We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Village Experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Very comfortable beds can make two singles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Very comfortable beds can make two singles
Large lounge seats 12 Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Very comfortable beds can make two singles
Large lounge seats 12
Bedroom
Bath and Shower room fully tiled
Extendible dinning table
Antique Berger suit
TV/DVD in bedroom
Well equipped kitchen large ceramic hob
wall mounted TV/DVD
Real coal fire
Hogmanay Celebrations at Stirling Castle
Shower WC Laundry Room
Comfortable Lounge 50' TV with sound bar
Very well equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom sleeps 4 comfortable
TVs in all the bedrooms
Famous Gillies Hill on your front door
looking out the lounge windows
Stirling from the Ochil Hills
Four spacious double bedrooms, all with TVs
Wallace Monument 2014
Within sight but not range of Stirling Castle
Property in ownership of our family since1929
All bedrooms have televisions
beds can be singles or superking size
The Village Pub
Kings Park and golf course is less than a mile away
A great walk around the perimeter of the Kings Park, looking east to Stirling Castle & Ochil Hills
Still walking, now looking north to Ben Ledi and Ben Lomand
Run Rigs last concert viewed from the Kings Park
Duck pond Stirling University
Stirling University with the Ochil hills
No Snow but there is a Christmas Tree
Not an alien landing, just a nice walk round University of Stirling grounds.
Autumn harvest in the garden- thanks for the photo Terry & Rosemary
Church of the Holy Rude at the top of the old ( Rude is a peace of wood from the cross)
Fun things to do in Stirling old town, visit the graveyard!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mrscase6
Selma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Village Experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with another family in the flat and it was perfect. Loved the flat, the pub downstairs, and the village. Was not at all loud. Flat had everything you needed. Michael the Butcher had amazing meat products and the guys downstairs welcomed us from the moment we got there. Thank you Bob and Kirstie!! We plan to come back!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review.
You and your party will be welcome at the Foresters anytime.
Cheers
Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjkohl22
Waterloo, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome flat, lots of room for 6 people. Bob was great!”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Awesome flat, lots of room for 6 people. Set in the 1930-1940's including the living room furniture! Was fun to see them. Beds were very comfy lots of pillows. Tiny kitchen but had all amenities. BUT there are so many cute cafes and restaurants in Sterling that we ate out all the time! The cafe 4 doors down on the right was great breakfast and very cheep! Great people in the area!~ Very friendly. It was not noisy (for being over a pub). we loved the pub downstairs! we would go again!

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Y
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic place to stay with a group, large rooms comfy beds and very clean. 2 miles from Stirling and easy to get too. Will definitely be coming back

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
thanks Paul
great group
lots of fun
still more to do and see
hope to see you all again
cheers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rangerhar...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay, price, and plenty of room”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here for 9 days and loved it. Great location (above a Scottish pub!) for a base to visit the surrounding areas. Quick access to motor ways and a short 25 minute walk into Stirling center city. Cambusbarron has no restaurant for dinner so the quick trip into Stirling was great. There is a Bistro(Bronnies) right beside the apartment that we visited every morning for great coffee and filled rolls to start our day. Across the street from the bistro was a general store that had just about everything we needed for bread, meat, cheese, wine, beer and water and general toiletries. Perfect. Apartment was very roomy, with 4 bedrooms and the living room which we gathered in every morning and evening to relax, watch TV and plan our adventures for the day. Had everything we needed and if it didn't, we could get it across the street. Plenty of towels and hot water. The washer and dryer was perfect as in our group used them at least once during our stay. Bob the owner was easy to work with and also gave us some great trip ideas for our local jaunts. Would definitely stay again and probavly will. Thanks Bob and say hey to all in the Pub- Berger, Dave, Robin, Brian etc.. (we felt like family at the pub from the minute we walked in!)

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roominess, amenities and location
Liked least: On Friday and Saturday nites we could hear people downstairs, and from the street side the smokers and loud talkers made it difficult to open windows and the smoke and noise was sometimes bad
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetboy197...
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, ignore the 5 star reviews. This is 2-3 star”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived a day later than planned to be met with paint fumes and contractors still plumbing in toilet. The apartment is not clean, there were 2 out of 7 bulbs working in bathroom, leaking taps, out of date foods in kitchen cupboards, all the beds are single beds tied together to make a double. TV in lounge doesn't work, one bedrooms curtains were so thin that the street light outside was illuminating the room all night. The apartment is old which we liked, however it is in desperate need of renovation. The floors and doors creak so bad that you wake everybody up on your travels! There is no where in cambusbaron to eat out. You really need a car to get into Stirling (approx 8min drive to centre). That said parking is all on street and very limited. Our party was 4 adults & 1 child. Yes it is very spacious, but to say it sleeps 10 is a stretch. Beds are crammed into rooms but the sitting area only seats 6. We took several pictures of all the issues but the Landlord will not respond. This is not worth half the nightly rate and I'm puzzled as to why people are raving about it. The Scottish tourism board has rated it 3 star. Maybe 5 years ago. I rate it 2-3. Please use caution.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property
Liked least: The general condition, cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Cup half empty
I totally agree that you should be cautious when booking any holiday and always contact the owner directly.Any questions of a property’s suitability can be then answered and possible valuable holiday advice and local knowledge gleaned. Mobile phones are not always the best place to decide upon or book from your holiday.
My advice to this party of two couple’s one child and two sets of golf clubs would have been that two cars were more important than four bedrooms.

Surprisingly this reviewer does not seem to have any faith in the other Trip Adviser reviews

I received this as part of an e-mail nine days after arrival (not from the reviewer )

“I thought we had agreed on thousand pounds but you said twelve hundred when we arrived.

In short Bob, We feel we're paying 5 star prices for a 3 star accommodation.”

This was a 15 day booking still in high season and spanning three bookable weeks.
The property is quality assured annually (2nd February 2015) was given a 3/4 star overall rating and 4 star for cleanliness.

Maybe the “cup half empty” would have been “half full” if I had accepted the price this party “thought” they had booked it for?


In part I reply-
“Below is the our booking correspondence from February 1st 2015, Its difficult to imagine getting four bed roomed self catering accommodation anywhere for less than 80 pounds per night. The trip advisor recommendations are from this summer, unsolicited and from holiday makers like yourself.
We do make a big effort to describe the property accurately and deliver on that representation,(in your case) taking no deposit and no payment until you have seen the property.
It does seem late to be learning of your concerns (9 days after arrival) however if you wish to enjoy the rest of your holiday elsewhere I will be happy only to receive payment pro rata for the time you have stayed.”

“Can I please recommend you have the place thoroughly cleaned, lights fixed and leaking taps repaired before future rentals as I assure you trip advisor reviews will suffer.”

I am at the property most days and any small problem can be dealt with fast.
Tightening or changing light bulbs, pressing the reset on a TV source box.
This is a generously proportioned property, clean, comfortable, and valued by nearly all that have stayed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip S
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for exploring Scotland”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our group of 8 (4 kids and 4 adults) stayed at the Foresters Apartment for our 5 day exploration of Scotland. There was plenty of space for the children and extras like washer/dryer to make our stay comfortable.

We were able to easily tour Scotland (Stirling, Edinburgh, St. Andrews, Highlands) from this location and would highly recommend for anyone looking for an affordable and spacious home base central Scotland.

We also greatly enjoyed the pub below the apartment and the staff and regulars were extremely welcoming and friendly to our group and kids.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethanyKa...
Harrogate, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, affordable place to stay!”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great, centrally located, safe, affordable place to stay. True to the photos, comfortable and clean. We had a party of seven and still had an extra bedroom. Friendly owner and easy check in, was even able to accommodate an early check in. The owner has a nice little pub on lower floor of apartment, no food there, but we were met by a group of friendly people who made us feel at home. There's a nice little convenient store across from it, along with a great butcher shop down the street who makes award winning meat pies that are a must try. It has a feel of community, everyone we met was friendly and helpful, much better than staying in a chain hotel in the city. Within 2 miles of Stirling and an easy drive to many interesting sights in Scotland. We could have actually made a week of sightseeing just in the Stirling area. Highly recommend this rental property and would definitely stay there again if possible!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing