We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this tour!”

Stirling Ghost Walk
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm, Tuesday-to-Saturday in July and August, each year, and at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays from September-to-June - all tours meeting at the gates of the Old Town Jail / SYHA Hostel in St John Street, Stirling. Private bookings are available throughout the year - and a 10% discount offered to patrons of local hotels, hostels and B&Bs.Visit our website or Facebook for details and updates.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Literally just back from David's awesome tour, what a treat! It was the icing on the cake of our trip to Stirling. Storytellers and orators of David's magnitude are rare and deserve to be recognised. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and David's company and highly recommend this tour!

Dave, Laura and Graham (New Zealand and UK)

Thank Dave and Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

High praise, indeed. Thank you. I enjoy what I do, and hope the GhostWalk and my other performances and books on local history and folklore convey a little of my enthusiasm for those subjects to audiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jock rankin"
in 18 reviews
"david kinnaird"
in 12 reviews
"story teller"
in 9 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 6 reviews
"local hotel"
in 5 reviews
"spooky fun"
in 3 reviews
"evening's entertainment"
in 3 reviews
"great character"
in 4 reviews
"whole group"
in 5 reviews
"halloween weekend"
in 3 reviews
"youth hostel"
in 5 reviews
"old jail"
in 9 reviews
"brilliant tour"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"history tour"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 5 reviews
Filter

241 - 245 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

The tour guide has a great sense of humour, as well as a fantastic costume. He engaged everyone in our tour very well, and he clearly did a great deal of research about the history of the area. Unlike some ghost tours, it's not just designed to frighten people, and it wasn't hokey. There was a lot of educational value packed in, as well as some great local histories and folklore. If you are in Stirling, this would be worse to miss than Stirling Castle!

Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you, Katie. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself (despite a few unscheduled 'interruptions). So many Ghost and Horror tours simply try to scare people. The odd fright can be fun, of course, but that approach can easily become repetitive and predictable. I think that our mix of comedy, history and storytelling engages audiences rather more directly than some of these shows...which I suppose is why we're still here after twenty-four years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were really looking forward to this tour but never expected it to be so awesome. David was just in his character and all our group had a great time. Even my eight year old daughter enjoyed it and wants to do it again. A great way to finish your visit in Stirling!!!

Thank PennyMcTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

I'm really glad you and your daughter enjoyed the show. There are so few local events and entertainments which cater for families with children, that I have tried to keep the show accessible to all-ages. If we have (as we often do) an all adult group, then the Happy Hangman can be as grim as he likes. If there are kids around, then it can sometimes be a challenge to hold their attention...but I LIKE that challenge. It keeps me on my toes. I hope to see you all again, sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Really enjoyed this. Nearly didn't go as it was a very cold night but glad we did as it was a really good night! David has a really good sense of humour. Definitely a highlight of the trip to Stirling.
Recommend this to anyone, it's really entertaining and also very good value for money. If you're going to Stirling you should definitely go on the ghost walk!

Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thanks, Chris. Actually, I used to write a Ghostwalk in Dundee, back in the mid-'90s...until we discovered parts of the town were scarier than any of our stories (The 'Demon Crab' was my favourite). I'm glad you enjoyed the tour. Hopefully we'll see you again...some WARMER night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

you will love these walks david is a character loves his job and knows a lot about stirling,well worth the money wish it wsa longer

Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Ha! Someone in another TripAdvisor review, not so long ago, said the show was a little TOO long. Diffr'nt strokes for different folks! Mind you, if I hadn't picked up a few local facts over the (almost) quarter-century I've been doing this, it would be surprising.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stirling Ghost Walk also viewed

Stirling, Stirlingshire
Stirling, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Stirling Ghost Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing