We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful lodges, best time ever!!! We will be...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of LA FORTUNA LODGES

luxury detached lodge close to Stirling town center with unobstructed views towards Stirling castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
luxury detached lodge close to Stirling town center with unobstructed views towards Stirling castle
luxury hot tub on site with patio area, suitable for upto six people, sitting /dinning room with french doors leading onto the decked area and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
luxury detached lodge close to Stirling town center with unobstructed views towards Stirling castle
luxury hot tub on site with patio area, suitable for upto six people,
sitting /dinning room with french doors leading onto the decked area and garden
downstairs king size bedroom
ustairs double bedroom with views towards stirling castle and country side
kitchen,with all mod cons,dishwasher,washing maching,fridge/freezer
hot tub
upsatirs shower room
down stairsa bathroom suitable for wheel chair access
twin bedroom
upstairs landing
views towards Wallace monument
lodge surrounded by beautiful countryside
walace monnument 3 miles from the lodges
log cabin
lounge/dining room
stirling old bridge
views towwards the ochil hills
luxury lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
80imm
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful lodges, best time ever!!! We will be back!”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at the lodges for a hen party - all 20 of us in three lodges and had a brilliant time. Mairi and John could not have been more helpful during our stay and were great fun too. The lodges themselves are finished to a very high standard and decorated beautifully, we had planned to go out on the saturday night but theTopaz lodge was so nice and spacious and we had everything we needed (including a hot tub) so we decided to stay in and party instead.

The location is lovely and the countryside and views cannot be faulted but the local towns and Stirling are all easy to get to by car.

We were so impressed - myself and a few of the other ladies plan to make this a regular weekend break and are planning our second visit early in the new year

Thanks again and we will see you very soon :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the lodges was amazing - they are beautifully decorated and very comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and book for 2015, yes you girls know how to enjoy yourselves.... Looked like lots of fun.... See you all next year, have a great xmas and Newyear :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne E
troon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“health & safety risk”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with friends to celebrate 50th birthday - 12 of us shared 2 lodges over two nights. Thankfully I only stayed for one night - don't think I would have felt too good over two. The boiler in the lodge is fuelled by kerosene and the smell pervaded every room in the lodge downstairs and up, whether doors were shut or not. We spent the weekend freezing with all the windows and doors open to try and make it bearable. The male owner was informed on the Friday night when our group arrived but he shrugged off our concerns and left us to get on with it. We complained to the female owner upon departure and she refunded us £100 - why if there was no problem? I am dismayed that we weren't offered alternative accommodation. Most of us ended up with sore heads and sore throats and one of our group who suffers from asthma was miserable the whole time. I don't know the risk from these fumes but I am concerned that the owners did not take the situation seriously enough to have the boiler dealt with or checked while we were there. Surely there is a huge onus on a holiday let landlord to maintain health & safety standards? Over and above this the lodge was clean, comfortable and in a good location but not luxurious and in our circumstances not relaxing.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at La Fortuna Lodges as much as our other guests have done but I feel I should respond to what is quite a serious accusation regarding Health and Safety. Here at La Fortuna, we take the health and safety of our guests very seriously indeed and the Oil Boilers in the Lodges are serviced annually and ad hoc health checks are done regularly, one completed just recently. My husband checked the boiler when you asked about the smell and although there was a slight smell of oil he reassured you that there was no safety issues and that you should open the window in the kitchen to allow the smell to dissipate and close the kitchen door to keep the heat in the rest of the house.
During the rest of your stay you seemed to enjoy yourselves immensely even commenting to me that you hoped you did not wake the neighbours with the karaoke and the partying. The temperature in the lodges is monitored in the main house and I can assure you that it did not fall below 20 °C during your stay in fact it was a lot higher as you adjusted it to your needs.
We were fully booked that weekend so could not offer alternative accommodation even if there had been a major problem, but if any of your party thought that staying in the lodge was having an adverse affect on their health then I would have expected them to leave and a full refund would have been given. As it was, on the day of your departure your party stayed until lunchtime, well past the normal 10.00am check out, making full use of the facilities. You did ask to speak to me that morning to advise me that some of your party were complaining about the smell of oil which was barely noticeable apart from in the kitchen. As a gesture of goodwill, I offered to refund £100, over 20% of the cost of the lodge.
Just to reassure you, we did get an engineer in to look at the boiler on the Monday and after a thorough check, he confirmed that the boiler is working perfectly and there are absolutely no safety or health issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, nice views, very comfortable.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We have now put together a welcome pack in the lodge with the opening times etc for the hot tub.
For 2015 there will be 2 hot tubs where one can pay a little extra and have a private hot tub or free communal hot tub.
Thanks again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge and location
Liked least: Nothing it was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, hope to see you all again next year:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nikki1875
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lodge with fab hot tub”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the lodge for my 30th birthday to celebrate with family and friends. Loved the modern look to the lodge and the facilties were excellent.
Drinking prosecco whilst sitting in the hot tub was fab!
Mairi the host couldn't have been more accommodating

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, hope to see you all again in the future. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie S
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Attention to detail and friendly professional service”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I hired the Topaz lodge for our daughter's Birthday weekend. Mairi and John, the owners, ensure that all needs are met by providing a very well equipped lodge with extra touches that were much appreciated. The lodge inside is very tastefully decorated, comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious. Outside the grounds are extremely well maintained and the view is lovely. There are plenty of walks and places to visit. The lodge's location is great as you have the impression of being secluded but are close to links for Stirling, Glasgow and Edinburgh. I would definitely recommend La Fortuna. Thank you Mairi and John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Professionalism and friendliness
Liked least: Lodges quite close together
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and taking the time out to write it.
Hope to see you again.

Regards
Mairi and John :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asfr01
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodges; lovely owner; beautiful yet central location.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at La Fortuna lodges for two nights as a group for a hen weekend. We were looking for somewhere that was close by but that also had a feeling of being 'out the way of it all'. These lodges certainly provided that.

We stayed in a three bedroom lodge which was very well decorated and had everything we needed. This lodge would be good not just for short weekend stays but also for longer holidays. The owner is lovely and I couldn't have asked for a better level of customer service.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these lodges, and I'm sure I'll stay in them again! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings; you feel further out the city than you actually are.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review , hope you had a fabby wedding day too
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing