We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a B&B'S”
Review of Forth Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forth Guest House
Ranked #16 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have traveled the world and this is one of the best B&B'S. A wonderful host, excellent food, a great bed and beautiful design in this 1820 Georgian building. The owner has done a fantastic job of designing guest rooms. It is close to the train station and all the Stirling attractions. We arrived after a long overseas flight. What a delight! Highly recommend and would stay. Again!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We would recommend this B&B to our friends. The owners were so friendly and couldn't help more, they really wanted to make our stay the best it could be. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfasts are great (full Scotish Breakfast) and the service at breakfast is exellent. The beds are comfortable and we had a good night sleep. A quiet location within walking distance of restaurants and Stirling castle (walk to castle up hill). Close to train and bus station.Staying at the Forth Guest House is a treat. It is just THE place to be! You will love it, so make sure you don't miss it

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHHoneymoon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have stayed at many B&B's and this one is at the top of my list for good value. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the property was lovingly restored. We were accommodated when we wanted to check in very early and given excellent directions to all the places we wanted to visit. Breakfast was made-to-order and delicious, with a lovely view and ambience. In the bath, my towels hung just above the radiator for a toasty warm feeling out of the shower. Free wi-fi was a crucial component in our choice and always worked flawlessly, even on the top floor. Perfect location for visiting Sterling!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was my first experience with a B&B and I must say this place made it hard for others to compete. It was a lovely place, nice and big room and a spotless bathroom. It had little fancy extra's like Q tips. Also a nice full Scottish breakfast.

The couple who run this place are lovely, I had trouble with my navigation and they went out of their way to solve it for me (and fixed it even!). I can't give them enough praise. They also know of the best places to see/eat etc.

Room Tip: This is right next to the train station (though you can't hear it) and a 5 min walk to the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

stayed here in november 2011 and have to stay what a great choice i made in picking this place to stay in whilst in stirling....lovely room,great breakfast and was made to feel welcome by jim who gave great advice on where to go and helped me....one thing i would pick up on though is that it might be a good idea to wait till guests go out for the day before servicing the room...didn't appreciate the lady(whose name i never got) coming in wanting to change the bed sheets before i had gone out for the day....that issue aside,i fully enjoyed my stay at the forth guest house and should i stay in stirling again i would not hesitate to look this place up as my first choice of places to stay....

Room Tip: very good location to the train station,only a couple minutes walk and a relatively quiet area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bondy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I based myself here during November 2011 whilst working and looking for a place to live in Stirling and cannot speak highly enough of this guest house. The rooms were excellent, with Freeview TV and very good wi-fi reception, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful to me, getting early breakfast ready and helping me out in finding the best places in Stirling. I would recommend this guest house for its great location (walking distance from train & bus stations and the city centre) and the warm welcome given by everybody there. Jim is a really nice host, and always willing to help.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is an excellent B and B. It is very clean and modern, with comfy beds and luxurious towels. It is only a few minutes walk from town and the train station into Edinburgh yet is completely silent at night for sleeping. It is also really close to a bowling alley, and cinema with restaurants. Breakfast good, and rooms kept clean and tidy during stay. Also extremely reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colessio
Hotel Colessio
#4 of 20 in Stirling
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Munro Guest House
Munro Guest House
#13 of 59 in Stirling
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castlecroft
Castlecroft
#1 of 59 in Stirling
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forth Guest House

Address: 23 Forth Place | Riverside, Stirling FK8 1UD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Forth Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing