We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Accommodation”
Review of Number 10

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 10
Ranked #6 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014 and had a very enjoyable stay. Donald and Carol were excellent hosts who made time to chat and offer suggestions for local attractions. The room was very spacious and spotless. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice including local delicacies - haggis. Ideal location only few minutes walk from the historic city centre and all routes to outlying attractions. This will be our first choice when visiting Scotland again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 194 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed here in April 2014. The price for my sole occupancy of a double room was £45 for the night, cheaper than a Travelodge which is impersonal and doesn't give you breakfast. The hosts were very nice and made me feel welcome. The room was very comfortable and warm. The ensuite shower room was spotlessly clean and modern. Breakfast was delicious and unhurried. I found my stay so much nicer than staying at anonymous hotels and will be coming back later in the year for another stay.

If you take a car with you please be aware that there is a charge for parking on the street. - called Pay & Display. You buy a ticket from a machine on the street then display a ticket in your car windscreen. This only costs £2.70 for all day. However the day starts at 8.45am, so you need to go out and refresh your ticket or leave by then the next morning, or risk facing a hefty fine.

Room Tip: I was in the McRuggie room which faces over the beautiful back garden with it's perfectly manicu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IBelongToGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here one night with 2 other couples. The rooms are spectacularly spacious! When we arrived, I was not feeling well, and the gracious hosts, Carol and Donald, allowed us to check in early. I rested comfortably in my room while the rest of the group walked to town to eat and sightsee. It's only a few blocks to the Old Town and a short hike to the castle from this B&B.

Would recommend on all points: the location, the hosts, the breakfast, the well-appointed rooms, the incredibly affordable price for what they offer.

Room Tip: We (3 couples) all stayed in rooms on the 2nd floor, and each room was equally comfortable and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wahiawakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We loved Number 10 Gladstone Place in Stirling -- the only negative part was leaving the very next morning! The B&B itself is very stately and charming. It is a convenient walk to town, about 10 minutes, through a very nice neighborhood. Our room was lovely. We slept well, and the breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious. We very much hope to come back (without our tandem bicycle).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The house has everything you'd expect in an English B&B, a nice room, great garden, good breakfast and friendly hosts. Gordon was most helpful to us both before and during are stay and he and Carol went out of there way to ensure we had a great two night stay. Stirling is a very walkable town, the house is about a 10 minute walk (max) to the city center and 20 to the castle.
Everything was as expected and promised.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have no words, it was an awesome place to stay. Every detail in the room was perfect and the bed could not be more comfortable, and the bathroom was new and spotless. Carol and Donald are really caring, they provide lots of info about the area and answered all our questions when we arrived and the next morning during breakfast, which was amazing. I was so sad we only stayed there for one night!.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eirey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was my second stay at No 10 and can honestly say that it is second to none. Donald and Carol are first class hosts. The room is so spacious and nothing has been left out. The extra nice touches for me were the bottle of bubble bath (never seen in hotels), shower caps (again only in some hotels), the provision of not only tea and coffee but bottled water, orange juice and biscuits. The breakfast was as before outstanding. The walled garden to the back is a credit to the owners. It is within walking distance of the city centre, the castle and bars and restaurants. There is a wealth of tourist information on the landing and also in a book within the room detailing local restaurants. There is a reason that all the reviews here are either Very Good or Excellent. Thanks again, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#11 of 59 in Stirling
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
0.5 mi away
Munro Guest House
Munro Guest House
#13 of 59 in Stirling
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 10

Address: 10 Gladstone Place, Stirling FK8 2NN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: $77 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 10 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Victorian house of character situated in a quiet residential area of the city centre, with ample on-street parking. All our bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and free WiFi is available throughout the house. Number 10 is close to all historic sites and amenities making it an ideal base from which to rest or tour while staying in a friendly comfortable home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 10 Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing