We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without doubt the best burger ever!! ”

Brea - Scottish Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 246 Restaurants in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Here at Brea were all about love. We love taking fresh locally sourced ingredients and turning them into delicious dishes offering a modern or traditional take on Scottish cuisine. Our seafood comes from the West Coast of Scotland and we use local food suppliers to fully showcase Scotland's larder. All this combined with our large selection of Scottish spirits, ciders and craft beers brings you the ultimate food lovers experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Without doubt the best burger we have ever had!! Lovey friendly service with a cosy atmosphere. Definitely coming back! Cheers to Andy our talented chief! ❤️

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank victorias42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really nice meal with very friendly staff. Would highly recommend. Beautiful black pudding starter and delicious Arran ice cream to finish.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank ArranBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2020 via mobile

A large family meal for 10 family members. It took staff over 30 mins to take order. We were not offered extra drinks throughout the meal. Staff were not rude but just indifferent. There was a quite a wait for food to be served and dessert took over 20 mins to arrive. The chicken burger was dry but the steak was tasty but overpriced. Very disappointed in the food and service for the price charged.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank meilengbyrne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreaStirling, Agency / Consultant at Brea - Scottish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Whenever someone books for 8 or more people - we encourage the party to pre order their food. This allows the order to be pre placed with the kitchen and the food to arrive sooner. You obviously turned us down on our suggestion and suffered the consequences.

Had you wanted any extra drinks, you could simply have asked. We do our best to keep an eye on people’s drinks but if we’re busy serving other customers we may not always notice - but it is easy to get a servers attention and ask for drinks.

Twenty minutes to prepare ten desserts from fresh that could well have included our chocolate fondant or chocolate brownie, which takes 5-10 minutes to bake in the oven is not bad in my opinion. If you prefer pre-prepared desserts or bought-in desserts, which other establishments take straight from the fridge, then I suggest you dine elsewhere.

Our steaks are 35-day aged and grass-fed and we use the same family butcher, from East Lothian, that some local five star hotels use. As you can imagine, the best meat costs a little more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

Enjoyed a superb, memorable meal at Brea Sunday, 5th January, making for a great start to 2020!

Welcoming staff, who you realise are looking to make a success of their business. We wish them well and would certainly look to pay a return visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank isabeld786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

I dont understand the good reviews, unless the chef was off the day i visited? Food was mediocre, cullen skink was more like a fish stew, far to thick, looked like something they scooped off the bottom of the pot, rib- eye steak was not medium done like i ordered, didnt bother to complain as i could tell it was poor quality meat, even cooked to perfection wouldnt have improved the taste, 2 waiters didnt seem interested, very popular with tourists from what i can see, not surprised with their standard, certainly will not get my repeat buisness,

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank princesslala88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreaStirling, Owner at Brea - Scottish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

The Head Chef was working the day you attended. Our Head Chef worked for three years in Cullen and knows how to make the perfect Cullen Skink. Diners in at the same time as you were raving about the same batch you were eating. I’m sorry that you are obviously used to eating watery Cullen Skink with little fish in it from other establishments. Ours is made with cream, leeks, potatoes and smoked haddock, as it should be.

Our steaks we get from a family butcher in East Lothian and some five star hotels nearby use the same butcher. The meat is grass-fed, 35 day aged. We rarely have any complaints.

The two waiters were myself (the Owner) and my Manager - we definitely do care and I’m sorry that we were serving the 25 people who had walked in just before you arrived.

I note that you rarely have a good dining experience, from your other reviews. I look forward to you not dining with us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brea - Scottish Restaurant also viewed

 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Brea - Scottish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing