We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a find!”
Review of Italia Nostra

Italia Nostra
Ranked #53 of 222 Restaurants in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quite a find!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We chanced upon this restaurant on our way back from a holiday on Skye, when we spent a night in Stirling on our way home to Derbyshire. We found the ambiance, food, and service to be surprisingly good. Thank you Italia Nostra for a memorable last night of our holiday!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    53
    29
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good food and excellent service!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have eaten here twice, the first time just me and my boyfriend and the second time with my boyfriends family and both times left us extremely happy. The menu is very extensive. The first time we had just pasta and pizza, which both were really good. The second time we had a long three course dinner and everyone loved their starters and mains, only the desserts were a bit of a disappointment since we were waiting for fresh strawberries and cherries instead of jam... The service on both time was excellent and we were really happy to notice that the waitress remembered us! It felt like we were regular customers already on the second visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iituu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why aren't all Italian restaurants this good.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Easily the best Italian restaurant I have been to in the last twenty years for food and service. The food is well priced considering just how good it tastes. Everyone receives a warm and friendly welcome. In a world where waiting staff barely acknowledge you exist, Italia Nostra really shines. My mother asked if she could have something not on the menu and it was no trouble at all. The real winning factor for customers is the interaction with the chef/owner. It really takes the dining experience to another level. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ODiaboBranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian Food By Italian Chef”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having looked at several options for an Italian style restaurant to celebrate with wife's birthday whilst staying in Stirling we quite liked the look and the menu choices at Italia Nostra. When we enquired about the need to book for that evening (a Saturday) we were told no need which was a little off putting thinking maybe that it wasn't a popular venue but these fears were unfounded. Upon arrival we were promptly shown to a table presented with the menu and our drink order taken we then spent what seemed like an eternity trying to make our choices such was the vast array of dishes to choose from but at no point were we made to feel rushed and any questions answered politely and fully. Once we placed our order we both chose pasta based dishes with my wife asking if a slight change be made to hers again this was not an issue the food arrived within minutes (with it being an open style kitchen you can see the food being prepared) and both dishes were a delight well cooked and full of flavour a real treat, the accompanying garlic bread tasted fresh and full of flavour and to round it all off the ice cream desserts were heavenly and plentiful. Given the high standard of both the service and the food both on quality and quantity the price was every reasonable and very good value for money. would most definitely dine here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“There must be better choices in town”
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

While the dish selection in the menu was wide and looked interesting, the food itself was just ok - nothing to write home about. Service was rather slow - we waited far too long.

Helpful?
1 Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italia Nostra also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Italia Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing