We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The River House - CLOSED

The River House
Price range: $11 - $50
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had an excellent meal here today. Served by greg, carlos and emma the service we recieved was outstanding nothing was too much trouble. Unknown to us every sunday there is a magician (colin) whom entertained us as we waited on our meal. Would highly recommend to everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank xyvonnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouserestaurant, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hello Yvonne,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
We appreciate all feedback and we'll pass on your comments to the team, especially Greg, Carlos and Emma (and magic Colin!) who will I'm sure be pleased to hear of their great feedback.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Greg, Jeni, Nicole and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 825 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

once again i had a beautiful lunch. the staff are so welcoming and very patient and attentive, especially when it's hard to choose which food you'd like. Today i was served by the lovely Emma and Greg. I know it won't be long until I'm back again.Can't fault this restaurant in any respect. Colin the magician is "magic". Go in on a Sunday and experience his talent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aggie0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouserestaurant, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hi Aggie,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and it's great that you took the time to write such a positive review.
I'll pass on your kind words to Greg and Emma and also to Colin, our excellent resident magician, who will be glad to hear of your kind praise.

See you again soon,

Greg, Nicole, Jeni and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Outstanding value at lunchtime and great service. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Fantastic setting and would advise booking at lunchtime. Our server was extremely efficient and great to feel welcomed and respected as a customer. When next in Stirling area will defiantly be returning. Food very well presented, piping hot and served very promptly. Would recommend this restaurant to all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank colmarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouserestaurant, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We appreciate you taking time out to write such positive feedback to your experience with us and five points all round is received with many thanks!
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Greg, Jeni, Nicole and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrived at 6pm for the prix fixe dinner menu, and were not disappointed. The food was excellent, service great, the room is lovely with a lake view - this is just a terrific place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Phill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouserestaurant, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hi Phill,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We appreciate all feedback and it's extra nice to hear such praise for the work we do here.
If you ever find yourself back in Stirling from Arizona we'd love to see you again!

Kind regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having moved to stirling a few months ago from a house to a flat we wanted to enjoy a "wee glass" in the sunshine but couldn't think where to go.......then brainwave!!!! Foned the Riverhouse in Stirling and spoke to Nicole the manager who suggested a bottle of dry white on the balcony and yes we could bring Bert our four legged member of the family who slipped in via the side gate!!!! It was a delight...we had a lovely bottle of dry white and nibbles.... thanx for the recommendation Nicole getting hubby away frm Pinot Grigio LOL!!! The staff were soooo lovely and attentive without being over the top......
To Nicole ....thanx for going that extra mile.....def be back ......J & G xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouserestaurant, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Hi Joanne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.
I'm glad all three of you enjoyed your evening with us. Nicole is on a well deserved holiday at the moment (most likely enjoying a dry white by the water herself!) but I'm sure she'd echo my appreciation of your comments.
Hope to see you again soon.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing