We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlecroft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlecroft
Ranked #1 of 61 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely setting, gorgeous Back Walk into Stirling, comfortable lodgings, excellent brekkie - and, of course, then there's Ms. Laura - the hostess par excellence! I can't say enough good things about this lovely establishment. The rooms are comfie, clean and my 4-night stay was like being at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this part of Scotland. I'm a seasoned traveler and this is my absolute favorite all time B&B. Thank you so much, Laura.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my downstairs bedroom that was a generous size with a window out onto the garden and those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyE1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    43
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
138
403
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a short stay at Castlecroft in Sterling this summer and were delighted with everything about the neat and clean B&B that Laura runs so well. Laura's welcome and advice about where to walk and run, where to eat and where to visit was spot on and made our stay even better.
Breakfast was copious and nicely severed. Overall a wonderful stay for our first night in the Scottish countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Stirling and were very impressed. The hotel is ideally situated within walking distance of the town center and right next to the castle. Laura was a wonderful host and extremely helpful with recommendations of where to go and what to do and made sure we had good directions everywhere. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PunchyKoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Situated right under the Stirling Castle which makes a great location to walk everywhere within 10 minutes . Laura was very welcoming and gave an extensive tour around the property and surrounding walkways. Laura also booked our table for us for dinner. After we came back from our walk she made us a pot if tea to have in the lovely communal lounge served with homemade slice. Our room was compact but clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. Special touches add to the experience like the tea as mentioned and small welcome chocolates left in room, iPod/iPhone dock and believe it or not, a power point next to the mirror to use hair dryer. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mezdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved our stay at Castlecroft! Laura is very welcoming and helpful. The lounge for clients is superb, with gorgeous views and comfortable sofas. Breakfast was excellent and the room was really comfortable. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our stay in Stirling was short but we really enjoyed it. Laura knows how to received new guests. She prepared tea and gives us delicious Scottish sweets.The view from the balcony is amazing.
The place is beautiful, our room was really nice. Breakfast was delicious!!!
Laura assisted us with all the info we needed to spend a wonderful day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Absolutely lovely B&B, with an outstanding setting below Stirling Castle and situated a short walk from the town centre.Our large double room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and a dream of a bathroom! The bonus was the lovely private garden area leading directly from our room.The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had with plenty of choice and attention to detail.We loved everything about our stay and we received the warmest of welcomes from Laura who brought us tea and coffee and biscuits on arrival and pointed out the path into town for us.Laura really is an excellent host and is very helpful,providing a map and tips on places to visit.I wholeheartedly recommend Castlecroft to anyone visiting Stirling and we hope to return for a longer stay in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Property: Castlecroft
Address: Castlecroft Ballengeich Road, Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlecroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castlecroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing