We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big on rules but not great at playing by rules themselves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big on rules but not great at playing by rules themselves”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Booked 2 night stay in lodge with 3 year old as play park facilities looked great. Park closed at 4.30pm on first day and and day 2 first thing in the morning construction vehicles rolled in. We were told park was closed as new paths were being laid. Play park right next door to lodges. A little like sitting a chocolate cake in front of someone & telling them they can't touch it! We wouldn't have booked the park had we know we couldn't use it. Staff told us we could us inside soft play at top of park, which has colouring equipment & small ball pit... and is also right next to a zip slide. Too tempting for an adult let alone a child who's stared at park equipment she can't use for 24hours! Glad we had a shot on that because the park was closed on the 3rd day also. Upon complaining I was issued a park entrance voucher, & then 2 park entrance vouchers. Not local so of no use. BEWARE owner also stated park would have been shut anyway due to weather?! Plus site - pony ride great. Lodges nice & clean (bedrooms small & shower not great) and did have lots of lovely touches. If you pay for fold out bed phone ahead & double check it's there, ours wasn't. Cafe not great - advertises ice lollies outside - none available. Ice cream then? - none. Baked potatoes? Not available. Heard another customer having the same problem. Wouldn't return. Wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Double and triple check the park is open the day you plan on going/staying. Maybe get them to give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony H, Owner at Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear tap10,

In response to your review, we have the following points to make.

We note your review and unfortunately you have carried out your threat of posting a negative review as you said you would on your email, despite us having explained everything to you by email. It is unfortunate that your review is centred around Wellsfield Farm Park rather than Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges (our 4 Star Rated Self Catering accommodation), to which this TripAdvisor page is actually for.

You stayed at Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges for 2 nights, on Tuesday 25th February and Wednesday 26th February 2014. Invoice total for Holiday Lodge stay was £189.90 (for 2 nights @ £84.95 plus one camp bed for 2 nights @ £10/night).

Please note that the farm park is FREE to use for lodge guests, and you were not charged any admission fees for the farm park. This is very clearly stated on our website and on various booking agency websites.

We understand from your booking there was 4 adults and 1 child.

On the days in question, before opening time, a health and safety assessment of the wet weather conditions and the farm park ground conditions was conducted, and for health & safety reasons, due to inclement wet weather and the ground being water logged, a decision to close the farm park was taken.

Closure of the farm park then allowed us to carry out some last minute park shot term park improvement works.

Our Equestrian Centre records that your daughter had a pony ride, and her age is 3 years old.

I recall being asked by one of my staff at reception if you could use the farm park, and I understand you were told by my staff that you could use the indoor fun shack only. I recall seeing you use the indoor fun shack in the farm park, however I also recall seeing your child using the Zip Slide. The Zip Slide Safety Sign clearly states the Safety Rules of this play item and the Minimum Age Limit is 5 years.

As stated above, your total invoice fee of £189.90 which you paid for the 2 night Holiday Lodge Stay and this you did receive.

As a gesture of goodwill, we offered you 2 x £18 family pass admission tickets to use any time in the future, and as you live in Edinburgh and we are in Stirling, you are within easy travelling distance of a family day trip.

Unfortunately we cannot control the weather, and cannot therefore inform our guests how the weather will be for their holiday lodge stays at booking stage, or prior to them arriving for their stay. I am sure you will fully appreciate this, and also take into account you booked a February stay (winter period) and I am sure you are aware the 2013/14 winter has been the wettest since weather records began.

We have a very strict health and safety policy, and a duty as an operator for public health and safety, to ensure we meet out health and safety policies and to meet our insurance requirements too.

In regard to your comment about our coffee shop menu, my staff recall that you had lunch once in the coffee shop and the only item we were out of stock on was ice cream, which you had asked about. We always keep a full stock of all other menu items that are displayed on the coffee shop wall menu and table menus. We don’t sell baked potatoes – they are not on our menus.

Hopefully you will use the £36.00 gift vouchers and allow your daughter to enjoy herself at Wellsfield Farm Park at some point in the near future.

Regards,

Mr Harris
Owner/Partner
Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges, Health Club, Farm Park, Trout Fishery, Equestrian Centre and Coffee Shop
Stirling Road
Denny
Stirlingshire
FK6 6QZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    22
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the lodge this weekend for the first time and were thoroughly impressed!
Spotlessly clean, lots of lovely touches and furnished beautifully.
My children had good fun in the park too :-)
I can't recommend this highly enough!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have just returned from Wellsfield Farm Lodge and had a fantastic break. The lodge was spotless and certainly lives up to it's four star rating. Lots of added touches like the provision of tea, coffee and condiments. The furnishings were gorgeous. Really relaxing stay and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ButterflyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a night at the wellsfield lodges. We were there with friends and all had a fantastic time! Lodge was very spacious and spotlessly clean! Only downfall was whilst checking in, staff gave us a key and paperwork and told us what number of lodge it was. Staff could have given us directions, or advised us to enjoy our stay and let us know checkout times etc!
This did not spoil the night and will definitely be back and recommend to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Would agree with all previous reviewers. Spotlessly clean, everything you would need, even things you might have forgotten. The owners had thought of everything. The weather was terrible when we were there so hardly able to pop out the door - mid December for 2 nights, still didn't spoil our stay. Plenty to do on site it seems if the weather had been better. My only minor negative was that the wifi did not work in the cabin. All in all would recommend it. Plenty to do in the Stirling area. Would return again....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceG53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just back from a groupon weekend deal and had to leave a review ,, the lodge was perfect clean and with everything you could possibly need and more ! We had a fab time and the kids loved the fresh air in adventure park and the pony rides will def be back soon thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arronellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful setting tremendous self catering accommodation.
Yet the electricity is on a timer , Therfore at night it can be a bit cold especially for the children.
That said for a family of four we cant grumble at the price and facilities.
£ 79 for two nights for four of us plus our wee dog is wonderful.
Maybe add a tv to the double bedroom and lose the mirror.
Or add a tv dvd to kids room.
Only an idea.

The cafe is wonderful and its milkshakes are superb.
The riding school is great for the children all staff are very friendly and helpful.
And as we have family in Stirling it is a stones throw away to visit.
Yet it is not noisey but very tranquil and relaxing.
The kids played for hours in the park and its very safe and secure.
As I said its a 8/10 for us the heating is expensive I know, but even if you paid a supplement to the cost of electric then I would happily do it, , anything to keep the kids and wife warm and happy.
Happy kids happy dad.
will we be back ?maybe in summer.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank beafrrespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
5.7 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
6.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
10.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges

Property: Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges
Address: Stirling - Denny Road (A872), Stirling, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges are Quality Assured by VisitScotland and are 4 Star Rated by VisitScotland. We are located in probably one of the best locations in Central Scotland for the many visitor attractions near us, all very close distance by road, including: Bannockburn Heritage Visitor Centre (4 miles) Stirling Shopping Centre (4 miles) Stirling Castle (5 miles) The National Wallace Monument (5 miles) The Falkirk Wheel (5 miles) Ochil Hills Hillwalking Routes (8 miles) Callendar House & Museum (10 miles) Carron Valley Mountainbike Trails (10 miles) The Helix Project Falkirk & Canal Link (10 miles) Blair Drummond Safari Park (10 miles) RSPB Skinflats Nature Reserve (10 miles) The Buzz Kids Soft Play Centre Falkirk (10 miles) Kidzworld Soft Play Centre Alloa (15 miles) Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park (20 miles) Deep Sea World Sea National Life Centre (20 miles)Our onsite facilities and activities include:British Horse Society Approved Horse Riding School & Livery YardTroutmasters Approved Trout Fishery (3 Lochans for Fly & Bait Fishing)Health & Fitness Club with 2 Gymnasiums and SaunasCoffee Shop offering Italian Espresso Coffees, Snacks & RefreshmentsNature Walks and bridal paths throughout the farm landsChildren's educational walks and leisure activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellsfield Farm Holiday Lodges Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing