We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, clean, spacious home”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
island-ga...
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful, clean, spacious home”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Newholme is as stated above, clean, spacious and comfortable for a group who wants to stay together.

The house was not ready when we arrived due to an extended cleaning being done after the previous guests checked out late. However, we were able to leave our luggage and head to the supermarket for groceries. On our return, we found that the kitchen was all one could ask for - lots of storage space for groceries, drink, etc. Composting and recycling are done for environmentally conscious guests!

The kitchen is well appointed with everything you need. There is no automatic coffee maker - just a French press.....the stove is industrial sized, but the markings are erased, so a bit of guessing was required.....same for the microwave, but they worked well after the trial and error period was over!

Flick, Newholme's in house chef, prepared 2 wonderful meals for us. She was ready at the time we had agreed on, served sumptuous portions of delicious, fresh fish and vegetables and cleaned up before heading out....for me, these meals were the highlight of our stay....Flick was extremely flexible (we changed our plan for meals) and fit us right in.....how wonderful is it to walk in after a day of sightseeing and be greeted by enticing aromas coming from the kitchen?? Even a picky eater in the group decided to try a dish since it smelled so good...and she proceeded to thoroughly enjoy it all!! If you stay here, I highly recommend having Flick prepare at least one meal for you.....

The washer and dryer worked well - the length of the wash cycle took some adjusting on our part. There is a large hanging rack in the laundry room for your delicates or if the weather is inclement and you are unable to use to outdoor clothes line.

The king and twin bedrooms are spacious and airy. One double is actually connected on one of the king bedrooms (was that bedroom 3 and bedroom 6?)....so very nice if there is a small child (or children) who you want to keep close. Our bed (twins aka king) was a bit uncomfortable in the middle where the seam was...and it seemed as if the mattresses sloped downwards to the seam.....moving to the middle of each mattress yield more comfortable space though!

Each of the king bedrooms has a wash basin - a nice touch which also relieved congestion in the morning when everyone is trying to get ready to leave at the same time. Here is the breakdown of the bathroom facilities:
Downstairs - newly remodeled - toilet, sink, shower stall
Upstairs - room 1 - an older bathroom - toilet, sink and bathtub with hand held shower
Upstairs - room 2 - toilet
Upstairs - room 3 - sink, bathtub, shower stall

Each bathroom had a towel warmer which I do not think any of us used.......and for those traveling from outside the UK, the switches for the warmers are outside the bathrooms! The first night, I ran out of hot water during my shower.....only to learn from David the next morning that the water heater is on a timer and since some of us shower very late at night, he adjusted the timer so that it would be nice and hot in the morning for showers and again, in the evening and late into the night. So, if you have late night shower people, be sure to let him know on your first day!

WiFi worked well in the sitting and living rooms...our bedroom had a weak signal so we had to go into the hallway for better signal.

Overall, a great stay and I would highly recommend staying here - we certainly would without any hesitation!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Wifi signal strength
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Dear Karen
many thanks for taking the time to place your review with us, and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I had noticed the same issue with your bed when i inspected the weekend you left and stripped the whole bed out to find that the foot was broken...hence the lean into the middle. Normally our guests comment on how comfortable the zip and link beds are and so I am very sorry that I did not pick up this issue...you should have told me as it was easy to resolve and has been and I am sorry this detracted from your stay.. Flick and Amanda are very popular and so we think that we will promote them more on the website and next year we hope to be operating our own tours from Newholme, and other local properties so that may well be on the web site soon as well.
We do have instructions for the microwave in the drawer next to the microwave, and i must have not told you...my apologies. We intend to replace the top section of the cooker with ceramic identifications on it to avoid the temperature issue. however this is quite a major job and as we are fully booked then we need to to this in our off peak season, although I am not sure when that will be as we are fully booked now util October!
We will however resolve this issue and hope it did not detract from your stay. We really enjoyed having you here and thank you so much for leaving the house so clean. We were finished by check in time well before the 4.30 pm deadline!!! many thanks.
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand old family house with style.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a delightful, comfortable and spacious house , wonderful for children. Back door into the garden keeps wellies and raincoats away from the living room! A terrific kitchen is fun to work in for a big family although the cooker and the microwave both presented a brief challenge as all the instructions had been rubbed off!
The bedrooms are large, airy and very comfortable with excellent linen and towels etc. The property is well equipped and includes an interesting collection of pots and bowls for serving and preparing food. The dining tableware was first class and plenty of it.
We could find no table napkins but solved the need by buying a huge pack of paper ones from Sainsbury's . Supermarkets are very close by car as is the town centre. There is a lovely park within five minutes walk which has a play area for the children.
All in all a really great place to stay . We had a family reunion there and it was a very happy experience as the house felt so welcoming and homely. David and Nikki Callender manage the house very well and are an unobtrusive but effective presence as they are always happy to help.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the house. Privacy and size of the garden.
Liked least: No cushions for the garden seats!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Dear Joan
Many thanks for your review and as always we are more than happy when we know you enjoyed it so much. we did try supplying paper napkins at the start of last season however we are not sure if some of our guests were using them for what they were supposed to be for or for something else, we went through so many, even though we were buying in bulk , that we decided that it was a very expensive affair. I suppose we could do it again and just leave out a certain amount each week... so Nikki and I will have a look at that.
We hope we might see you again some time.
Regards David and Nikki.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DStevenso...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A perfect location for a family gathering.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our entire family of 16 from Canada stayed here for a week in July 2014 using both the House and the adjoining annex. We had come to introduce the next generation to Scotland and to explore our family roots. During the week we entertained numerous relatives from the UK and Australia and gave a party for 35. The House was perfect for our purposes. It is spacious with two large sitting rooms and a modern, fully equipped kitchen. We had family dinners each evening with over 20 people in the large dining room. The bedrooms were large with exceptionally comfortable beds, warm comforters and soft Scottish breezes through the open windows. The lawn is wide for the children to play and the garden beautiful for silent contemplation. The caterer for the House provided a traditional Scottish dinner for a party of 35 which elicited many compliments for its variety and quality. Newholme House had been recommended to us by a Scottish friend and we couldn't have made a better choice. It didn't hurt that we had seven successive days of sunny weather !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having the entire family under one roof in such pleasant surroundings.
Liked least: Stirling is a difficult city to find ones way around.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Dear David
I am so glad that it was all worth it, as you must have put in a lot of work to get it all together. Also it looked like the party was a great success and as you said the weather was perfect, and it actually continues to be so!
We hope it will inspire you to come back sooner rather than later, and I am so glad you loved the house.
My best regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful House!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A group of 9 of us stayed at Newholme House to celebrate a 40th birthday and the house was a perfect venue. Spacious rooms and a lovely garden meant we never felt cramped.

We had a lovely peaceful holiday and the house and surroundings contributed massively.

David and Nikki (who mange the property) were very helpful and always on hand if we needed anything.

Would definitely recommend this house to any type of group or family as the house has the facilities to suit anyone.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2014
Hi Eugene
Really glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again and thanks for leaving the place so easy to clean. Think you got a little lucky with the weather as well which was great.
regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley_An...
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful spacious house perfect for a large party of golfers”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 9 "golf girls" (ages 44-74) staying for a long weekend and a warm welcome awaited us at Newholme House along with some delicious home-made cupcakes - a lovely touch! This charming traditional property has 6 spacious bedrooms (4 of which could be made into twin rather than doubles) which suited our group. The formal drawing room and comfortable TV lounge gave plenty of room for all to spread out and the dining room table would seat 12 comfortably. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and we certainly gave plenty of leftovers to the pigs and recycled our empties using the bins provided! The fine weather ensured we enjoyed sitting outside in the pretty gardens and we were delighted to be able to use the gas barbeque made available to us by David on Saturday evening. Two shower rooms and a bathroom are provided (one downstairs) and a good sized store room was ideal for storing golf clubs and/or bikes. The entrance to the house is quite difficult to spot however our birthday balloons came in handy when tied to trees at the end of the drive marking out the property for late-comers.
The village of Cambusbarron is only about 5/10 minutes walk away (visited friendly pub) and the town centre of Stirling is about 5 minutes drive from the house. Nearby towns of Doune, Callander and Luss all very picturesque. We would recommend trying to solve mystery of the Treasure Trail in Stirling which was great fun.
All in all we had a wonderful time staying here and would not hesitate to recommend the property for a large group/family gathering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious bedrooms and fabulous kitchen
Liked least: Having to leave the property!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
Dear Lesley
Many thanks for taking the time to review Newholme..it is quite difficult to find at first and we are I think going to get a much larger sign, the owner however does not want one that is too obtrusive but we need to get one that can be easily seen. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I think the weather helped and allowed you to have the BBQ. Hopefully we might see you again soon.
Best regards David and Nikki
PS i am delighted you liked my cup cakes!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHallgart...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful house, fantastic time had by all”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Ten of us stayed at Newholme House for the weekend and had a great time. None of the bedrooms are small and we had a couple of beds to spare.
The pictures of the inside of the house really don't do it justice, it's even more grand and really open. The downstairs layout is really spacious and perfect for a party, we comfortable hosted a further five people on the Saturday.
The garden and grounds are great but purely for full disclosure the main lawn is rather overlooked by the house next door (a newly planted hedge is not exactly concealing it yet). However it is only the property manager David staying there.
Plenty of off road parking space - although it is quite easy to miss the entrance!
The only negative aspect to the whole weekend was when one of the neighbours called the police after hearing some banging - we'd had a few fireworks; how they didn't also see the flashes too I don't know. It was only 10.30 pm so hardly too late in the evening.
Very pleased to see a full range of recycling bins.
We will hopefully return for a family gathering next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastically grand and spacious ground floor
Liked least: The proximity of the house next door
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the house and sorry I over looked you too much, we have a plan to soften the gable with planting and put in a tree that will cover that end,this time last year the hedge was 8 inches shorter so will feed it all summer, meantime I am glad you enjoyed your party. and look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks for all the recycling of which there was plenty, and leaving the house so clean. I sadly forgot to tell you about the composting for my friends pigs just up the road. Next time you can contribute to their healthy eating. I met one of the locals who was in the paper shop on Sunday morning and she was laughing as she enjoyed the fireworks, we will just go for 9.00pm then the next time.
Regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona r
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loads of space ... a great place for a break”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Newholme made a great place for a family break ... plenty of rooms, great living space, access to the garden, plenty of parking ... we had everything we needed. The house is also in an ideal location just round the corner from Kings Park, Stirling Castle, the M90 etc. for easy access.

big thanks to David and Nikki for hosting us ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2014
so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope all the family had a great time...lucky with the weather as well as you were able to sit outside for some of the time. We hope we may see you again some time, and are so happy you had a fun time.
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing