We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Tram House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Tram House
Ranked #5 of 62 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding and it was lovely. Allison had made the room look absolutely gorgeous and nothing was too much trouble - we were even given a bottle of champagne. The whole place is decorated to a really high standard and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was great. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    47
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
126
236
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for two nights and have to say I will definitely be back! The room was beautiful and spotless + the beds were so comfortable, also in the bedroom was a selection of dvds which I thought was a lovely touch. The breakfast was yum, and you had a choice of full Scottish, Continental, omelette and a buffet on the side with yoghurts, cereals etc. Alison the hostess is so friendly and helpful and really looked after us and made us feel so welcome, you just wouldn't get this in a big hotel! Really can't praise it enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Brilliant B&B, clean, comfortable (very spacious) rooms. The welcome and hosting from Alison the owner is second to none, and the breakfast is delicious with a wide variety to choose from. I have stayed here on 2 occasions whilst attending a course at the local University, it was recommended to me by a fellow student after I paid double the amount to stay on campus. The old Tram House is highly recommended for anyone (business, vacation) and I would have no hesitation in staying there again. A big thanks to Alison for making my stay there such a pleasure.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally spacious and comfortable, although there is a larger family for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJParker1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Alison is the perfect host she makes you very welcome!everything about the B&B is perfect Alison is a perfectionist and this shows with all the fine detail she has added to her very homely and friendly B&B.I only had a one night stay but I would go back tomorrow with no hesitation and I would recommend any one to try it out you will not be disappointed!Her breakfast was the best I had in my entire stay in Scotland.
Thank you Alison for providing such a lovely B&B that should be a 5 star Hotel.
Denise & Heather from Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. We had the "family room" which had a double bed and a bunkbed and it was a truly lovely room. The bathroom, en suite, is also lovely. Allison is wonderful and very accommodating. The room has a flat screen TV and DVD's are also included. There is a tea set up complete with cookies and chocolate. Breakfast in the morning is a choice between continental, full scottish breakfast or omelet. There is a buffet of yogurt, juice, coffee and tea. The town of Stirling is a 2 minute drive and would be a pleasant walk when the weather is nice. All in all we had a fantastic time at The Old Tram House and hope to be back someday! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smurrayroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed for one night with my kids. They loved it and we were made so welcome. I would definitely go back and am certainly recommending it to others. The breakfast - amazing! Just out of town but still close enough. 5 stars from us!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs Fairny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friend and I had a lovely 2 night stay here. The breakfast was delicious! Alison, the hostess, was extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The location is ideal. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks Alison!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Tram House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Tram House

Property: The Old Tram House
Address: 42 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5EY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Tram House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Tram house is a Victorian stone villa offering four star en-suite accommodation.Open all year round. Close to Stirling university, all local attractions,motorway links., 40 minutes from Glasgow, Edinburgh airports, an ideal touring base. We offer a varied breakfast menu and cater for vegetarian also. All welcome, Long staying guests also welcome and we look forward to seeing you very soon. A warm Scottish welcome awaits.Short and long stays welcome , corporate rates available and multiple night rates also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Tram House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Tram House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing