several times and each time the food has been good quality and service warm and friendly. They had esrly evening menus and loyalty cards. Nice setting and easy parking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Gordon H,

Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant. It is always such a pleasure to hear from our regular customers. This review has put a great big smile on everyone's faces.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant and hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Greg, Nicole, Jeni, Chris and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    242
    155
    132
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The service is good, the food is a let down particularly the vegetables. Don't know what they do with it but its always poor quality and a poor selection

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelynScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear EvelynScotland,

Thank for taking the time to review our restaurant. All honest customer feedback - positive or negative - is essential in the continued development of our team.

We are extremely disappointed that you feel let down by the quality of our complimentary vegetable selection and have discussed this with the kitchen team.


Kind regards,

Greg, Nicole, Jeni, Chris and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it in any way”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I went here for a meal early on Thursday evening. The food was sublime. We had seafood risotto and 5 spiced duck, (cooked perfectly, as they ask how you would like it done), which were delicious. The portion sizes were great and we were struggling to finish it all. Followed up with a divine chocolate and caramel tart (cos we couldn't resist). The tablet with the coffee was a nice touch. Lovely decor, very comfy seating and the toilets are the best I've seen in a long time. Prices are very reasonable for what you get and the loyalty cards are a great idea too. We'll definitely be back. Thanks to all the staff who obviously take a pride in what they do.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaileyBoo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear BaileyBoo73,

Well what can we say... Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We are all thrilled that you had such a fantastic experience at The River House and do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards,

Greg, Nicole, Jeni, Chris and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family meal”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Passed the restaurant with wife and kids (3 and 6 year old, hadn't been in since before the kids were born) and thought we'd pop in for lunch.
Great welcome and service despite being very busy. Crayons and colouring for the kids and a lovely wee play area kept them amused while they waited for their meal and bread offered to feed the ducks too. Won't be long I'm sure til they're demanding we visit again.
Tasty food all round (best Fajitas I've had in ages!) and good prices too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sonny B,

It is a real pleasure to receive such a positive review from a family group - given that we are a family restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to let us, and our reviewers, know about your experience at The River House.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant and hope to see you in the not too distant future. We'll try not to let the ducks eat too much - make sure they are hungry for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Greg, Nicole, Jeni, Chris and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Overpriced pub grub”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

On the day of our visit there appeared to be some sort of problem in the kitchen resulting in a number of tables which included our own waiting some considerable time between courses. We were eventually offered complimentary drinks which did little to make up for the long delay. The food was generally overpriced for the type of establishment and did little to excite. There were two tables which had families who had brought their young crying babies which added to the poor dining experience. If you like overpriced pub grub with little atmosphere this is the place for you. If not it would not be difficult to find better value

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear ian L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit to The River House, I am sorry that it was not a more positive one. Whilst every effort is made to ensure that our guests receive prompt service, occasionally, there can be delays - for which I must apologise .

As a team that takes great pride in the value for money that is on offer, we were all extremely disappointed to receive a review claiming the opposite. I would appreciate some more detailed feedback regarding our menus and what exactly led to our produce being labeled as "overpriced pub grub".

Please feel free to contact me with any further information, all honest customer feedback - positive or negative - is essential to the continued development and success of our team. You can reach me by telephone on 01786 465577 or by email at nicole@houserestaurants.co.uk. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Nicole McCandlish
(Assistant Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing