We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait to visit until the new Visitor Centre is built”

The Battle of Bannockburn Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.59*
and up
Battle of Bannockburn Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket
Ranked #6 of 63 things to do in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An incredible new experience that changes how you learn about Scottish history. The brand new Battle of Bannockburn visitor experience; an innovative attraction with state-of-the-art 3D battle simulation that transforms the way visitors of all ages learn about Bannockburn.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wait to visit until the new Visitor Centre is built”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We knew they were building a new visitor centre here prior to our trip, but as we were passing we called in anyway. At the moment there is only a small portacabin in place. Here we saw a very interesting 10 min film about the battle of Bannockburn. But really thats all there is. You are unable to view the battlefield owing to the building work going on and even then you are told that the exact location of the battlefield is unknown (but they think they know where it is!). I think visitors would be disappointed if they have had to travel out of their way to get here. So if possible I would recommend you delay a visit here until the new centre is built. It looks like it will be something special. I'd keep checking their website for up to date details.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CelticSpirit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    284
    131
    91
    53
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scotland's Freedom”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

So much of this place is Scotland real birthright as a nation. It should be an automatic pilgrimage visit for anyone searching their Scottish birthrights. That I was born and lived within 5 miles of here is ingrained into my soul

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and interactive for kids!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were happy to find our way to the monument and muesum- it was a little tricky, the parking lot didn't seem to make much sense either. Once inside we recieved really good service and instruction on where to start. The displays were amusing and stimulated conversation with others veiwing. I had a good idea of the history of Bannockburn after leaving the Heritage Center and would recommed this to others.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cava33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most disappointing”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Not much to see at the moment as work is under way for a re-launch in 1314. Even some experts querying if it is in the correct place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fundao, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“what?”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

LOL a box ,a field, a badly told story.These monuments can be sadly disappointing for the history buff or returning Scots seeking glimpses of their families past. Unless you are on the dreaded bus tours you may struggle to locate these type of monuments.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nestor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Battle of Bannockburn Experience also viewed

 
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to The Battle of Bannockburn Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing