We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the rave reviews were right!”
Review of Castlecroft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlecroft
Ranked #1 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked our stay at Castlecroft on the strength of all the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed! We had a very enjoyable stay on Sept 24 (sadly could only be accommodated the one night). We found Castlecroft easily as we had first visited Stirling Castle (just further up the hill) and were welcomed by the very friendly Laura who served us afternoon tea in the B&B's charming lounge. Castlecroft was so clean and welcoming. The three of us shared the very comfortable family room upstairs. After a great night's sleep we enjoyed Laura's fabulous breakfast. Also appreciated the free Wi-Fi and Laura's restaurant suggestion that proved tops. Would highly recommend (like everyone else) a stay at Castlecroft.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 767 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just spent3 nights in this lovely b&b. we were made most welcome with afternoon tea just after we arrived. We had two rooms one in the middle of the house and the other on the first floor. Easy access to to lower floor if needed. Laura was lovely. She expected you to treT her own as your own and really could not be more obliging. Breakfast was lovely witha vast choice. And Laura's home made bread is a must. It's gorgeous. This b&b is in a lovely position at the foot of sterling castle and many little footpath walks around and easy to get about. I just wish we had stayed longer. Hair dryer in room, lovely toiletries provide dead,bottled water still and sparkling in room, biscuits and chocolates, even a flannel as well as towels. Laura really has thought of everything and lots of wardrobe, drawer space etc. A huge lounge with lots of big sofas to relax in and all rooms had tv with DVD player and Laura has a huge collection of dvd's and cd's for you to use if you wish. Overall a lovely break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyandy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

By far the best guest house we have stayed in - anywhere in the UK!
Perfect setting and our room (with patio) was excellent with everything provided that we needed - and more.
Laura was so friendly, welcoming and helpful and we felt nothing would be too much trouble for her. The breakfasts were wonderful and the whole guest house was so spacious and well furnished.
Stayed for 4 nights but wished we could have stayed longer - so we will definitely return and will recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the Stirling area as couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are excellent for those with difficulty on stairs (although there was even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy52672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the best B&B I have had the pleasure of staying at. Laura is a warm and welcoming host with a thorough knowledge of local site seeing as well as general Scottish tourism. She had maps and pamphlets and offered friendly advice regarding car rentals and scenic drives as well as shopping, distilleries, wool mills, and local dining. It was all extremely helpful and very much appreciated.
The bedroom and bath was inviting, sparkling clean, and we had a lovely view of her garden. Stirling Castle can be seen from the back patio and is a short walk along the paths that run behind the home. The historic downtown area is also easily within a 10 minutes walk and the views all along the way are breathtaking. The bed was comfortable and like heaven after a long day of sightseeing. Tea, coffee, and snacks are available in the room and were such a treat to come home to each evening. In the morning, breakfast was fabulous! Several choices of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, eggs, sausages, bacon, haggis (it IS delicious!), and homemade bread every morning were outstanding and delicious! We left her home each morning full and ready to start our day on the right foot. And the coffee was the best I had in the UK. I will definitely come back and highly recommend Castlecroft as the best B&B in Stirling as well as the best of my stays anywhere in the UK. It is the perfect location to stay while visiting Stirling and the surrounding areas of Edinburgh, Perth, and Glasgow (all are a short train ride or drive from Castlecroft) and I hope to be able to return there soon!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank SMarshall_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in Stirling just for one night during our trip in Scotland. We choosed this B&B thanks to Tripadvisor and others travellers' suggestion.. Now I can absolutely confirm all the best for this house.Laura is very helpful friendly and ready to help you and give you tips about the city.
The house is located just outside the center of Stirling. With a walk from the house you reach the castle through a beautiful trail. The view from the veranda is beautiful.
As for breakfast, I made a "full scotish" I have to say great!
Laura offers its guests a wide range of DVDs, a living room with sofas where you can get coffee or tea in the afternoon.
Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely setting, gorgeous Back Walk into Stirling, comfortable lodgings, excellent brekkie - and, of course, then there's Ms. Laura - the hostess par excellence! I can't say enough good things about this lovely establishment. The rooms are comfie, clean and my 4-night stay was like being at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this part of Scotland. I'm a seasoned traveler and this is my absolute favorite all time B&B. Thank you so much, Laura.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my downstairs bedroom that was a generous size with a window out onto the garden and those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyE1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a short stay at Castlecroft in Sterling this summer and were delighted with everything about the neat and clean B&B that Laura runs so well. Laura's welcome and advice about where to walk and run, where to eat and where to visit was spot on and made our stay even better.
Breakfast was copious and nicely severed. Overall a wonderful stay for our first night in the Scottish countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
1.2 mi away
The Old Tram House
The Old Tram House
#8 of 59 in Stirling
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Address: Castlecroft Ballengeich Road, Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: $100 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlecroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Castlecroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing