We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go with the Family”
Review of The River House

The River House
Ranked #141 of 229 Restaurants in Stirling
Price range: $11 - $46
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through Stirling travelling north, and staying at the nearby Castlecroft B&B we were recommended this restaurant as being good for the children.

They had initially booked us a table in the main body of the restaurant, but when we arrived the manager offered us an alternative table in the children's area. This allowed our two children who had spent the day cooped up in the car on a long journey a chance to play whilst we waited for our meals, indeed one child was reluctant to stop playing to eat!

The food was excellent - a variety of fresh produce used, delicious and well presented. A good value price as well.

Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RTPeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear RTPeat,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The River House. We are over the moon to learn that you and your family had such a wonderful time with us. We do hope you pop in to see us the next time you are passing through - if you are staying at Castlecroft again don't forget your "Drinks for a Friend" voucher.

Kind regards,

Greg, Nicole and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 859 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Wonderful setting for a relaxing Sunday lunch. The food was exquisite, the staff were friendly and professional. Great for all the family. Very reasonably priced. Will definitely revisit.

Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Pamela L,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your first visit to The River House. We have passed your comments on to the whole team who are thrilled that they have made such an impression on you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant and hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Greg, Nicole and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recommended by the guest house we were staying at and we were not disappointed. Good choice of food with tasty vegetarian options. We chose from the early evening menu, two courses for £12.95. The food arrived quickly and cooked to perfection, everything was beautifully presented including the fish and chips in the wire frying basket. Service was very efficient but without feeling rushed. We thought it was good value for money for a family of four. Would definately return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacqui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear jacqui m,

We are so pleased to hear these kind words regarding your recent visit to our restaurant - thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,

Greg, Nicole and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My family and I were at the restaurant yesterday Sunday the 10th Feb for my husbands 50th birthday. It is a very well decorated smart restaurant and the staff were very attentive to all our needs. The food is excellent and very well priced. This restaurant is a must for all whatever the occassion xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cactusness1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear cactusness1,

We are so pleased to hear that such a wonderful time was had by your party - especially when celebrating such a special occasion with us. Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words regarding your experience on Sunday, it really is appreciated. All of your comments have been passed onto the team, who are thrilled to hear such positive words. We do hope to see you in the near future - keep us in mind for those big occasions - and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Greg, Nicole and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been eating at this restaurant for a while now and have never been disappointed.I can't fault the lunch or evening meals.The staff are efficient and attentive and very polite.The waiter serving our table was a well mannered lad called Greg, who is tall with red hair.He was able to answer any queries we had.I'll have no problem in returning here soon.Good food and lovely environment inside and out. Would highly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aggie0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverhouserestaurant, Manager at The River House, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear aggie0515,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the River House. Greg was thrilled when we let him know that he was mentioned - by name - in your comments. We are pleased to hear such positive words from a regular customer as this is an excellent indication that standards are maintained consistently. We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant in the near future.

Kind regards,

Greg and Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing