We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Backpacker hostel in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willy Wallace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Willy Wallace
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Backpacker hostel in Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location, nice staff and good price!
I stayed in 12 bed dorm on 29/7 for 3 nights, the room is great(Someone said it is still noisy at night but I usually sleep very deep after visiting places so it's not a problem for me)
The DVD player in the common room is the best. They even got a Wii!
The kitchen is decent and tidy, nothing to complain.

Just one thing I need to say, I met a weird guy in the first day I stayed. He was mumbling and trying to take me somewhere. I thought he was drunk or drugged.
Luckily, a staff noticed it and kick the guy out.

After that I got a refund for it.(Lucky meeeeeeeeeeeee:D) Damn nice service and staff that I have never heard in my hometown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    53
    21
    12
    10
See reviews for
13
40
63
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in the 12 bed dorm room for 3 nights. We had plenty of room, no problems sleeping and the beds were clean and comfy. There were 2 toilets and 2 showers on our floor and we never had any problems getting into them. There is a communal area and a kitchen, which was great. It is very close to the train and bus station. It was a great stay! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You won't have any trouble sleeping in the 12 bed dorm so it's worth booking into it to save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistelbach, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hostels has a great, comfy common room with extensive (and cool!) DVD collection and a Nintendo Wi. The staff is very helpful and ready to give tips on what to do. Bathrooms were clean. The kitchen is quite spacious and well equipped. Only small drawback is that the hostel is right on the main street and you get all the noise from the drunk people during the night - but then what are ear plugs for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stirling_mushrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed a couple of days at the willy Wallace backpackers and was very impressed! Was in 14 bed dorm, which still had plenty of room and the beds were very comfortable! The toilets and showers were clean and warm and the common room and kitchen were very comfy! Free Internet access with a computer was very handy and the hostel itself is in a very good central location! Most of all the staff at reception were very friendly and were always up for a conversation or give you a hand finding your way!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyfanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My time at the Willy Wallace Hostel was just delightful. I was treated like royalty and the young man behind the desk was so helpful to all my questions about the stunning city of Stirling.

Ideally located 2 mins from the station I had no problem finding it, and located in the centre of Stirling with a bus stop 2 steps from the front door getting around was bliss.

Lovely restaurants are located just round the corner which were fantastic.

All round pleasure and would love to go back.

Benjiman

Room Tip: the young man behind reception will be more than happy to help you find your perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is about a 2 minute walk from the Stirling train station. The receptionist was very nice. The common room looked..alright, but we didn't go in there. Our room was on the top floor with a (noisy) view of the street below. The room was hardly big enough for two people, no room to move. The shared bathrooms seemed unclean. We only stayed one night, glad we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliburrJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgbest, Manager at The Willy Wallace, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hi CaliburrJones,

Thank you very much for your review, i'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay! We have taken your review into consideration and are currently getting quoted for double glazed windows, particularly in the private rooms. With regards to the bathroom cleanliness we have just reviewed the staff shifts so that they are cleaned twice daily.

Willy Wallace Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great hostel. Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hostel in mid june, First Location, situated on a main road with plenty of shops and places to eat. the hostel is in the city centre which is near to the castle and train station.

Parking, the hostel has NO parking which is expected in a city centre, but if you require overnight parking we recommend using the train station parking which is £3.50 per day.

Hostel, very clean and spacious, the rooms are large and have quite a few beds in each room which are comfortable and clean. there is a large living room with TV and a huge array of DVDs to choose from. the kitchen is located just off the tv room and has pall you will ever need and is clean and tidy. there is also internet which is free, as well as free wifi. the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The shops and places to eat are clustered around the hostel. We had an amazing meal at THE LOFT which is a Burger, Steak and fish restaurant. the service was great and so was the food, strongly recommend this place (leave the hostel, turn left and left again up a pedestrian road, near the top on the right hand side.)

you can also rent bike from the hostel.

we only stayed for one night but it was great, such a chilled out vibe. I strongly recommend this hostel.

JIm

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimGarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.0 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willy Wallace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willy Wallace

Property: The Willy Wallace
Address: 77 Murray Place, Stirling FK8 1AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Willy Wallace 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Willy Wallace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willy Wallace Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing