We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back!”
Review of The City Walls

The City Walls
Ranked #51 of 222 Restaurants in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Typical Scottish Pub feel, full table service for those who are dining. Live sports on our 11 TV's
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't be back!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went a while back with some friends. Waitress (who hadn't served us) did not bring our change back (about £15) When asked, the manager asked "don't you think my staff deserve a tip?' We would have negotiated a tip between us! Manager rude towards us after this. Food mediocre. Waited ages on food that was served lukewarm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammyb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    98
    30
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unimaginative and disappointing”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Given the potential for this place, we were really disappointed. The decor and menu are typical chain pub fayre - unimaginative and uninspiring. The food itself was okay although it didn't feel completey fresh and the veg was cold. Staff were friendly and polite but completely disorganised. We either had no service or three people asking us the same question in the space of a minute. Won't rush back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsMDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good meal in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Staff were very attentive and polite. We enjoyed a steak and chips with wine at a very reasonable price....a very impressive first visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Visited the City Walls in the town last night. All set up for Halloween, busy as usual without being crazy. Had a nice steak dinner, good prices, enjoyed. Worth a visit if you are in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ochils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fly on my plate, microwaved food.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I read the review below and thought 'Really??'

Chain pub atmosphere, reheated meals and worst of the worst a dead fly!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennaEbonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The City Walls also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing